Valentine’s for One (+ a pup)

14 Feb

I know that it’s Valentine’s Day and all, but I promise that this wont be a mushy gushy person. A) Because I’m not really a super mushy gushy person to begin with, and B) Because my facebook has been exploding today with all of my single friends venting about “Singles Awareness Day” and I’m not about to piss anyone off.

Besides, with a fiance 3.5 hours away, I spent Valentine’s Day by myself anyway.

Well, that’s not completely true. I actually spent the evening with this beautiful lady.

In fact, we spent the evening at her Graduation!

That’s right, my baby is an official Beginner Obedience Graduate! *tear* So proud!

After class I came home to make a Valentine’s dinner for one.

Chicken with leeks and sun-dried tomatoes with a white wine sauce. Ohmygosh, go make this right now. Seriously, delicious. I almost thought about knocking on my neighbors door trying to find a Valentine to share it with (totally kidding, Chris… kind of. It was that good).

I wish I could take any credit for this recipe, but the credit goes entirely to Gina’s Skinny Recipes. I followed the recipe almost exactly, except I used 3 leeks instead of the 1-2 that it recommends. Why you ask? Because leeks only came in packages of 3, and I am too cheap to waste a precious leek. I’m that girl. Besides, I like leeks, so I’m totally ok with a ton of them. If you’re not a HUGE leek fan, you may want to stick with the original. But for leek lovers, my version definitely came out amazing.

Seriously, so make this now.

So now I’m off to spend the rest of my night like this with my Valentine.

Sorry, I had to put SOMETHING mushy in here! Sheesh! But don’t worry, we got to do a real Valentine’s date this past weekend, complete with fancy dinner, wine, and seeing The Vow (along with every other high schooler in my town!). How romantic… 🙂

Leave a Reply

