Dreaded Mondays

27 Feb

Today has been a typical case of the dreaded Mondays.

I woke up late.

I couldn’t get the new jar of artichoke hearts open for my lunch salad for a good 10 minutes, which just made me more late.

The printer/copier at the office died.

I forgot my gym shoes at home and had to make a mad dash in order to get to my CXWorks class on time.

I’m pretty sure I pulled an oblique muscle at said CXWorks class.

My knee has been feeling really funky today, like I stepped wrong at some point or something, so I had to forgo my planned run for 25 minutes of hills on the elliptical.

I spent my evening analyzing forks. You think I kid…

flatware

….

Yea, one of those days.

However, something positive DID actually happen today! I had seen a post awhile back for mozzarella stuffed buffalo chicken burgers, but I couldn’t seem to find it ANYWHERE.

So what did I do? I winged it. Which is pretty much a first for me.

IMG_0220

You see, I’m still afraid of the kitchen. Give me a recipe, and I can cook like the best of them, but I’m not always confident to come up with something on my own. But I decided to give it a shot, and what do you know? AMAZING!

IMG_0222

Mozzarella-stuffed Buffalo Chicken Burgers with caramelized onions

By Stephanie D.

Serves 4

 

Ingredients:

1 package ground chicken

fresh mozzarella

2/3 cup of buffalo sauce (I like mine super spicy, so you may want to dial this down if you’re a spicy sauce person)

1 cup breadcrumbs (italian is what I had on hand)

1 tsp minced garlic

2 egg whites

2 tbsp olive oil

1/2 white onion, sliced

salt and pepper

 

*I actually halved this recipe and used only a half a package of chicken, in case of total failure, but I figured that most normal people would actually use the whole package, so I doubled everything.

Directions:

1. In mixing bowl, mix together chicken, breadcrumbs, garlic, buffalo sauce, egg whites, salt and pepper. Form into patties with hands.

2. Break each patty in half. Place half down on plate, put a slice of mozzarella in the middle, and the other half on top. Pinch the edges to form one solid patty. Repeat until you have 4 patties.

3. Heat olive oil in pan over medium heat. Place patties on griddle until cooked all the way through. Remove from pan.

4. Place sliced onion in pan (with a little more olive oil if necessary), and cook for 3-4 minutes until caramelized.

5. Top burger with onions and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

