Let’s hear it for the girls!

3 Mar

Today was a very, VERY much needed girls day with 3 of my best girl friends.

It’s amazing to me how friendships work. Out of ALL of the people that I was friends with throughout high school, there are really only 3 who I am close with anymore. Ironically, during high school we were really just friends… we would hang out in classes and sometimes after school, but it wasn’t like a full on BFF thing.

But those are the ones that stuck around – through college at different schools, through boyfriends and drama and life. Those are the people you know are going to be friends forever (*cue music…).

But seriously… we had a much needed girls day today.

It started out with lunch at Sweetwater Tavern, part of the Mike’s Grill chain. I’ve never been to any of the other’s beyond Mike’s, but some of the girls had been to a few.

After we all shared a delicious artichoke and spinach dip (which I failed to get a picture of… bad newbie blogger!), we all ended up getting the same exact entrée: the Monterey Salad with Spiced Pecans.

IMG_0252

IMG_0253

Holy cow it was good. I basically inhaled most of it, and had to slow down about 3/4 of the way through because I was so full. Seriously amazing!

We then proceeded to spend several hours at the Outlet malls doing some serious wallet damage. I did manage to get a dress that I plan to reuse for several weddings this year (shhh, don’t tell) that was originally $79.99 for only $28! Thank goodness for outlet store clearance sales!

However, I did determine that my wardrobe needs a serious update. I still dress like I’m a college student… which I got away with until recently because I was in grad school and that kind of counts. But now, I really do need to start dressing like a real young professional.

(source)

Yea, this could take some work. But I am definitely going to try and go through my closet soon and donate some of the stuff that I really do not wear anymore. Maybe I’ll put that on my list of things to do tomorrow…

Anyway, once our wallets really started crying, we headed back to my friend’s house for a few hours of girly TV show watching, wedding discussions, and general gossip. You know, what all true girl days really need!

It was so refreshing to be able to get out and enjoy the day with some of my favorite ladies. Even if we did all determine that we are clearly getting old and avoiding becoming real adults…

After I got back, Laney was feeling a little neglected, so we went for a nice long walk. And then proceeded to wrestle once we got back inside because she was so excited.

Dinner consisted of a few things I picked up from Trader Joe’s on my way home (one of the other benefits of hanging out with my BFFs, one lives like 2 min from a TJs!).

IMG_0258

Goat cheese and sundried tomato ravioli with vodka cream sauce, and some roasted asparagus, with a glass of pinot. Definitely hit the spot!

Now I’m going to go curl up in bed with some Gone with the Wind, because I’m feeling classic tonight. I think it was the wine…

One Response to “Let’s hear it for the girls!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekend from my Weekend « My Freckled Life - June 10, 2012

    […] got the Monterey chicken salad, which is the same thing I got last time I went for girl’s day. It was just as delicious the second time […]

Leave a Reply

