I hate pink

7 Mar

Why do I hate pink you ask? It’s such a pretty, kind, gentle color, you say, so feminine and sweet?

ALL LIES.

I have pink eye. AGAIN. In the same eye. From the same original source.

Best part? We’re supposed to do engagement photos on Friday. FML.

However, the one positive thing that came out of the last bout of pink eye was that I finally caved after approximately 12 years (no joke… I was in 8th grade in 2000. Yikes!) and bought new glasses!

Which I then had to take the morning off work to go pick up, because I have pink eye and can’t wear contacts.

Womp womp.

IMAG0021

 

Chris says I look like a librarian. I was going more for hipster. I have to pretend like I’m stylish and fit in with the cool kids, right? But I guess librarian works too…

Also, one of these eyes is not like there other. BAH!

After my glasses adventure (Thank you Costco!), I did head in to work. Mainly because I have a looming pile of papers and my folders on my desk from this crazy week that I’m pretty sure are multiplying every time I turn around. So I did the responsible adult thing and went in to work. LAME.

I had every intention of working out today. I had even packed my gym bag last night. But pink eye kind of sucked out my thunder. I didn’t want to go jump around BodyCombat in glasses. And I couldn’t motivate myself to go running. I even tried to talk myself in to a Jillian DVD. But the most I could convince myself to do was walk Laney.

It happens. Darn pink eye!

Instead I curled up on my couch with some old school Greys Anatomy and organized my wedding binder. At least I got something accomplished, right?

Dinner was terrific, however! On Sunday night I made a huge batch of chili, and I’m finally ready to share it with you!

IMG_0268

I made a turkey and bean chili using ground turkey, kidney beans, black beans, and pinto beans, with diced tomatoes, zucchini, and yellow squash.

 

IMG_0273

After simmering this all with some beef broth, I added spices to taste. My spices included chili powder, cumin, paprika, garlic salt, red pepper flakes and a healthy dose of cinnamon. I don’t have any exact measurements because I pretty much just kept dumping and stirring until it tasted right to me. 🙂

I let this simmer for about 3 hours. My apartment seriously smelled so delicious at this point!

IMG_0295

Tonight I topped it with some shredded cheese and a healthy dollop of greek yogurt. With a side of natural tortilla chips. SO GOOD!

Now I’m off to get things prepped for the next 72 hours of wedding planning insanity! On the agenda:

– Engagement photo session (if my eye gets better in time!!!)

– Caterer tasting

– Wedding dress shopping x2

– Meeting with a financial planner

– Registering

– Dinner with a friend who is in our wedding

– Meeting with a possible wedding photographer.

 

Phew…. trying not to panic!

Leave a Reply

