I am not a runner.

21 Mar

So I spent the ENTIRE work day at a training sponsored by my agency. Which sounds like it would be all fun, since we got to ply hooky and spend the day hanging out at a hotel listening to speakers. But sadly, it was really not all that exciting. While it was probably really informative for some of the other departments, most of it had NOTHING to do with the kids I work with (Ages 0-3), so I’m not going to lie, I spent a good chunk of my day stealthily checking facebook and reading blogs on my phone.

Bad, bad employee. I know.

Luckily I ate some oatmeal before I headed over there, because all they had for breakfast was a giant plate of pastries. It was a close call, but I was able to talk myself out of grabbing one, even through the cheese danishes were calling my name.

“Eat my delicious cream cheesy center…” I swear. It really happened.

We also got a free lunch out of it, but in typical Central VA fashion – the hotel bar was mostly made up of southern cooking. Lots of fried chicken, sausage meatballs, and some sketchy looking meatloaf. Since I don’t eat fried chicken or red meat, my options were a little limited.

IMAG0076

I ended up with a gigantic salad with as many veggies as I could throw on top, a plate with some mashed potatoes, really bland green beans, some mac and cheese, and a small bowl of broccoli cheese soup. For “dessert” I had some cottage cheese and tropical fruit.

Honestly – this kind of made my stomach hurt. I’m kind of wishing that I had just brought a sandwich with me instead.

I then spent the rest of the afternoon attempting to stay awake in a room that probably was set at 53 degrees. It was terrific.

After training I headed home to take Laney on a quick, quick walk before running to the gym for BodyCombat class.

Once home, I took Laney on another walk, because I was feeling guilty about her short walk earlier. I have a guilty puppy mama conscience. haha. So all in all, we probably walked about 2 miles. I feel less guilty now. 🙂

Dinner was another kind of hodge-podge meal (are you noticing a theme here?). I put some chicken breasts and chicken stock in my crock pot before work this morning, and it was ready to shred when I got home!

IMG_0321

I topped the shredded chicken with some salsa and cheese (my favorite combo, I know. I’ll put that @(&! on everything!). I paired it with a simple salad and some ghetto garlic toast (toast with butter and garlic salt). Delicious.

Running

So ever since I talked to my mom about the possibility of doing a half marathon with her, I’ve had running on the brain. My mom has done several at this point and already has a bunch more scheduled. She’s totally hooked now. And her enthusiasm has rubbed off on me a little.

But see, I have always claimed that I am not a runner, by any stretch of the imagination. Usually after about 4.5 miles, I wimp out. I don’t know whether it’s boredom or a lack of training or what, but 4.5 always seems to be my max.

Now don’t get me wrong, I do try and run at least 1-2 times a week, for at least 3 miles each time, but I have always struggled mentally with the longer distances. But given my competitive nature, I’m starting to wonder if that’s what I’m missing. A challenge. I mean, when you just say “I’d really like to be able to run 10 miles”, it’s easy to wimp out or make excuses when it doesn’t happen. Or in my usual case, get bored with it. But I’m wondering if having something to train for, and a set plan to follow, might help me get in the competitive spirit.

So I spent a bunch of time last night looking up races in my area, and it’s still been on my mind all day. I’m thinking about starting small – some 5Ks here and there since I know that I can do them – to kind of get in the groove.

Then I’m toying with the idea of a 10K at the end of May. It’s a good distance, I think, to start working on some longer mileage. Nothing crazy, but still something to work towards. The only problem is that the 10K happens to be when Chris and his family will be in Ireland for a few weeks. So I’d be not only running the race solo, but I wouldn’t have any support there either. Something about having someone there to cheer you on and congratulate you after just seems really appealing to me.

So I don’t know. It’s just something I’m toying with at the moment, and I thought I would share.

Chris and I do have a 5K (essentially) planned for April 14 – we’re running the 3.2 for 32 Remembrance Run in Blacksburg, which is a really special race to me. So at least I’ll be able to get this whole running thing started!

Well that was a lot of rambling for one night! I’m off to talk suits and honeymoons with Christopher!

Leave a Reply

