To rest or not to rest…

22 Mar

… that is the question.

So today was a crazy busy day at work. For most of the day I was going pretty non-stop between appointments and paperwork. I even was talking on the phone while eating lunch, because my phone seriously would not stop ringing!

Which is why I’m going to use that as an excuse as to why I didn’t think to snap a picture of my sandwich until I was 75% of the way through it.

IMAG0077

Made with turkey, turkey bacon, laughing cow swiss cheese, spring mix, sprouts, and some ranch dressing.

However, after about an hour my stomach was seriously not happy with me. I don’t really know why, but it definitely was not good. No more sandwiches for me for awhile…

Gym

So I think I may have strained one of the muscles in my lower back at BodyCombat last night. I don’t know very much about anatomy, but it almost feels like it’s a muscles way deep in there, as opposed to one on the surface. But yea… it’s kind of uncomfortable.

Which led me to the debate today about whether I should or should not go to the gym. Usually on Thursdays I go to BodyPump, but I knew that was out because I definitely wasn’t going to risk lifting weights with a strained back. That’s just not safe.

But what about yoga? Running? Other weight lifting? I really wasn’t sure. I went back and forth about it all day (just ask Chris – I think I emailed/texted him about it at least a dozen times).

When is it smart to take a rest day, and when is it lazy? That’s where is run in to problems, because it is so easy for me to convince myself out of workouts sometimes. But obviously there are times when taking a rest day is smart for your physical health AND your mental health.

In the end, I made a compromise with myself. I ended up going to yoga in hopes of stretching out said sore muscle, but I also promised myself that I would take it easy on the back tracks and take lower options when needed.

I think that this was the right choice for me today, but it definitely made me think about rest days in general and when they are the better idea.

Dinner

Enough of the deep thoughts for today, how about the food?

If you’ve been following me for more than…like… 5 minutes, you know that I am the Queen of random food sometimes. Today was no exception.

IMG_0322

Whole wheat spaghetti mixed with some leftover shredded chicken and Italian dressing. With some brocc on the side.

Told you, random.

I was totally craving dessert tonight… which is kind of a problem considering that I gave up sweets for Lent.

Bananas to the rescue!

IMG_0324

I blended 2 frozen bananas with some almond-coconut milk and a bit of vanilla extract. Delicious!

I suppose now that I’m posting pictures up on the blog, I should probably use nicer dishes instead of eating out of the Magic Bullet cup…

Nahhh.

Well that’s all for tonight folks! No real exciting plans this evening – mostly just talking over wedding stuff with Chris and avoiding my taxes.

Leave a Reply

