Two for One

25 Mar

Today has been a pretty productive day, which is pretty impressive for a Sunday!

I started the day at church, and when I got out it was seriously cold and drizzly. Kind of a bummer for one of my first relaxing Sundays in awhile! But regardless, I was determined to make today productive.

So first I headed over to the grocery store. I kind of have a love-hate relationship with grocery shopping. While I seriously could spend hours at the store, looking for deals and reading ingredient lists, I really hate when I go to the register and my bill is WAY more than I was expecting.

I need to learn how to coupon. Those extreme couponers may be on to something.

But between two different grocery stores, I managed to get everything on my list. Even if my wallet cried a little. Which was good because my fridge was literally empty.

IMG_0342

Told you… no milk, no bread, no nothing. It was kind of a desperate situation.

IMG_0344

Ahhhh…. much better!

For any you who are creepy and like to know what I got (Ok, maybe I’m just a creeper, but I like to know these things), here is what I purchased:

  • Natural peanut butter (crunchy – they were out of creamy!)
  • Bottle of wine
  • Jumbo pack of tea
  • 2 kinds of pasta sauce
  • Peanut Butter Cheerios
  • Turkey burgers
  • Organic spring mix
  • Triple berry jam
  • Whole wheat potato bread
  • Asparagus
  • Green beans
  • Bananas
  • Red and Orange bell peppers
  • Nectarines
  • Russet potatoes
  • Orange juice
  • Almond Milk
  • Marinated Pork Chop (It was on quick sale)
  • Whole wheat blueberry eggo waffles
  • 2 bags frozen fruit
  • Chobani yogurts
  • Fresh salmon filet

Then just some other household things, like:

  • Shampoo & conditioner
  • Toilet paper
  • Paper towels
  • Ibuprofin

It was well past lunch time by the time I unloaded all of my haul, so I made the fastest lunch I could think of. A salad and a PB&J. Simple, but it got the job done.

IMG_0345

After lunch I had a bunch of errands to get checked off my list, so I headed out. First I took Laney to PetSmart to get her nails done. Yup, that’s right – she got hurr nails did. 🙂 She actually did pretty well considering there were a TON of other dogs there. My little girl is growing up!

From there I ran next door to Target to check on some towels for our registry. I think this is the first time in the history of the universe that I was in and out of Target in less than 15 minutes with NOTHING in my hands. A miracle, I’m telling you.

Once we got home Laney passed out for a nap, and I got to the super exciting task of finishing up my taxes. Lovely. I put on some 16 & Pregnant in the background (don’t judge me) and got to it. Painful, but it’s complete and filed. Thank the Lord. And darn you IRS!

From there, I went on a cleaning spree, which my apartment desperately needed. I have a been a little bit bad about letting stuff pile up lately, so I finally got up the nerve to sort through my piles of mail and Bridal Show swag and such. An hour later, my apartment was sparkly clean.

Ok, maybe not. But it at least is not gross.

By the time I was done, I was starved. So what did I come up with? PIZZA!

IMG_0346

Using Trader Joe’s whole wheat pizza crust. But it was so gigantic, I decided to make it a two for one pizza! Half pesto based and half marinara based!

You see, since I live  by myself, eating the same exact meal for an entire week can get really dull really fast. So this way, it’s almost like having 2 different pizzas without putting in any extra effort!

The pesto side had Italian blend cheese, shredded chicken, tomatoes, spinach,and artichokes. The marinara side had chicken, tomatoes, spinach, artichokes, orange bell pepper, turkey bacon, and colby jack cheese (+ some extra Italian blend).

IMG_0348

One of each slice, served with a glass of wine. Which has made me a little bit tipsy… I’m such a lightweight!

Well I’m off to veg on my couch and enjoy the rest of my Sunday night!

Leave a Reply

