Lightweight

27 Mar

So I probably should not drink a glass of wine before I write a blog post… excuse my if my coherence level is a little off.

I’m a lightweight, what can I say?

So first I must start with a very cute video of Laney at doggie day care this morning. Pardon my obnoxiously loud voice…

So the one thing I love about my job is that is introduces me to all sorts of different things. New cultures, new languages, new family structures… all of those things are fascinating to me!

Today was one of those days at work. While I can’t go in to too many details (due to privacy laws, I’m not allowed to talk specifics), I will say that I got introduced to a new culture today that definitely was challenging but exciting to me. Plus the kiddo was absolutely adorable, so that always helps.

But because of this, my day was insanely busy. I was in appointments from 9am to 2:15pm straight, which means that I didn’t actually get to eat food until after 2:30.

Yea, my stomach was not very happy with that. So much so that it talked me in to stopping by a 7-11 on the way home to pick up a bag of chips (not my finest moment, people) before I starting going in to that “so hungry my stomach hurts” phase. Once I got back to the office, I scarfed some leftover pizza and spent the whole rest of the day elbows deep in paperwork. Joy.

After work I headed over to the gym (after some convincing on my part) for BodyPump. Usually Tuesdays are my Bodyflow days, but I just wasn’t feeling it today. Partially because I did Bodyflow 3 times last week, and partially because I’m going to a conference on Thursday and Friday and am going to have to skip BodyPump.

So I went for the Pump today. And I am happy to say that for the first time, I actually felt like I could up my weights on my squats! Usually squats are one of the harder tracks for me – even though I have strong legs. I don’t know if I’m just a wimp, or if I am just lacking proper squat muscles, but usually I am DYING on the squats track. But today, I rocked it! Maybe next time I’ll even add a little! 🙂

I actually ran out after the shoulders track so that I could go pick up Laney from doggie day care. I then proceeded to spend nearly 30 minutes chatting with the owner/trainer about dog behavior and how Laney is improving.

*tear* I’m a proud mama! *sniff*

Once we got home, a doggie bath was absolutely necessary. She was filthy. Good thing she LOVES baths so much. Yea… note the sarcasm. I’m pretty sure my whole bathroom is brown at the moment from her shaking dirty water everywhere.

But once she was done, she proceeded to jump on the couch and pass out in what has to be the most uncomfortable position of all time.

IMG_0355-001

Also, please note that she did not wet my couch. She clearly jumped on the couch before I was able to dry off her belly properly. I swear.

I had originally planned on salmon for dinner, but for some reason, I just wasn’t feeling it when it came time to cook. So I changed plans a little and grilled (ok… George Forman-ed) a marinated pork chop.

IMG_0352

I paired it with some grilled asparagus and some leftover basmati rice with lime. I will also note that this is only about half of the porkchop. It was seriously gigantic.

The rest of the night will be spent cuddling with my sleepy puppy and catching up with my TiVo… considering that I have like 15 shows to watch. Yikes!

Leave a Reply

