Just call me Martha

5 Apr

So today has kind of been the day from hell. I can’t really go in to details, but let’s just say that I spent 2 hours in a meeting with a whole bunch of people who spent the entire time yelling at each other and making accusatory statements. Yea… it wasn’t pleasant.

Needless-to-say, when I got out of work, I was just not in the mood to go bust out of weights at the gym. What I really wanted to do was curl up on my couch with a pizza and a glass of wine and watch some sappy chick-flick.

I decided to compromise instead.

I skipped the gym but came home and attempted to run with Laney. I got about a mile or so before my ankle/foot started acting up a little. It’s the same one that I rolled yesterday, so I have a feeling it’s just residual from that. So I decided to take it easy and walked another half mile before heading in.

Hey, some workout is better than no workout, right?

Dinner was more leftovers because I’ve avoided going grocery shopping since I’m headed out of town this weekend (AGAIN, I know).

IMG_0363

Not the most appetizing looking meal, is it? Leftover chili over some quinoa topped with a dollop of greek yogurt. Weird looking, but it was still pretty delicious.

And that’s officially the last of my chili, so at least you don’t have to see it again for awhile! 🙂

After dinner and a LONG bath to soothe out the stress of the day (only kind of worked, sadly), I decided to channel my inner Martha for a birthday present I’m working on.

IMG_0365

Can you guess what it is?

IMG_0366

How about now?

If you said homemade vanilla extract then you’re a winner!

A friend of mine, who really is Martha Stewart trapped in a 25 year old social worker’s body, gave some of these away for Christmas and I thought they were serious the cutest things I’d ever seen. What a clever idea, right? And when I looked up the recipe it’s actually INSANELY easy. You ready for this?

Take vanilla beans and split them down the middle. Cover with vodka. Keep in a cool, dark place for at least 2 months and shake occasionally.

That’s it.

Seriously.

So as a trial run, because I too aspire to be like Martha, I thought I might make some to give away as birthday presents! Thanks to Amazon I was able to find some brown bottles with built in caps and some Madagascar Bourbon vanilla beans (which smell AMAZING by the way) and the rest was easy!

Tomorrow I’m going to try to make some cute little homemade labels for them. Because clearly I’m an overachiever.

You can just call me Martha now 🙂

Leave a Reply

