Country Girl

11 Apr

Today was one of those days at work where everything was a crisis. For whatever reason, things always seem to come in bunches – if one person has a crisis, EVERYONE needs to have a crisis at the same time. Which pretty much meant that my day flew by and before I knew it, it was 4:30. Even though these kinds of days are overly dramatic, at least they go by quickly. And tomorrow will (hopefully) be a less dramatic day!

After work I did NOT head to the gym, and I do not feel the slightest bit guilty about it. You know why?

IMG_0376

I got to play with baby cows instead!

You see, I ran into an old friend of mine from college in Walmart on Monday (boy does that sound like the start of a bad story…) who is a teacher in the southern part of the state, but happens to be visiting home for spring break this week! We got to chatting and I mentioned how I was totally a city girl and that my coworkers were always teasing me about not knowing ANYTHING about farms or country living.

Lo and behold, her parents own a dairy farm! So she invited me to come out today after work to help feed the cows!

IMG_0378

IMG_0379

Yes, I am seriously feeding a baby cow. I can’t believe it either!

So for several hours I followed her around and racked her brain about every cow questions I come up with. What can I say, I like learning about things that I totally do not understand. I also spent a lot of time talking to the cows like I do to my dog…

IMG_0381

I even let the baby cows suck on my finger! This one was only a few weeks old!

IMG_0382

Then I proceeded to wipe all of the cow spit on to the grass. What can I say, you can take the girl out of the city…

IMG_0385

IMG_0386

This cow really wanted nothing to do with me and kept running away when I came near it. But finally we enticed it with enough food to stand still for a few seconds so I could pet it.

Her super sweet family then invited me to stay for dinner, so I didn’t take any pictures. But it was the first time in awhile that I’ve had a true country home cooked meal with a family, and it was glorious!

So I realized that I don’t have any pictures today to show you that aren’t of cows, but considering how stinking cute they are, I hope you’ll forgive me!

IMG_0380

Country Bucket List item #1: Meet real farm animals… CHECK!

3 Responses to “Country Girl”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Small town life « My Freckled Life - April 25, 2012

    […] living thing. I will always be a city girl at heart (despite my coworker’s attempts to turn me country), but maybe the country isn’t so bad after […]

  2. Peace Out 2012! « My Freckled Life - January 1, 2013

    […] had the opportunity to visit a friend’s dairy farm and learned WAY more about cows then I ever thought I’d know in a lifetime. Plus I got to feed […]

  3. One Whole Year! « My Freckled Life - January 31, 2013

    […] posts from early on which I feel like lots of new readers missed out on was the time that I became Country and spent the afternoon at a dairy farm. Anyone who knows this city girl knows that this was an […]

Leave a Reply

