It’s just one run

23 Apr

I’m going to give you fair warning – today has been a total debbie downer kind of day. Or an emo day, if you will. I don’t really know why; there isn’t exactly any particular reason for it. So if you want to run away now and skip over this whole post, I don’t really blame you. In the mood I’m in, I probably would too.

Maybe it’s the crappy cold and rainy weather (although at least we didn’t have snow), or the fact that the coffee machine at work is STILL broken (because some people are idiots and decided to put coffee grounds down the water hole…), or the fact that I spent half my day filing paperwork.

Lunch ended up being some Indian stir-fry that wasn’t and a small side salad. Nothing super exciting.

IMAG0107

After work I headed to the gym for some CXWorks and a run – my typical monday routine. CX was actually pretty good, although I’m not a huge fan of a few of the tracks on this most recent release. I’d have to say that this is probably my least favorite one yet overall (although there are some tracks that I really like, like the back track!).

Then I went to run. Originally I had planned on 4 miles, but since I stayed to after CX for a few minutes, I decided to make it just 3 miles so that I could get home to Laney before it started raining again. Well that was the plan at least.

It was one of those runs that I could tell from the beginning was just crappy. My stomach has been feeling off all day, my legs were tight, and I was just mentally tired. I made it through about 1.5 miles before I just wimped out. Completely. I hit the stop button and just stood there. It was like a writers block for running – a runners block. My mind was just not going to let me do it, and I succumbed to it. I didn’t know whether to beat myself up, or cry, or just accept it defeat.

All of these things went through my head as I drove home. I was a failure. A wimp. How dare I even JOKE about a half marathon when I wimp out after 1.5 miles. I just did a 5K no problem 2 weeks ago, but now I can’t even manage half. Fail fail fail.

And then I thought to myself “It’s just one run”. This run doesn’t define me. It doesn’t tell anyone who I am as a runner; as a person. It’s just a bad run. Like that random bad grade you got on a pop quiz you didn’t study for or a meal that totally flopped after you spent an hour in the kitchen. It sucks, but it happens. And it’s not the end of the world.

It’s just one run.

(source)

It’s just one run.

Dinner

After I got back from the gym, and took a few minutes in my car to bring myself back together, I took Laney for a run to try and make the best out of today. It was only another mile or so, but it was at least something. Plus Laney enjoyed it.

I was really craving comfort food because of my pathetic debbie downer day, but I wasn’t about to let myself emotionally eat crap. So I made a compromise with myself. What I was craving was a giant bowl of pasta… so with a few tweaks, I came up with a veggie-filled pasta surprise.

IMG_0439

I mixed a small amount of whole wheat rotini with a few chopped up pieces of yesterday’s pork tenderloin, a mix of spinach, peas, and bell peppers, topped with some vodka sauce and some parm cheese.

IMG_0443

All mixed up – definitely not as photogenic!

Now I’m off to spend the rest of the evening relaxing and trying to remind myself that today was just one bad day. Doesn’t mean tomorrow has to be too.

And since I don’t want to make this post ENTIRELY deep and depressing, I thought I’d close with a few pictures of Laney when I had to give her a bath a few days ago. If this doesn’t make you smile, I don’t know WHAT will.

IMG_0403

IMG_0405

Night all!

One Response to “It’s just one run”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. All for one and one for all! « My Freckled Life - April 30, 2012

    […] into the Cardio Cinema to run. I’m not going to lie, I was a little hesitant considering my horrible run from last […]

Leave a Reply

