Small town life

25 Apr

I grew up in the suburbs of Washington DC (often called NoVA to those from other parts of Virginia), so I pretty much consider myself a city girl at heart. But since I’ve been living in the Culpeper for the last 8 months, I’ve come to appreciate all of the things that I never had living in suburbia.

(source)

For example, growing up things like farmers markets were totally a novelty. Probably because we didn’t have farms within 30 minutes from the city. In Culpeper, the farmers market opens this weekend and I am SO excited to finally be able to get really fresh locally grown produce!

Also, even though Virginia is a state FULL of historic places and events, and the DC area is certainly a prime example of that, there is very little town pride in suburbia. Probably because it’s such a transient community, and most people don’t stay there for more than 10-15 years at the most before moving on. In Culpeper, the local people take great pride in Culpeper’s history – particularly in their role in the Civil War  (yes, I wikipediaed my own town, don’t judge me). In fact, the banners just went up on Main Street for Culpeper Day! Who knew there was such a thing??

Moral of the story is, I’m starting to get used to this whole small town living thing. I will always be a city girl at heart (despite my coworker’s attempts to turn me country), but maybe the country isn’t so bad after all!

Eats

IMG_0448

Just in case there was any doubt that I eat the same thing every morning, I thought to snap a picture. Same thing as yesterday – vanilla chobani, chopped strawberries, and granola. And a cup of Earl Grey on the side. As much as I am a total coffee addict, my tummy just cant take it very first thing in the morning. So I start every morning (and have pretty much since my junior year of college) with a cup of tea!

I totally blanked on taking even a cell phone picture of lunch. My PB&J sounded boring (probs because I had the same thing yesterday), so my coworker convinced me to make a Subway run. I got a 6in turkey on wheat with all the veggies (except onions and olives, ew) and a little chipotle southwest. Then I scarfed it.

Gym

Today’s BodyCombat convinced me of 2 things. 1) I desperately need new gym shoes, because my current ones are really starting to hinder my performance instead of helping it. They get very little traction on the gym floor anymore, and I always feel like I’m going to slip! and 2) NEVER go to the gym with non-athletic socks.

You see, I have been putting off doing laundry. But that means that I am nearly out of socks. So I grabbed a pair this morning from the back of my drawer, but it turns out that they were super worn and thin. So throughout the entire class I could feel my toes getting blisters! Every time we had to do a high knees or jump kicks, I could barely come down on my foot. Definitely not a good idea.

Thus I ended up making a dramatic run to TJMaxx IMMEDIATELY following the gym, sweaty beast and all to pick up some new pairs of athletic socks. And, you know, $50+ worth of other stuff. Whoops. You shouldn’t let me loose in a TJMaxx….

Dinner

Dinner gets 100% attributed to Jenn of Peas & Crayons. Since I made so much quinoa yesterday, I was desperately looking for a way to use it up in a creative way before I go out of town this weekend. Jenn to the rescue!

IMG_0450

I just copied her recipe for Fiesta Quinoa and it turned out AMAZING!

IMG_0456

Paired with some rice crakers, salsa, greek yogurt, and homemade guac. The picture looks all pretty, but don’t be fooled, I mixed it all into a crazy mess after I took the pictures. I’m weird like that.

IMG_0455

I’m off to spend the rest of the evening updating my iTunes for my trip this weekend. If anyone has suggestions of good tunes or podcasts, let me know!

 

Do you consider yourself a city or a country person?

5 Responses to “Small town life”

  1. Ellie April 26, 2012 at 12:34 pm #

    Yummmy! Your dinner looks amazing! Jenn always has such fun, easy, and creative meal ideas 🙂 And I love the color of your blog, my fave color! Once upon a time, mine was the same. 😀

    • MyFreckledLife April 27, 2012 at 10:34 am #

      I love that her recipes are always so simple! And thank you – it’s my favorite color too! 🙂

  2. ittybitsofbalance April 27, 2012 at 7:57 am #

    Ooo! Thanks for exposing me to this recipe! It didn’t take long for me to pin it on my Pinterest board 😉

    • MyFreckledLife April 27, 2012 at 10:33 am #

      I seriously don’t know how people survived before Pinterest!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Martha Moment « My Freckled Life - April 26, 2012

    […] was some leftover fiesta quinoa over spring mix, with salsa, greek yogurt and half an avocado sliced on top. I DID actually have a […]

Leave a Reply

