Birthday Boy Weekend Recap

29 Apr

As I have been doing pretty much every weekend for the last few months, Laney and I headed down to Blacksburg this past week. However, this time it was for a good reason. This boy turned 22!

225577_10100281899707583_6219777_52714836_1941088_n

Flashback to his 21 birthday last year at about 3am… He’s pretty happy, and I’m pretty tired!

We celebrated this year with dinner at a local Italian restaurant, and then spent the rest of the night bar hopping. It’s definitely not really my scene (and I definitely can’t party like a college kid anymore – I’m old), but as long as the birthday boy enjoyed himself, it was worth it. Sadly there is no picture evidence, but that is probably a good thing…for everyone’s sake!

Saturday

After sleeping in on Saturday morning (very necessary after our late night on Friday), we braved the rainy morning and headed to Blacksburg’s Fork and Cork festival, which is an annual wine and food festival!

IMG_0488

Since the day started out so rainy and cold, we decided to hang out under a tent for awhile and eat lunch from local vendors. I ended up with a spinach and artichoke dip and lentil southwestern salad platter, which was absolutely delicious. My eyes were definitely bigger than my stomach though, and I only was able to eat about half of it.

IMG_0485

We ended up wandering around the festival for about 6 hours total, and stopped by 5 different wineries for tastings. Needless-to-say, since I’m not a huge drinker, I was feeling VERY HAPPY by the end!

IMG_0486

We also say some very interesting characters wandering around, like the kind of scary-looking HokieTron!

IMG_0489

After the wine festival (and about 2 hours of sobering up for poor little lightweight me), we headed out to dinner to celebrate Chris’ birthday and his mom’s 50th birthday! I decided to live life instead of putting the blog first, and enjoyed the evening without my camera. But to give you a picture, it involved some great gag gifts, including saggy boob suspenders and a squeaky cane.

Sunday

IMG_0491

IMG_0492

We headed out Sunday morning to hike a local trail called The Cascades – named for the beautiful waterfall at the top. Laney was really excited to get out with us and run up the trail!

IMG_0494

IMG_0495

It ended up being such a nice day, and the scenery along the trail is gorgeous. It was also nice to get my pasty legs out in the sun for once!

IMG_0497

After a rocky and uphill 2 miles, you come around a corner and right in front of you is this giant waterfall. It really is a beautiful sight.

IMG_0506

Chris, Laney and I even ventured out on to one of the rocks closer to the falls. Laney wasn’t so sure about the water, but then she saw another dog she wanted to play with and leaped right in. And then panicked a little bit.

IMG_0509

IMG_0514

She wasn’t really sure about this whole water thing…

But after a little while it was time to head back home, and for Laney and I to get back on the road. So we said goodbye to the birthday boy and Laney proceeded to pass out in the back seat before we even got off campus. Poor puppy was worn out!

While it was a terrific weekend, I was definitely glad to get back home. I didn’t end up getting home until almost 8pm, so I threw together a quick and random pasta dinner.

IMG_0526

Whole wheat macaroni, mozzarella and artichoke chicken sausage, bell peppers, onions and vodka sauce, topped with some parm. Quick and delicious, and made enough for lunch tomorrow!

Now I’m off to finally check my email and get myself unpacked before I pass out too!

2 Responses to “Birthday Boy Weekend Recap”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. All for one and one for all! « My Freckled Life - April 30, 2012

    […] don’t know if it was the fact that I had leftover pasta for lunch and the carbs helped me out, or if it was the fact that the movie playing (Three […]

  2. Peace Out 2012! « My Freckled Life - January 1, 2013

    […] In 2012 I managed to go hiking in Blacksburg. […]

Leave a Reply

