Welcome to May!

1 May

How is it POSSIBLY May already? Wasn’t it Christmas like 2 weeks ago? I seriously don’t understand how this year has gone so fast – it’s almost halfway over already!

The beginning of a new month means it’s time for some new goals! If you haven’t figured it out yet, I’m a total goals and lists kind of person, so making new goals isn’t really anything new. But since they’ll be out in the wide world of the internet – I’ll actually have to follow through with them!

So without further ado, here are my goals for May:

1) DRINK MORE WATER. For whatever reason drinking water has always been something difficult for me. I just never think about it! I guess I’ve gotten so used to being in a constant state of dehydration that it just doesn’t bother me – but that’s definitely not healthy! Water is so good for your body. It flushes out toxins, helps your metabolism along, helps with fatigue, and makes your skin look beautiful, to name a few!

I have a waterbottle that I keep with me at work that’s about 24oz, so I’m going to work to go through at LEAST 2 of those a day, plus water at meals and after the gym. Now you all can yell at me if I don’t! 🙂

2) BUCKLE DOWN WITH WEDDING PLANNING. I’ll be honest, in April I didn’t really get a ton of wedding stuff done. A few small things here and there, but I didn’t really knock a whole lot of things off my list. With the 6 month mark coming up on Thursday (AH!!), I really need to get myself back on track with planning so that I don’t end up stressed (and turn into a sobbing, cake smashing bridezilla) at the end!

3) CHANGE UP MY WORKOUT ROUTINE. I feel like I’ve gotten into a little bit of a workout rut, which is why I seem to be stuck in a plateau. I go to the same classes every week, get about the same amount of cardio, and eat a lot of the same foods. Something needs to change. So I’m going to work on adding in some cardio in different places (stay tuned for more on those plans), and then incorporate more strength training beyond my beloved BodyPump class. I may even brave the scary big-man weightroom with all the beefy men. Maybe….

4) MOVE MORE. Well, duh, right? Moving more is always good. And yet, we don’t usually think too much about taking the extra step. Parking at the back of the lot. Taking the dog for an extra walk. Those kinds of things. Well Janetha over at Meals & Moves has issues the “Move More in May” challenge, which I think is such a great idea! The whole idea is to take those extra steps during the day that you wouldn’t normally do. So I encourage everyone else to do it too!

move more in may

Anyway, that’s all my goals for the month. Short and simple (like me? haha) Now on to the good stuff!

Gym

After work I headed to BodyPump class, which was my first time doing the new release. I have to admit – I was a little disappointed with the music selection. Usually they have a great mix of classics (Livin’ on a Prayer, anyone?) and modern stuff, but I barely recognized any of these songs! Maybe it’s just me, but I seem to do better if I can jam out the the tunes. haha. But the workout itself definitely had be dripping sweat from my elbows by the end. Which is kind of graphic and gross… my apologies.

Dinner

I went straight from the gym to the grocery store. Yes, sweaty elbows and all.  My poor fridge was looking empty again.

Here was my total haul (plus a giant bag of dog food which I figured you all didn’t really care about):

IMG_0537

In case you want a full list (or you’re nosy like me), here you go:

Produce: Cilantro, zucchinis, asparagus, spring/spinach mix, cherry tomatoes, strawberries

Dairy: Almond Breeze Almond/Coconut milk, Colbyjack cheese sticks, Goat cheese crumbles

Starches: 3 kinds of whole grain pasta, natural blue corn tortilla chips

Frozen: frozen spinach and frozen mixed berries

Snack drawer foods: Wholesome Goodness cranberry trail mix bars (total impulse buy the ingredient list looked decent), 100 calorie packs of cocoa roasted almonds, pine nut hummus

Other: Calcium Orange Juice, Cranberry balsamic vinagrette, Swiffer floor mop thingys

 

After unloading everything and taking Laney for a spin around the block (while laughing aloud to a Wait, Wait…Don’t tell me” podcast – hilarious!), I passed over all my new food to clean out some leftovers.

IMG_0538

Artichoke and mozzarella chicken sausage, quinoa topped with a sprinkle of parm, and a giant salad with spring mix, tomatoes, mushrooms, goat cheese and some cranberry balsamic. DELICIOUS!

Well that’s all for today folks! Let’s hope May turns out to be an excellent month for us all!

What are your new goals for the month of May?

2 Responses to “Welcome to May!”

  1. Chelsea Eats Treats May 2, 2012 at 12:12 pm #

    I love your goals! Now that we have been reading eachother’s posts regularly you know I’m going to make you stick to them! Haha! Maybe I’ll write some goals tomorrow that you can help me stick to. That’s the point of blogging, right?

    And thanks for showing me your groceries..I AM nosy and was trying to figure out what you bought from the picture lol

    • MyFreckledLife May 2, 2012 at 8:58 pm #

      Yes, definitely! That’s the best part about this community!

      And haha, I’m totally nosy about other people’s groceries too!

Leave a Reply

