Driving the Struggle Bus

2 May

Chris and I have this saying that when someone is really, really just completely failing at something (or at life in general), that they are riding the struggle bus. For example – you know when your arms are completely full and you drop something, and then every time you go down to pick something up, you drop something else? Riding the struggle bus. Having one of those mornings where you spend 15 minutes picking out an outfit, only to spill coffee on it on your way out the door? Riding the struggle bug.

(source)

Well today I have not only been riding the struggle bus… I have been driving it!

It all started with the gigantic thunderstorm that rolled through Culpeper last night at around 4am. It was so loud that my furniture was rattling! Well not only did that wake me up, but Laney had no idea what was going on and kept jumping off my bed to growl at the window. The entire rest of the night. So I started off my work day on zero sleep.

Then I spent the entire day with a weird stomach ache. Just a bubbly, unhappy tummy, which is not the best feeling in the world. And definitely did not lead to me being very productive.

Following work, we had a quarterly provider meeting with all of our therapists (yes, I realize it is May and that is not anywhere near a quarter mark… my agency rides the struggle bus sometimes too). These meetings are always entertaining to say the least. Put 15 women in a room together, and things can get interesting sometimes!

(source)

They did feed us dinner, which was nice. Unfortunately the hostess didn’t really have ANY healthy options. We had ham rolls, green bean casserole, fried potatoes, and a variety of dips. Yes, you read that right, not a single fruit or veggie to be found (unless you count the chocolate covered strawberries that we had for dessert). It certainly didn’t help my iffy stomach!

Needless-to-say, I was feeling pretty exhausted and lethargic by the time that I got home. I took Laney for a mile run, but my whole body just felt heavy.

IMG_0541

Just because I felt like I needed to do SOMETHING, I did a quick 20 minute strength workout from Shape magazine, with a few quick cardio intervals in the middle. It wasn’t anything great, but at least it was something right!

IMG_0542

I also ate a small salad, just to get some greens in this evening! My whole dinner was very brown, and just felt like I needed some color! Same mix as last night, spring mix, mushrooms, tomatoes, goat cheese and cranberry balsamic.

Now I’m lazing around on my couch watching My Big Fat American Gypsy Wedding. Don’t judge me. Those people are REALLY riding the struggle bus!

 

I know I can’t be the only person who watches ridiculous TV shows now…

What ridiculous TV shows are your guilty pleasure?

3 Responses to “Driving the Struggle Bus”

  1. Chelsea Eats Treats May 3, 2012 at 11:31 am #

    Don’t worry! I watch that show too! Ha! Serious struggle bus. You know who else was on that struggle bus yesterday? Me. Didn’t get home from work til about 7:30 and then was too tired to work out so I also did a strength exercise and only ate sorta healthy (post coming as soon as I take my lunch break!) so I feel ya. Wednesdays are hard!!

  2. MyFreckledLife May 3, 2012 at 8:36 pm #

    Haha, I’m glad to know that I’m not the only one!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. One Whole Year! « My Freckled Life - January 31, 2013

    […] the Home Page and the About Me page, MFL most popular post was on called Driving the Struggle Bus from last May, where I discussed My Big Fat American Gypsy Wedding (amongst other […]

Leave a Reply

