Return of the Mondays

7 May

It’s Monday yet again, and yet again it totally kicked my butt. I don’t know what it is about Monday!!

Not only was it a SUPER slow day at work, but I also developed the worlds worst headache after lunch which certainly didn’t help much. I tried caffeine. I tried water. I tried ibuprofin. Nothing… so instead I just whined about it. haha. Productive, right?

The highlight of the day was definitely my lunch break though – my coworker shared 2 awesome deals with me. First, the local hospital was having a $5 accessory sale (where obviously everything is 5 bucks – how cool is that?) I ended up getting 3 things; 2 scarves and a necklace.

IMG_0604

Then she also told me that a local Italian restaurant was doing free small cheese pizzas if you like their facebook page. Ummm… free food? Yes please! My inner college kid came out and I definitely jumped on that free pizza.

And the Italian restaurant just HAPPENED to be next to SweetFrog – Culpeper’s awesome froyo place. So of course we HAD to stop there too..

IMAG0117

A mix of tart and strawberry lemonade froyo with mango, kiwi, strawberries, coconut, and a few snow caps because my coworker was making fun of the fact that I put only healthy stuff on top. haha. I’m a rebel.

Gym

After work I headed to the gym for a new combo class that just debuted today – 30/30 CXWorks-BodyStep. Meaning that the first 30 minutes were CXWorks, and the last 30 minutes were BodyStep.

This was my first time ever trying a step class. Since I’m not the most coordinated individual, I tend to shy away from anything that I can trip over. It took a little while to get some of the moves down, but eventually I got the hang of it. I had no idea how intense it was! It looks so easy when you’re just looking in the window, but it was HARD! My legs were screaming!

After class I did a few extra burpees and squat jumps for good measure. Then I came home an ran a mile with Laney. For some reason I was feeling very motivated today. I think it was the froyo! 🙂

Dinner

Dinner was the last of my summer veggie enchiladas! I’m a little sad that they are all gone – they were really delicious!

IMG_0600

I paired it with the worlds biggest asparagus. It was so long and… ok, I’ll stop there. So many dirty jokes, so little time. But seriously – is that not the most ridiculous asparagus you’ve ever seen? I broiled it for a few minutes (and about 30 seconds too long… whoops). Asparagus always reminds me of summer!

Well that’s it for today – I’m probably going to call it an early night thanks to this nasty headache!

5 Responses to “Return of the Mondays”

  1. Chelsea Eats Treats May 8, 2012 at 8:37 am #

    I don’t know about you but I am OBSESSED with froyo. Last night I had to take my car to the mechanic and on my walk back home I told my boyfriend, “I wish pink berry (our foryo place) was open 24/7” and he goes, “Why? So it can cater to girls like you who never stop eating it?” womp womp. haha! But seriously it is so good! I also have some in my freezer from trader joes and I top it with frozen berries for a treat at home 🙂 yumm

    • MyFreckledLife May 8, 2012 at 8:40 am #

      Bahaha, they really should invent 24/7 froyo places. Especially in college towns – they would make BANK! I used to keep either froyo or natural ice cream in my freezer, but I just can’t control myself when it’s around! Unless you count ice cream for dinner as a well balanced meal…

  2. Amber May 8, 2012 at 10:23 am #

    Statement necklace styling tips from your fav stylist 😉

    1. Simple neckline! Can be high (http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_bzQ7_fBgShw/S69veHcw4yI/AAAAAAAAAZA/u33Adcp8tHI/s400/erincollage.jpg) or low (http://style.la-mimi.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/03/statement-necklace-fashion-trend2.jpg) but pick one– it usually doesn’t look good if the necklace and the neckline are about the same place.

    2. For beginners (aka you): Keep the rest of your outfit low-key– no other chunky/big jewelry, no crazy prints, no ruffles, etc. Hair pull back/up can make it even more statement-y (http://www.wisanow.co.nz/site/wisenow/images/Beth_Behrs_in_statement_necklace_1.jpeg)

    3. Color pairing: make it pop with a contrast color (http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-i7s6TJxAw3c/Tf5eyOnU1iI/AAAAAAAACCM/abV6c3ONorg/s640/Screen+shot+2011-06-14+at+12.42.55+AM.png), wear it over black or white (http://img0.etsystatic.com/il_570xN.329771272.jpg), or stay in the same color family but with a very different shade, such as navy top & teal necklace (http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-xq-EC2LCLIU/TtYy2ZfKrLI/AAAAAAAAA18/pQaeI7jRBqc/s640/photo+%252814%2529.JPG)

    Here are colors that go well with teal: http://annie-suh.suite101.com/what-to-wear-with-teal-a159371

    Last tip: invite me over to play in your closet and we can put together a bunch of different outfits to wear that with!

    • MyFreckledLife May 8, 2012 at 10:38 am #

      Haha thanks B! You are definitely my favorite stylist!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WIAW Virgin « My Freckled Life - May 9, 2012

    […] – Leftover free pizza from Monday, with a side of carrots. Not the healthiest lunch ever, but it definitely got the job […]

Leave a Reply

