Snack Attack

8 May

Even though I really didn’t get a great night’s sleep last night, I DID still manage to get up a little earlier than normal today. And by a little earlier, I really mean 15 minutes. But hey, that’s a big step for me.

I’m not a morning person.

With my extra 15 minutes I was able to actually eat (AND photograph – go me!) my breakfast this morning instead of frantically throwing it in a tupperware container to take to work.

IMG_0605

This has been my new breakfast obsession lately (if you can remember back to the days of my yogurt bowl obsession last month) – Oats with almond coconut milk, strawberries, a spoonful of natural chunky PB, a small spoonful of natural strawberry jam, and cinnamon. Plus tea on the side. You know you like my psychedelic mug. 

As Chelsea called me out on twitter,  today was a a really boring day at work. I was productive in clearing out my google reader though and finding some new blogs. That totally counts as a successful day, right?

Also, yes, I just started a twitter. You can find me @MyFreckledLife. Warning, I’m a total newb at this.

Lunch was the last of my veggie lentil taco mix in salad form. Not the most exciting (or appetizing looking) meal ever, but it got the job done.

IMAG0118

Gym

After work I headed to the gym as per usual, and the parking lot was PACKED! I was almost concerned for a second that there was an event or something going on that I completely missed because I seriously had to search for a parking spot! I finally found one in the last row…

Once I walked in, it dawned on me – the weather has gotten nice. Thus, bikini season as started for those who only start to work out when they realize that they have to bare it all soon. Sure enough, the gym was packed today. We were even crammed together for BodyPump, which is really not ideal. I was pretty sure I was going to get a bar dropped on my foot every time the girl next to me put her bar down (aka dropped it on the floor 1 inch from my foot).

Otherwise, BodyPump was definitely good. I love the new instructor for my Tuesday class because she’ll totally crack a joke in the middle of the hardest parts or tell us to put on our “tiger faces”. Which I guess means growl like a tiger. haha. This bicep track still kills me though – I keep trying to make it through with extra weights and every time I wimp out near the end! So close!!

Dinner

Dinner was something quick I threw together to get rid of some leftovers.

IMG_0607

Asparagus, leftover quinoa with a sprinkle of parm on top, and a “chicken parm” panini. I made the panini by spooning some spaghetti sauce on to whole wheat bread, and topping it with shredded chicken, some parm, and some goat cheese. I then grilled it on my George Foreman for a few minutes.

IMG_0608 

It wasn’t pretty, but it sure was delicious!

My quinoa, however, tasted kind of funky so I tossed it after 2 bites. Oh well.

Snacking

Now truth be told, I can be a total snacking monster. It is a bad habit that I got into during college and grad school when I’d have to sit in front of my computer for hours researching and busting out 15+ page papers. Some people have nervous habits like singing to themselves or tapping their fingers when their concentrating. I picked up snacking. Unfortunately.

Now snacking can be really good for you. A lot of general healthy eating studies recommend eating smaller meals during the day, including 1-2 snacks. But by snacks, they do mean healthy snacks that will boost your metabolism and get you through to the next meal.

While I am usually pretty good about bringing healthy snacks with me to work, like roasted almonds, string cheese, hummus, etc – my problem is portion control. I finish a snack, and 30 min later I’m “hungry” again. But it’s not real hunger, it’s boredom hunger, or avoidance hunger, or just plain “I need to keep my mind busy” hunger. And I’m sad to admit that I fall for it most of the time.

So here is what I’m going to do to address this snacking problem, so I’m not sabotaging all the work I do in the gym over too many almonds or an unnecessary handful (or two) of crackers.

1) When I’m “hungry” at these non-meal times, drink a glass of water first. Sometimes your body can interpret dehydration as hunger. I am working on trying to drink more water anyway, so this will kill 2 birds with one stone!

2) Try and really listen to my body to determine if it’s actual hunger cues. Intuitive eating is really hard – but I find that if I actually stop and think about it, I can usually determine if I’m really hungry or not. The problem is that most of the time I skip that “stop and think” part and go straight for the snack.

3) Chew gum. I’m not a huge fan of artificial sweeteners, and I try to avoid them if I can, but apparently chewing gum can be a good way of getting in that oral fixation aspect (that always sounds dirty to me…), without actually getting in the extra calories. I might try it out and see if it works…

I’m going to try all of these tricks out for the next week or so and see if that helps my snacking problem at all. I definitely don’t want to put in all the effort at the gym and ruin it with unnecessary snack attacks!

Does anyone else have a snack attack problem like me? Do you have any other tips that help you avoid unnecessary snacking?

4 Responses to “Snack Attack”

  1. Chelsea Eats Treats May 9, 2012 at 8:30 am #

    Look at you waking up early!! Woooo!!! Go girl! And yeah, we were both NOT productive at work yesterday lol woopsie! Maybe today will be better. And I do all of those tricks too!! I blogged about my work snacks here: http://chelseaeatstreats.com/fashion-friday-2/ (I think it was before we were blog buddies lol)

    • MyFreckledLife May 9, 2012 at 8:40 am #

      Hahaha GO ME! This is what happens when I have a fiance who is still in school and keeps me up on Skype until 12:15 at night… mornings just dont happen. And thanks – I will definitely have to check out your post!

      • Chelsea Eats Treats May 9, 2012 at 8:43 am #

        Sure! Also I just was browsing through some old PBF posts (what did I say about productivity today?) and saw this old post which could probably help both of us out: http://www.pbfingers.com/2010/08/16/how-to-work-out-in-the-morning/

      • MyFreckledLife May 9, 2012 at 8:46 am #

        Haha, I’m doing the same thing today! Clearly we are failing in the productivity department! This is great though! I’m always so amazed at Julie’s ability to get up so early to workout!

Leave a Reply

