Warning: Shopping while hungry

17 May

I’m not going to lie, I’ve been DRAGGING all day. Maybe it was my long day yesterday, or the fact that I seriously woke up at least 5 times last night with charlie horses in my calves (note to self, eat more bananas!)… but today has just been a struggle!

I tried to start the day out right thanks to a lovely little jar that’s been sitting in my pantry the last few days. That’s right – time for another OIAJ! It’s also made me realize just how fast I go through peanut butter, sheesh!

IMAG0134

Topped with some triple berry jelly and cinnamon. I’m not going to lie… I was not a huge fan of this natural skippy. It was on sale at the grocery store, so I traded it for my usual JIF, but there is something about it I just don’t like as much!

Workout

After work I ran a few errands, including picking up Still Missing for Julie’s Book Club.

(source)

Then I headed over to the gym for BodyPump. I was a little nervous, since I haven’t been in more than a week, due to Chris’ graduation. I could definitely feel it on the bicep track (which is the hardest track for me anyway), but the rest still felt ok. I don’t know why I’m on such a strength training kick lately, but I’ve been loving BodyPump!

Although stay tuned next week for a discussion on some of the new fitness changes that are going to be happening. Including some more strength training!

I did feel very springy in my neon colors today, though. For some reason I never wear bright colors in real life… only at the gym. haha.

IMAG0141

 

Dinner

Because my fridge was kind of lacking in fresh vegetables, I ran to the grocery store after the gym – elbow sweat and all.

IMG_0669

From left to right:

Spinach, strawberries, mushrooms, old fashioned oats, bananas, Unsweetened vanilla almond milk, natural triple berry jelly, red potatoes, turkey burgers and sharp cheddar cheese.

Those last two were results of shopping while my stomach was grumbling. I saw the turkey burgers and my mouth started watering. So I changed my dinner plans. I’m a sucker for grocery store advertising.

IMG_0671

As you can probably guess, dinner was a turkey burger, potatoes, and a salad. I paired the potatoes with some greek yogurt, and topped my burger with a giant squirt (<- That word always weirds me out for some reason) of ketsup.

IMG_0672

The salad stole the show though – spinach, mushrooms, strawberries, goat cheese and cranberry balsamic vinagrette. Ohmygoodness, so delicious.

Now I’m off to skype with Chris one last time before he heads out of the country for a few weeks. Sad face.

Do you ever fall prey to grocery store advertising when you shop while hungry?

8 Responses to “Warning: Shopping while hungry”

  1. Chelsea Eats Treats May 18, 2012 at 10:00 am #

    Grocery shopping on an empty stomach is dangerous!! Last time that happened to me I picked up yogurt covered pretzels from TJ’s and now they are my FAVORITE snack ever! They’re so good I almost wish I had never discovered them because I practically inhale them. Ah!

    Also I need to read Still Missing too! I’m 90% finished with 50 Shades of Grey (according to my kindle) and need to hurry up so I can read Still Missing in time!

    • MyFreckledLife May 18, 2012 at 10:02 am #

      Haha, that happens to me ALL THE TIME! I usually try to avoid shopping while hungry, but clearly that doesnt always work. I always end up picking up totally random things!

      How is 50 Shades of Grey? EVERYONE has been talking about it recently!

  2. Kailey May 18, 2012 at 1:10 pm #

    oats in a jar for breakfast is the perfect way to start off the morning! I actually like shopping when I am slightly hungry because then I buy what i am craving instead of just wandering around and looking for something.

    • MyFreckledLife May 18, 2012 at 9:15 pm #

      I agree – OIAJ is the best!! And that is true – it can save time. I just always find that it hurts my wallet!

  3. Jessica @ Stylish Stealthy and Healthy May 22, 2012 at 9:30 am #

    It is always a bad decision when I go grocery shopping hungry. I end up with at least 3 boxes of cereal and way too many frozen pizzas. Love the hot pink workout top! So cute 🙂

    • MyFreckledLife May 22, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

      Haha, I can’t even WALK down the cereal aisle if I’m hungry. It only ends badly!

  4. Minerva May 25, 2012 at 9:23 am #

    Cereal aisle…cracker aisle…if it has a crunch it will make it into my cart when I’m shopping hungry!

    • MyFreckledLife May 25, 2012 at 9:31 am #

      Haha me too! There is something about that crunchy factor that always sounds so good when I’m hungry!

Leave a Reply

