Luck of the Irish

18 May

Today has been pretty dull for a Friday. I worked a half day, headed to lunch and froyo with Chris, did some shopping (including an exciting purchase I’ll share tomorrow), and headed to Luray to spend the evening with some of my girlfriends/coworkers. My eats were kind of all over the place, and I decided to nix a workout in place of hanging out with some friends. It happens.

So Chris is heading off to Ireland for the next few weeks. Sad. I am definitely going to miss him! Considering that we’ve done most of our relationship long distance, we’ve gotten used to communicating via text/email/skype/phone. But now he’s going to be without communication for a few weeks, which is really going to be hard! I’m so used to talking to him about everything!

But I promise I will do my best not to whine too much about it. Just wish him luck in his travels!

Chris travelling has made me think about the cool places that I have traveled to, and those places that I would like to travel.

Best places I’ve traveled:

1. PARIS

40_522295553423_6219777_31324398_4414_n

I studied abroad the summer of 2006 in Paris, and it was seriously the best time of my life! We spent the summer touring France, talking in French, and basically completely running amuck in the City of Love.

65_522296366793_6219777_33055105_259_n

2. ITALY

(source)

During high school, I got the opportunity to tour Italy for a few weeks with a family friend. We went through Venice, Pisa, Florence, Rome and Pompeii and I would seriously love to go back to every single place!

3. MEXICO

218191_522294984563_6219777_30085372_6385_n

I got the opportunity to participate in a mission trip in Rio Bravo, Mexico during my junior year of high school. We spent the week building houses and playing with the local children – and it was truly an eye opening experience.

 

There are also a ton of places that I WANT to go!

1. RUSSIA

(source)

I took 2 years of Russian in college for fun (Здравствуйте!), so I have ALWAYS wanted to go to see Moscow and St. Petersburg. I also am fascinated by Eastern European history, so I think it would be so cool to see it all in person!

2. ROMANIA

(source)

I have been obsessed with Romania ever since I was a little girl watching Olympic gymnastics, when Romania was the team to beat. It is such an interesting culture and history, and I would love to learn more!

3. DENMARK

My grandmother is from Denmark, and it’s really the only true “heritage” I have (unless you considering coming over on the Mayflower being “English”). So I have always wanted to go and see the home of my ancestors. I even have some cousins and stuff who still live in Copenhagen!

4. AFRICA

(source)

I know, I know – Africa is not a country. But I don’t even think I could pick one single country in Africa I want to visit – I want to visit them all! I’ve had such a passion for Africa ever since I spent time working with Somalian refugees, and I really want to see all of the different places, cultures, and languages that Africa has to offer (the good and the not-to-good).

(source)

To name a few… I could probably come up with at least 15 more if I had more space. But I figure you all don’t want to see my ENTIRE list!

So now you tell me! Where is your favorite place that you’ve ever visited? Where would you LIKE to visit?

5 Responses to “Luck of the Irish”

  1. Kailey May 19, 2012 at 1:11 pm #

    I already asked my parents for my graduation gift – a trip to paris & italy. Dying to go to both places!!

  2. ittybitsofbalance May 19, 2012 at 4:33 pm #

    The only places I’ve been to that are out of the country are Paris, Italy, and England, but I’ve gotta say that Africa has always been on my list too! Blogger field trip? 😉

  3. Chelsea Eats Treats May 21, 2012 at 8:52 am #

    Where I’ve been: Paris, Rome, Florence, Brazil, Mexico, tons of Caribbean islands (Jamaica, Aruba, Bermuda, St. Thomas, etc.)

    Where I want to go: Greece!! England, Australia, Africa, Russia (ditto with the St. Petersburg infatuation…I used to be obsessed with Anastasia when I was little and watched multi-taped VHS documentaries on the Romanovs. Yep. Loser.)

    • MyFreckledLife May 21, 2012 at 8:54 am #

      Ahhh – ME TOO! I’m so glad I’m not the only one who is weirdly obsessed with the Romonovs!

Leave a Reply

