Whirlwind Weekend

20 May

This weekend has seriously been PACKED! Let’s see if I can give a sort of quick overview (ok, not really very quick) of everything that went down.

I started Saturday morning by getting up bright and early for spin class. Except when I got to the gym, there literally was NO one there. Normally I like to get to spin class at least 5-10 minutes early, so I can make sure I get a good bike (I hate the ones that are either right up front, or shoved back in the corner!), get it all set up, and get my legs warm. Except I was running late, and was seriously afraid I was going to not get a bike at all. Instead I walk in, and it’s just the instructor and one other spinner. We chatted for a few minutes, and then decided that we might as well have class!

So we basically got a private spin class! It was a little intimidating at first, but it actually ended up being really great because she could correct us on our form, and tailored the ride more towards us. I wish all classes could be like that!

IMAG0143

From there I headed to the Culpeper Farmer’s Market! Now for anyone from a city (or even a large town), our farmers market may seem pretty tiny. But we are surrounded by so many farms, that all of this “local” produce really is LOCAL! I pass by several of these farms on a daily basis!

IMAG0144

I made  my rounds a few times (gotta check the prices on things, jeez! #cheapskate), before I settled on a few small items.

IMG_0674

I ended up with a small bunch of asparagus, one tomato, and two small heads of broccoli for roasting later this week. I also picked up this newsletter on CSAs (Community Supported Agricultures) in the area. I’m going back and forth about doing it, since I’m just one person and that’s a lot of produce, but they seem really cool! So I just don’t know. Anyone have any thoughts on CSAs?

From there, I pretty much spent the rest of the afternoon driving around Northern VA. My dad is moving, so I had to move some of my childhood stuff out of his house (aka like 6 large boxes of books… I’ve always been a nerd). Then I headed off to my bridesmaid’s graduation party until the wee hours of the morning. I didn’t get home until about 1:30am, when I got a text from Chris that they had safely arrived in Dublin. Jealous. Then I proceeded to pass out.

 Sunday

I decided to sleep in this morning, based on my wannabe-college-kid night on Saturday. Although Laney did not like this idea and proceeded to bite a hole in my comforter and remove a bunch of the fluff. All while I was sleeping soundly. Thanks Laney… much appreciated!

IMG_0678

IMG_0679

When I finally got up and cleaned up the damage, I proceeded to make a veggie filled, farmers market omelet for brunch (since it was like 11am at this time, which hardly counts as breakfast…). I cooked up chopped asparagus,  tomato, onion, and some frozen spinach, and added two egg whites. Topped with some cheese and salsa. And paired with the world’s largest banana.

So many jokes, so little time.

IMAG0146

I spent the rest of the morning hanging out with this cute puppy, before heading bridesmaid dress shopping with my bestie! And I think we might have found the one, which is really exciting (especially since it has been a SAGA!) I need to get my sister to try it on to be sure, but then I will let you all know!

Dinner ended up being a total Mexican leftover fiesta!

IMG_0682

Leftover spanish rice from last weeks fajitas, one leftover chicken taco from Chipotle (my lunch/dinner from yesterday), and a mexican salad made with spinach, mushrooms, and cheese, topped with greek yogurt and salsa. Delicious.

I swear, if I could only eat one cuisine for the rest of my life, it would be Mexican. If you guys couldn’t guess that already from the massive amounts of salsa and cheese that I eat…

Now I’m off to spend the rest of the evening reading for Julie’s book club! And hanging out with this girl, of course, who seems to have worn herself out so much, she fell asleep on her bone!

IMG_0684 

What exciting things did you do this weekend?

4 Responses to “Whirlwind Weekend”

  1. Chelsea Eats Treats May 21, 2012 at 8:45 am #

    Looks like a very fun weekend!! I just started reading Still Missing too (finally finished 50 shades of grey ugh). What do you think so far? According to my kindle I am 30% finished

    • MyFreckledLife May 21, 2012 at 8:49 am #

      It is definitely interesting! I really like biographies about crazy events/people, so this totally reminds me of that. But I also had to double check twice last night that my front door was locked, because I made the mistake of reading it right before bed and definitely freaked me out!

      • Chelsea Eats Treats May 21, 2012 at 10:33 am #

        Omg I know. It’s really scary. Note to self: Don’t become a Relator.

  2. Cait @ Beyond Bananas May 21, 2012 at 10:45 am #

    Yay for possibly finding bridesmaids dresses! Sorry it i has been so difficult!! I kind of took the reigns in finding the ones for my wedding – and narrowed it down to two choices that I had one of my bridesmaids try on – and we took it from there. They came in a couple of weeks ago – and at my shower last weekend, two of the girls did a little fashion show.. and I am IN LOVE with them!!

    Hopefully you will have the same feeling!

Leave a Reply

