Breaking through the plateau

21 May

I’ve mentioned before on the blog that I’ve kind of hit a plateau in my weight loss. I’m at the point now where I really am down to the last 10-15 lbs and am really just focusing on toning. Especially since I have this crazy wedding thing coming up, and I want to look fab in my dress. And even more terrifying – I promised Chris that I would wear a bikini on our honeymoon in the Dominican Republic.

Umm… I’ve never worn a bikini in my life. So I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t more stressed for that than looking good in my dress (which at least covers more than half my body!)

Anyway, I’ve been thinking about ways that I can change what I’m doing in order to break through this plateau, and I’ve come up with a dew different ideas:

1. Start Counting Calories/Change My Eating Habits

Unfortunately, counting calories is not really something that works for me. While I know that it can be an EXTREMELY helpful tool for others, it tends to be really problematic for me and my relationship with food. So while I may turn to it if absolutely necessary, I’m going to avoid it as long as possible.

What I AM thinking about doing is getting better at my portion control. I eat pretty healthy for the most part, but I feel like I have gotten a little jaded about portion sizes. So I’m going to start watching it more, and see if that helps.

2. Change Up Workout Plan

This is what I am really hoping is going to break this plateau. I have decided that for the next month, I’m going to try working out twice a day. Now before people get all up in arms about it being a lot of exercise, I am going to do both in smaller amounts, so it really wont end up being exercise overload. And as I said, I’m just going to try it out for a few weeks and see how it works.

The plan now is to workout for 20 minutes or so in the morning. On Mon/Wed/Fri, this is going to include some short of all-over workout, such as BodyRock or a Jillian Michael’s workout, followed by walking Laney. Tues/Thurs will be a 2-3 mile run with Laney (because Laney needs her exercise too!). See? Short and sweet! I may play around with the days, but I’m going to stick with this for at least a week and see how it goes.

The afternoon will include some of my usual classes (BodyPump, BodyCombat, BodyFlow, CXWorks), mixed with some more running, since I need to start training for some upcoming races I’m thinking about.

So there you have it – my tentative plan for the time being. Of course this may change and adjust (seeing as I’m only on day one here), but that’s what I’m going with for the moment.

Phew! That’s a lot of words! Is anyone still out there? hello?

 

Dinner

How about some fun stuff? A recipe!

Italian Chicken Pasta

IMG_0687

I started by sauting some onions and mushrooms in a bit of olive oil and garlic. After a few minutes, I added some diced tomato. After everything was cooked through, I put this in a bowl off to the side.

IMG_0688

I had marinated a chicken breast in some natural Italian dressing for about 30 minutes. I then cut it into chunks, and cooked it until it was no longer pink.

IMG_0689

Meanwhile, I cooked some whole wheat spaghetti. When the chicken was cooked through, I drained the pasta and added in the chicken, mushrooms, onions and tomatoes together. I also added in some sun dried tomatoes. Then I added in a hefty handful of fresh spinach. I mixed the spinach in with the pasta and let it sit for a few minutes to wilt, a la Julie!

IMG_0690

I paired it with some asparagus that I broiled for a few minutes with olive oil and garlic salt. I also topped them both with a sprinkle of parm!

IMG_0692

So delicious! And the best part? TONS of leftovers!

 

Italian Chicken Pasta

Makes 2-3 good sized servings

1 chicken breast

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 teaspoon minced garlic

1/3 diced onion

1/3 cup mushrooms

1/3 diced tomato

Approx. 3 cups cooked whole wheat pasta (I used spaghetti)

1/4 cup diced sun-dried tomatoes (mine were in a package, not in oil)

1 handful fresh spinach

1/2 cup Italian dressing

1. Marinate chicken breast (cut into chunks) in 1/4 cup of Italian dressing for at least 30 minutes. Meanwhile, cook up whole wheat pasta according to directions on the box.

2. Heat olive oil in a skillet, then toss in minced garlic and let cook for approx. 30 seconds. Then add in diced onions and mushrooms. Cook until the onions are translucent. Then add in diced tomato for a minute or so. Remove and place to the side.

3. Place diced chicken in skillet and cook until chicken is no longer pink inside. Then add chicken and onion/mushroom mixture to drained pasta. Add in sun-dried tomatoes and mix together. Then add in handful of spinach and mix with pasta. Let sit for a few minutes until spinach wilts. Add in the rest (approx. 1/4 cup) of Italian dressing and mix thoroughly.

4. Enjoy!

9 Responses to “Breaking through the plateau”

  1. ittybitsofbalance May 22, 2012 at 6:09 am #

    Counting calories does NOT work for me either– it makes me a little too obsessive about what I put in my mouth which is never a good thing!

    • MyFreckledLife May 22, 2012 at 9:29 am #

      Me too! I end up getting so focused on the numbers that I end up undereating because I’m so worried about how many calories are in each little thing!

  2. Chelsea Eats Treats May 22, 2012 at 11:50 am #

    Looks like a great dinner! And I think your new plan sounds awesome!! I think you’ll love working out in the morning…it gives you so much energy during the day!

    • MyFreckledLife May 22, 2012 at 11:53 am #

      Haha minus the fact that I TOTALLY slept through my alarm this morning and was almost late for work. Whoops! FAIL. Need to get that part under control first!

  3. Rebecca @ Blueberry Smiles May 22, 2012 at 1:11 pm #

    Calorie counting doesn’t work for me either….I end up eating more when I do and being obsessed about numbers all day instead of enjoying food.

    • MyFreckledLife May 22, 2012 at 1:15 pm #

      I really think that calorie counting either works brilliantly for people, or is really terrible! I’m glad to know I’m not the only one who has found it just doesnt work for them!

  4. nexu7 May 25, 2012 at 8:12 pm #

    Hello, I’m new to your blog and I hope it’s okay to post a comment. ( I don’t know much about blog etiquette, I’m new to the blogging world!)
    I know what it’s like to struggle with weight and especially the last 10lbs! I’ve finally done it and am working on toning up at my own pace now. These resources helped me IMMENSELY and I thought while reading this that they might help you as well. Though you seem to have a really good thing going :).
    -Tosca Reno (The Eat Clean Diet); she’s an amazing woman and the Eat Clean Diet is the simplest thing to understand and to follow. Her belief in clean honest food is refreshing and not hard to follow.
    -Tone It Up; These girls are trainers and have a very motivational way of getting you to get up and get moving. They also have fantastic recipes and workouts to browse through. (toneitup.com)
    Sorry I do hope this was appropriate to post as a comment. I hope this brings you motivation like it did me.
    I really love your writing style and find your blog a real joy to read 🙂
    I’m Meaghan btw.

    • MyFreckledLife May 25, 2012 at 9:42 pm #

      Of course it’s ok to comment – I LOVE hearing from people! Thank you so much for the links! I have heard really good things about the Tone It Up plan, and I’m definitely considering trying them out. I will have to check out the Eat Clean Diet book though, I haven’t ever heard of that one. I’m definitely always up for new books or information about there about healthy living, so this sounds perfect! And thank you so much for your sweet comments, Meaghan!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WIAW: Use your imagination « My Freckled Life - May 23, 2012

    […] but I still was able to get up and out of bed with enough time to get in a quick but brutal BodyRock workout. This one was really cardio heavy, so I could barely catch my breath by the end thanks to the super […]

Leave a Reply

