Total Fail

22 May

So you know how I wrote a whole post yesterday about how I was going to start this new routine of getting up early to workout in the mornings during the week?

Yea… today that was a total fail.

I didn’t sleep very well last night, and basically spent the entire night tossing and turning for some weird reason. So then when my alarm went off this morning, apparently I slept right thought it. And then kept sleeping. So much so that I was almost late for my morning appointment! I finally woke up at 7:15 and had to frantically run around to get ready and walk Laney before I had to head out by 7:45!

Let’s just say that I may or may not have been shoving peanut butter toast in my mouth while driving to my appointment… whoops!

So yea.. Day 2 was a total fail. But I’m trying not to let it deter me, and I’m going to be back at it tomorrow (assuming that I actually wake up this time!)

Gym

IMG_0696

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m on a TOTAL strength training kick recently. In fact, I even ran into my usual BodyFlow teacher who waved and said “Hey! I haven’t seen you in forever! Has everything been ok?”

Yea… I’m a BodyFlow ditcher. But I have just been loving on BodyPump so much recently!!

Now that it’s been a few weeks since the launch, I have to admit that I’m starting to get sick of this new release. I love some of the tracks, but I’m really not feeling most of the music this time! Besides, I like when they switch it up, because it keeps my muscles (and my mind) guessing!

I did up my chest weight though, and BOY am I feeling it! I could barely lift my arms to wash my hair when I got home!

I have to admit though, I only upped my weight out of pure competition. Our class was packed tonight and the girl next to me was apparently fairly new (or just judgmental) and was seriously checking out my weights before putting hers on. But when she put on extra weight for the chest track, my inner “anything you can do…” competitor kicked in, so I upped mine too. But I made it all the way through, and kind of felt like superwoman afterwards!

Afterwards I got home and took Laney for an easy 2 miles run to make up for this morning. And by easy, I mean that our pace was slow and easy. The run was killer since my legs were basically like jello. But we made it, minus one short bathroom break in the middle (for Laney, not for me!)

IMG_0698

Dinner

The whole run, I was trying to come up with SOMETHING to make for dinner. I was just not feeling anything, and even my go-to Mexican just wasn’t appealing. So when I got back and checked my fridge, I found some Trader Joe’s Masala sauce and suddenly I was inspired!

IMG_0699

I decided to combine a lot of my favorite Indian flavors and ingredients and came up with a  chicken, potato and spinach masala.

I started by boiling some red skinned potatoes. Once they were cooked, I chopped them into small cubes.

I then chopped 1 chicken breast into small pieces and placed it to simmer with the masala sauce and some water (per the directions on the masala jar). Once the chicken was cooked through, I added in the potatoes and some frozen spinach. I then let it simmer until the sauce had reduced and thickened up a bit.

I paired it with some jasmine rice.

IMG_0702

AMAZING! I haven’t had Indian food in months, and this totally made me remember why I love it so much. Even though it wasn’t a real Indian dish, the flavors were definitely there and I was really impressed by the end result!

 

Do you get competitive in the gym, or do you tend to stay in your own zone?

Do you play with ethnic cuisines and flavors, or do you leave them to the experts?

3 Responses to “Total Fail”

  1. Chelsea Eats Treats May 23, 2012 at 8:29 am #

    Yumm looks good!! And I totally would have been competitive at the gym too….bring it on sistah haha

    • MyFreckledLife May 23, 2012 at 8:33 am #

      Yea… that’s why I do so much better working out at the gym instead of at home – my competitive side kicks in and I push myself harder. Unless I’m working out at home and Chris is there, because he’ll totally call me out if I wimp out on things! haha.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WIAW: Use your imagination « My Freckled Life - May 23, 2012

    […] I can honestly say that today has been a total success – which is really reassuring after yesterday’s total fail! […]

Leave a Reply

