Seeing Red

26 May

Happy Memorial Day Weekend everyone! Anyone have any exciting plans? I was originally going to go to the beach this weekend, but things kind of fell through since I couldn’t find a place to board Laney. Everyone was booked up WAY far in advance! Bummer 😦

But I don’t mind hanging out at home with Laney! It gives me some time to get some stuff accomplished!

So normally on Saturday morning, I head over to the gym for spin class. However, due to the weekend, the class was cancelled for today! Instead I decided to sleep in a little bit and catch up on some sleep. It was GLORIOUS!

I did get up with enough time to head over to the Culpeper farmer’s market with my friend. Before I headed over there, I put together a kind of pathetic breakfast. Clearly my fridge is on the empty side again…

IMG_0717

The toasted ends of my whole wheat bread loaf, topped with triple berry jam on one side, and apple butter on the other. Paired with a cup of tea (like always!)

I have to admit, when I got to the Farmer’s Market, I was a little disappointed with the produce today! Maybe it’s the holiday weekend, but I felt like a lot of my favorite stands were missing or were really low on goods!

I apparently was really feeling the red items today! 2 tomatoes and some super sweet strawberries!

IMG_0719

From the market I went straight to the local park to get a run in. It was SO FLIPPIN HOT outside, I was seriously dripping sweat everywhere!

And, of course, being the quasi-ginger that I am, whenever my body temperature rises, my skin gets super red. I don’t just mean pink. I mean lobster red. I’m pretty sure people who passed me were concerned for my safety, because I kept getting stares every time I ran past someone! It wasn’t until I got into the car after a sweaty 3 miles that I looked in the mirror and saw that I looked like a lobster!

Working out isn’t always sexy people, especially if you’re a (quasi) ginger!

I did have a totally scary (and embarrassing) moment while running though. I was just finishing up my first mile and passing by my car to grab a gulp of water, and I went to reach for my key and it was GONE! Usually I tie it into a hairtie on my wrist, but I forgot an extra this morning, so I put it into the little pocket in my running shorts. But when I went to go look for it, it wasn’t there!

I seriously started to panic. As if I wasn’t red enough from running, I was getting really upset! Everything was in my car – my purse, my phone, my wallet, my house keys… without my car key I’d be screwed! So I ran the loop again with my eyes GLUED to the ground looking for my missing key. It was no where to be found!

I had almost finished my second mile, and I really was working myself into a total panic. I checked my pocket again (obviously it still wasn’t there), but all of a sudden, I felt something prick my leg. My key had fallen out of the pocket, but had gotten stuck in the “underwear” layer of my running shorts, and I hadn’t even noticed! DURR! So then I had to awkwardly try to fish it out without no one seeing me reach down my shorts. haha. I know, I’m an awkward person!

Anyway (now that I’ve thoroughly embarrassed myself), after I got back home and took a super quick shower, I headed up to Northern VA to run some wedding errands and grab lunch with one of my bridesmaids. It was a quick trip, but I definitely got some stuff accomplished, including a potential hairdresser and groomsmen suit information. Woohoo!

I rushed home so that I didn’t miss this livefeed:

IMG_0720

The US Secret Classic Gymnastics Championship – one of the first of three competitions that helps determine the US Team for the Olympics!!! I was totally seeing RED, white and blue! (See what I did there? You know you like it…)

I was a gymnast when I was younger, and then got back into it recreationally in college, so I was glued to my computer like a totally giddy kid! LOVE IT!

Lastly, because this post is already getting crazy long, I have to tell you all really quick about the most ridiculous thing that happened while I was walking Laney this evening that really had me seeing red in the angry sense!

Laney and I were just walking along, minding our own business, when this kid on roller skates comes over to us (first off, who even uses roller skates anymore… that should have been my first clue). He was kind of just skating around us, and I didn’t really pay him any mind. All of a sudden, he starts throwing rocks at Laney! And I don’t mean in a playful manner – he was like chucking them at her!

I was so shocked that I completely stopped for a second. Then I not-so-nicely told him to stop throwing rocks at my dog. He just shrugged his shoulders and continued skating around us, but without any rock chucking at least. 

The worst part, I looked up and his MOM was standing right there on the porch, just watching him! Umm, HELLO??? Your child is throwing rocks at a stranger’s dog… shouldn’t you do something about that? I’m not a parent, but that just seems ridiculous.

I was so angry! Luckily Laney wasn’t hurt, she was just very confused as to where the rocks were coming from. And if she could eat them. haha.

 

So there you have it – my very long and red-filled day!

What are your plans for this long weekend?

Has anyone else had anything ridiculous happen while walking/running? Since I’ve now had two crazy things happen in one day!

8 Responses to “Seeing Red”

  1. Minerva May 27, 2012 at 9:43 am #

    I also turn crazy lobster red when I run in the summer! I get all kinds of sympathy stares from strangers. They prob think I’m in so much pain lol

  2. nexu7 May 27, 2012 at 10:09 am #

    I can’t believe some people, if I was that kids mother I would be so embarrassed, come off my porch to scold my child and apologise to you. But not everyone is so polite and sadly those are the ones making more of those little brats lol. If it were me I would have thrown a rock right back at the kid…but as my mum would say 2 wrongs do not make a right, but boy do you feel better doing it.
    As for feeling like a lobster, honey I’m a brunette and any amount of physical exertion turns me beet red. I have had many a person approach me to ask me if I was okay at the gym or even just walking. It’s embarrassing and only makes me blush more red in the end. So don’t ever feel bad for working up a good sweat, you just look healthy :).

    • MyFreckledLife May 27, 2012 at 9:20 pm #

      I know, right?? It was so crazy! I couldn’t believe it! and thanks – I’m so glad that I’m not the only lobster out there!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My my, it’s July! « My Freckled Life - July 2, 2012

    […] off back home before heading out for another hot and gross 2 miles. Which resulted in some serious lobster face. I am NOT a fan of running in this […]

  2. Weekend Recap: Food, football, and one giant zucchini « My Freckled Life - September 9, 2012

    […] totally lied to me with their Pumpkin Spice lattes. It is NOT fall yet. See the lobster face for […]

  3. Five Favorites Friday #7 « My Freckled Life - February 1, 2013

    […] me entertained, and makes me a total sweaty mess. With lobster face (and long time MFL readers remember that?). Also, no clue why I was kneeling in the picture […]

  4. Weekend Traditions | My Freckled Life - April 8, 2013

    […] miles in the books! And the first case of lobster face of the […]

Leave a Reply

