Marathon Shopping

27 May

Before you get to reading, check out my guest post on staying motivated to workout in the summer over at Chelsea Eats Treats! And if you’re not reading her blog already, you should definitely check it out!

Today has been a completely exhausting day. It’s not even 10pm, and I’m seriously sitting on my couch struggling to keep my eyes open! I havent had a day like this in a LONG time! haha.

Since my beach trip got cancelled, my friend and I decided to stay in Culpeper but find some fun ways to entertain ourselves. Since this is a holiday weekend, we knew that there would be some TERRIFIC sales going on this weekend. So what else is a girl to do?

Enter our MARATHON shopping trip!

We hit the road before 8am so we could make the 1.5 hour trek to the Leesburg Outlets. Minus a very important breakfast break at Panera, we made SUPER time getting there and actually were able to park and get into the outlets about 10 minutes before the stores actually opened up!

IMAG0150

Don’t let the picture fool you… within about an hour you seriously couldn’t walk more than 3 feet without bumping in to someone. It was a MAD HOUSE! That’s what crazy 40-50% off storewide sales will do for you!

We seriously walked around and shopping from 10am until 3pm with zero breaks. I don’t even know how many stores we hit, but I’m going to guess at least 15, and that is probably way low. We just zig zagged across the outlet into whatever stores looked interesting to us, and then split up a few times if we wanted to go into separate stores that were next to each other.

Now I will admit that I’m like the world’s worse shopper, not because I don’t enjoy it, but because I’m horrible at spending money! I can talk myself out of buying just about anything. So the fact that even spent money today is a total miracle. I’m blaming it on my friend Jen!after

ANYWAY, after 5 hours of shopping in the sun and never sitting down, we (and our wallets) were totally done. And once we stopped for 2 seconds, we realized just how hungry we were! We didn’t properly fuel for this trip. haha. So we headed over to TGIFridays and basically inhaled our food. I had an AWESOME turkey burger and about 8 glasses of water. It was perfect!

Now that I’m back home and completely wiped, here documentation of my haul from today:

IMG_0724

That would be 3 t-shirts, 3 pairs of sorts, and 4 tank tops (plus an unpictured pair of flip flops) for under $100. SUCCESS!

I spent the rest of the evening finishing up the book Still Missing for Julie’s Book Club. I’m going to do a full review on it later this week so keep your eyes open for it, but I will say that this book was definitely intense! I might be sleeping with my lights on for a few days… haha.

I hope you all are having a good long weekend! Anyone have any exciting plans this weekend?

Anyone else have a hard time spending money like me? Or are you a shopoholic?

2 Responses to “Marathon Shopping”

  1. Chelsea (@ChelsEatsTreats) May 29, 2012 at 11:42 am #

    1. I love the Leesburg outlets and have gone black Friday shopping there at midnight many times. It. Is. Wonderful.
    2. I am finishing up Still Missing too!! I will probably finish it tonight. I was totally shocked by the ending!

    • MyFreckledLife May 29, 2012 at 12:58 pm #

      They are AMAZING! And yea… it was so surprising! I definitely didn’t see the twist coming!

Leave a Reply

