Summer foods

28 May

First of all, I would like to wish everyone a Happy Memorial Day, and say thank you to all of those who have or are currently serving our Country with their blood, sweat and tears. And in some cases, with their life. While I have never had a close family member who had to serve in an active war zone, Chris’ brother being currently deployed to Afghanistan has put a lot of stuff in a whole new perspective. So I have a great respect for all of those who are serving. Thank you!

Overall, today has been a crazy day, even for a holiday! Although I have to admit, I thoroughly enjoyed having the day off from work.

I started the day at the gym. Seeing as it is Memorial Day, my gym decided to cancel all normal classes, and just held a 2 hour fusion class. This is the first time that I’ve ever taken a fusion class, and I have to say that I LOVED it! We combined BodyPump (4 tracks), BodyStep (3 tracks), BodyCombat (3 tracks), BodyVive (2 tracks), BodyAttack (3 tracks), CXWorks (2 tracks) and BodyFlow (2 tracks). Yea… it was intense.

I loved the mix of all the tracks, and really being able to highlight the benefits from all the different programs. You had cardio from Combat, Step, and Attack, mixed with the strength of Pump, Vive, and CX, and then some Flow to stretch everything out. But MAN am I feeling it now! Phew – I’m tired!

I went straight from the gym to the grocery store -  drenched in sweat and all. Yup, I’m totally that person. I figure my gross appearance (and probably smell) helps clear out some of the lines so it takes less time. haha.

But grocery shopping was absolutely necessary.

IMG_0289

IMG_0277

The haul! (Can you spot Laney?)

I ended up with Bananas, pineapple, mushrooms, asparagus, yellow bell pepper, 2 navel oranges, panko bread crumbs, natural creamy PB, vanilla chobani, plain greek yogurt, a sweet potato, unsweetened vanilla Almond breeze, olive oil spray, goat cheese crumbles, spinach/arugula mix, low sodium honey roasted turkey, swiss cheese, granola, whole wheat bread, and whole wheat tortillas. Phew – did you get all that?

IMG_0293

MUCH better!

From there I proceeded to cut up a pineapple for the first time. I even had to google it! Then I started playing around with Chris’ new camera to test out some settings, so please enjoy the photo montage of my first pineapple chopping experience!

IMG_0296

IMG_0297

IMG_0298

IMG_0303

YUMMM… I’m pretty sure I’ve already devoured about half this pineapple already. Nothing says summer to me like pineapple and watermelon!

IMG_0728

Lunch was inspired by everything I bought at the grocery store today! A wrap made with low sodium honey roasted turkey, swiss cheese, spinach, tomatoes and dijon mustard, and a side salad of spinach, farmers market strawberries, mushrooms and goat cheese. Devoured.

My afternoon was pretty dull in comparison to my morning. I walked Laney. I watched some TV. I took Laney to get her nails done at PetsMart. I watched more TV. …Can you tell that I was all about relaxing this afternoon?

Dinner was a pretty nice combo that was thrown together pretty randomly. After all that pineapple, I was really feeling light summery foods. So after searching through my fridge I found some pesto, and came up with a chicken and sundried tomato pesto pasta.

IMG_0729

I baked a chicken breast with some TJ’s everyday seasoning. While it was baking I cooked up some whole wheat shell pasta and mixed in some TJ’s basil pesto. Once the chicken was done, I cut it up into chunks and dumped that in with the pasta. I also added some sundried tomatoes (from the bag, not in oil), and some pine nuts. I then mixed it all together and served with the last of the roasted broccoli.

It was super simple to put together, but definitely was delicious. Minus all the basil that gets stuck in your teeth afterwards…

Well that’s all for tonight folks! I’m off to do some more relaxing before bed. And probably eat some more pineapple…

What foods remind you of summer?

5 Responses to “Summer foods”

  1. Lisa @ Jogging on Coffee May 29, 2012 at 7:53 am #

    That fusion class sounds like so much fun! I love fresh pineapple too, it is a pain to cut it up but it’s worth it 🙂

    • MyFreckledLife May 29, 2012 at 12:57 pm #

      It is definitely worth it! I seriously have devoured like half the pineapple at this point!

  2. Chelsea (@ChelsEatsTreats) May 29, 2012 at 11:39 am #

    I just recently learned how to cut pineapples too! It was actually a few months ago, so not that recently, but I had to watch YouTube videos and everything. It’s so much cheaper and tastier though!

    • MyFreckledLife May 29, 2012 at 12:57 pm #

      Yea, I definitely had to google it! But now I’m obsessed!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WIAW: Teacher Addition « My Freckled Life - May 30, 2012

    […] included vanilla chobani yogurt, some farmers market strawberries, some pineapple (because I’m obsessed!), and some vanilla almond granola. Eaten in a tupperware container when I got to […]

Leave a Reply

