Book Review: Still Missing

30 May

So here is something a little different for you this evening: a book review!

Julie from Peanut Butter Fingers hosts a monthly blogger book club, and this is my first time participating! This month the book was Still Missing by Chevy Stevens.

(source)

About the Book:

Still Missing is written from the perspective of Annie Sullivan, a 32-year-old realtor who is abducted by “The Freak” and forced to live by his strict and sometimes insane rules in a secluded cabin in the woods. For a year she eats and uses the bathroom when he tells her to, never fully understanding why he is forcing her to live this way. Told through sessions with her psychologist, and mixed with stories from the past and the present, Annie describes how she managed to escape his captivity and how she she is dealing with the present reality now that she is back to a “normal” life.

Review – The Plot:

This story is thrilling, psychologically challenging, and at times, scary. But at the same time, you can’t help but keep reading. The plot is full of twists and turns as you do your best to try and understand WHY these things are happening to Annie, and what The Freak is going to do next. The author did a great job of throwing some total curve balls with very little foreshadowing, so they really catch you completely off guard. In fact, I felt very off kilter while reading the entire book, because so little about it was predictable. The only thing that I really disliked was that the book ended as abruptly as it started – there was no real intro (which I liked), but there was also no real closure. By the end, you’re so engrossed in Annie’s story that you want to continue to find out what happens to her. I am a “happy ending” kind of person, so I really wish that there was some sort of epilogue to let us know what happens with Annie, Gary, Luke, Christina, and all of the other characters that you come to love.

Review – The Writing Style:

I am someone who really appreciates when the story telling enhances the book, and in this case, I really think that it does. Told through disjointed sessions with her psychologist, the narrative bounces back and forth from past to present in a somewhat chaotic way at the beginning. But as the book unfolds and present Annie begins to deal with her situation and talk through her past, the narrative becomes less and less disjointed and more descriptive. I love that even subconsciously, through the writing style, you can tell Annie is beginning to accept her life and work through the pain. I thought it was extremely well written, especially for those who love psychological thrillers!

 

So I hope you enjoyed my brief review of Still Missing, and I encourage you to check it out too!

Stay tuned in a little bit for this week’s What I Ate Wednesday!

4 Responses to “Book Review: Still Missing”

  1. Chelsea @ Chelsea Eats Treats May 31, 2012 at 8:41 am #

    I totally missed Julie’s post about sending in the book reviews for the link ups…I’m still going to write my review for the book but I was too late to be included wah. I wonder what next month’s book will be?

    • MyFreckledLife May 31, 2012 at 9:07 am #

      I know!! I’m really behind on all of my blogs right now (your’s included!!) because of craziness at work, so I totally missed it! But I thought I’d review anyway…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Still Missing | Peanut Butter Fingers - May 31, 2012

    […] My Freckled Life […]

  2. A New Ride | Peanut Butter Fingers - June 1, 2012

    […] My Freckled Life […]

Leave a Reply

