WIAW: Teacher Addition

30 May

So in case you missed it (because I just posted it about an hour ago), check out my review for Julie’s Book Club on Still Missing!

Now I’m back for this week’s addition of everyone’s favorite hump day treat (ok, that just sounded awkward…) What I Ate Wednesday!

If you’re not already familiar with the WIAW phenomenon, please check out Jenn’s blog Peas & Crayons, because she has a way more eloquent description than I could ever give!

Breakfast Part 1:

IMG_0732

Welcome back yogurt mess bowl! Today’s bowl included vanilla chobani yogurt, some farmers market strawberries, some pineapple (because I’m obsessed!), and some vanilla almond granola. Eaten in a tupperware container when I got to work.

Breakfast Part 2:

IMAG0155

A poor, beaten up nanner. Yes, I still call them nanners. I do work with toddlers, people! I ate this about 9:30am, because I have been on a total fruit kick lately, and I knew I wasn’t going to get lunch for awhile!

Lunch:

IMAG0156

IMAG0157

So work has been REALLY crazy lately. We had a coworker announce that she was moving, so this entire week has kind of been in a state of panic for everyone while we try and reorganize everything to cover all of her kids until we can hire a newbie. So my lunch was scarfed in about 10 minutes flat in a Starbucks in the middle of two of my afternoon appointments. I really only chose Starbucks because I knew I could sit in a corner and eat my food like I was never going to see a meal again. But it also gave me an excuse to get a grande skim iced coffee. I need an IV of this stuff right now!

Lunch also consisted of the same wrap combo as yesterday, because I’m in love: whole wheat wrap with pine nut hummus, low sodium honey roasted turkey, cheddar cheese, and spinach/arugula mix. Paired with some pineapple. Did I mention I’m obsessed??

After work I did head to BodyCombat to get some out some of my frustrations from the day. I have to say, I’ve come to LOVE BodyCombat every week – it’s so cathartic! During the last track our teacher jumped off the stage to “punch with us”, but once she got on the floor, she sent me and a fellow combater up to the stage to lead the rest of the track! It was basically just punches until the end, but it was still pretty cool. Just call me teacher Stephanie today!

Dinner:

IMG_0735

Totally a random meal, but I had some cod filets in my freezer that desperately needed to be used. After such a long and crazy day I was really just craving some comfort food, and the first thing I thought of was fish sticks! Anyone remember those??

I covered my cod filets in flour, then egg whites, and then seasoned panko breadcrumbs. I then grilled them on my George Foreman for a few minutes until they flaked. I paired with with a farmers market salad with spinach/arugula, mushrooms, bell pepper, tomatoes, onion, goat cheese and cranberry balsamic.

And don’t let the picture fool you – I doused the bad boy in natural ketsup after I took the picture, I’m not going to lie!

Well that wraps up this edition of WIAW! Now I’m off to watch So You Think You Can Dance and wish that I had that kind of talent!

Any other SYTYCD fans out there??

Have you ever taught or thought about teaching a fitness class? I really enjoyed my brief stint in teaching today (HA, if you could even call it that!), I definitely would consider getting certified to teach a class in the future!

6 Responses to “WIAW: Teacher Addition”

  1. itsaharleyyylife May 30, 2012 at 10:24 pm #

    how long about did you cook your cod on the george formean? I never thought to do that before but I guess you could. I would just be nervous on cooking it the whole way.

    • MyFreckledLife May 31, 2012 at 9:05 am #

      I cooked mine for about 8-10 minutes I think? I just kind of checked it a few times for flakiness. It was actually really quick on the George Forman, and way less messy that in the oven or in a pan. haha.

  2. Chelsea @ Chelsea Eats Treats May 31, 2012 at 8:39 am #

    One of my coworkers is leaving this week too!! It’s soooo annoying trying to reassign all their assignments. And I’m obvs a SYTYCD fan 🙂 I thought everyone last night was really good! I even got teary eyed when that one girl said her mom kicked her out and doesn’t support her dancing 😦

    • MyFreckledLife May 31, 2012 at 9:06 am #

      I know! Things are totally chaotic and panicked right now – not fun! I know – I think this is going to be an amazing season!! And that girl was so sweet – I felt so terrible for her. My favorite were definitely the Ninja twins though, I was seriously dying laughing!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pump it up! « My Freckled Life - May 31, 2012

    […] would be leftover “fish sticks” from yesterday with ketsup, some broiled asparagus, and a small cheese and salsa quesadilla on a […]

Leave a Reply

