Summer Rain, Summer Squash, and Summer Muffins!

2 Jun

Did ya miss me yesterday?

Sorry for my totally random absence yesterday. After the complete and total insanity of this week, two of my coworkers coerced me into an impromtu girls night. We all drove out to Luray (about an hour from Culpeper and even more in the middle-of-nowhere country than Culpeper!) and gorged ourselves on Mexican food and ice cream while we watched the insane storms pass over.

IMAG0158

(Don’t worry, I was sitting at a red light when I took this picture, not driving!)

The rest of the evening was spent teasing me about my awkwardness, watching ridiculous television, and me teaching my coworker’s 5 year old gymnastics. Which then of course turned into us trying to do gymnastics on the living room floor. Which then resulted in fits of giggles, like we’re 12. Yup, it really happened.

Anyway, so that’s where I was last night. By the time I got home it was after 11pm and I still had to walk Laney and shower before bed. So blogging fell by the wayside.

But I’m back today!

I started off today with a healthy breakfast in hopes of getting my system back on track after all the mexican food and ice cream, which didn’t really agree to well with my stomach.

IMG_0749

Whole wheat toast with natural PB and a banana. With my usual morning tea.

I headed to spin class this mornng, but nothing was sitting very well with my stomach today! I actually had to skip one sprint track entirely because I thought I was going to puke! Not good! But it passed after some water and I made it through the rest of class.

From there I headed to the farmers market. I got there much later than usual because I first had to run by the back and stand in line FOREVER to get a temporary card because someone tried to use mine! Thank goodness Wells Fargo caught it, called me, and cancelled my card immediately, so they only got $13.75 (which Wells Fargo will get me back). Crazy though!

The farmers market was a little cleared out since I got there right before closing, but I still managed to get a few things for the week!

IMG_0752

Three kinds of squash (yellow, butter, and zucchini) and some green beans. I have NO clue what I’m going to do with the squash yet. Any ideas?

I had a few hours to kill before heading a friend’s BBQ and then to see Chris (he gets back from 2 weeks in Ireland tonight! YAY!), so I decided to do some baking. I figured that Chris’ family probably has NOTHING in their fridge since they’ve been gone so long, and would need some breakfast food for tomorrow before they go grocery shopping. Thus I started scouring pinterest and blogs for some ideas…

I found this recipe from Dashing Dish, and decided to put my own spin on it based on what I had on hand (and what I know his family likes).

Healthy Strawberry and Peach Breakfast Muffins

Adapted from Dashing Dish – Makes approx. 12-15 muffins

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cups of old fashioned oats
  • 1/2 cup plain greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup vanilla greek yogurt
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup of sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 1/4 cup diced strawberries, patted dry
  • 3/4 cup of diced peaches (I used white peaches)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line muffin tins with foil liners (foil works better than paper according to Dashing Dish, so I followed her advice and used foil. You could also use silicone. Just not paper liners)
  2. Place all ingredients (except strawberries and peaches) in a food processor/blender and blend until smooth. Pour into bowl and stir in 3/4 cup strawberries and 3/4 cup peaches.
  3. Divide batter among muffin tin, and top with the extra 1/2 cup of strawberries for a punch of color.
  4. Bake for approximately 20-25 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.
  5. Cool (optional…) and ENJOY!

IMG_0754

IMG_0755

I have the world’s smallest food processor, so I actually had to blend in 3 batches and then mix everything together. I’m so lame! haha

IMG_0756

IMG_0757

IMG_0759

Insert random photoshoot while muffins are cooking…

IMG_0764

Tada, MUFFINS!

IMG_0768

And then devour 2 of them. That counts as lunch, right?

These suckers pack a great punch of protein from the greek yogurt and the oats, and are FULL of fresh fruit. Yummmm!! I definitely stuck 5 in my freezer for next week!

Alright, now I’m off to pace until Chris gets home! I’m not sure who is more excited to see him – me or Laney!

What did YOU do this weekend that was exciting?

What is your favorite breakfast muffin recipe??

One Response to “Summer Rain, Summer Squash, and Summer Muffins!”

  1. Chelsea Eats Treats June 4, 2012 at 8:35 am #

    Yumm those look awesome!!

Leave a Reply

