Why, Hello June!

3 Jun

So today’s post is going to be pretty quick and completely picture-less. Why, you ask? Because it’s 11pm and I haven’t had enough coffee today, that’s why!

But really, today has been all about spending the day with Chris and his family since they got back from a 2 week trip to Ireland last night. While 2 weeks might not seem like a lot, Chris and I have been long distance for most of our relationship, and anyone who has been in a long distance relationship before knows that communication is pretty much the main component to success. So with Chris being gone for 2 weeks in a foreign country, that meant almost zero communication – which is difficult! So today was all about spending time with him, helping him unpack and prep for work tomorrow, an extremely long grocery trip, and of course lots of hugs (from me and from Laney!)

So clearly no pictures were taken, because I was too busy focusing on living today. But I promise we’ll be back to pictures of food and Laney tomorrow!

Instead I want to focus today on looking at how I did for May’s goals, and then setting some new goals for June. Let’s see how much I actually accomplished this month…

May Goals:

1) DRINK MORE WATER.

I was off and on successful with this one. Some days I was super good about drinking a ton of water during the day, especially when I was just sitting at my desk doing work. Other days I got so busy that it completely fell off my radar. I definitely want to continue working on this, but I’m proud that I have become more aware of how much water I’m drinking.

2) BUCKLE DOWN WITH WEDDING PLANNING.

I am happy to say that I was VERY successful with this. Now that we’re under the 6 month mark, I kicked it up in to high gear and I have a lot of things set up for June, including engagement pictures, pre-marital counseling (required by our pastors), meetings with the cake people and the invitation people, possible bridesmaids dresses and groomsmen attire. So yay, SUCCESS!

3) CHANGE UP MY WORKOUT ROUTINE.

I’m going to give myself a C on this one. I definitely changed things up by adding in more, but that fell by the wayside a little this last week. I really need to switch some things up if I want to see more changes, because even in the short time I’ve been doing it, I’ve noticed a difference!

4) MOVE MORE.

I would definitely say I was successful with this one! I moved a lot more in May and was much more aware of taking the extra steps during the day. Especially at work – when I’d make extra trips to the copier and water fountain!

So there you have it, I’d say I was at least somewhat successful with my goals in May. But as things got crazy at work, some of it kind of came to a stand still. So that’s definitely something I need to work on in June!

June Goals:

1) MAKE MORNING WORKOUTS A HABIT

I started off really well at getting up early, but that definitely stopped almost completely after a week. I keep reminding myself that it takes 21 days to make a habit, so I need to stick with it for 3 weeks! It should HOPEFULLY be a little easier now that Chris is back at work, since he has to get up insanely early and can call me one his drive in to wake me up. He’s a little harder to shut up than my snooze button! haha.

2) PAY MORE ATTENTION TO PORTION SIZES

I’ve mentioned this before, but eating healthy foods is not usually my problem. Thanks to my lack of a gallbladder, most totally crappy foods have automatically been eliminated from my diet, and the rest is just habit now (plus a total love of veggies more than anything else). But what I do struggle with is portion sizes for healthy foods. Too much healthy food is still too much food. So I am going to work on paying more attention to portion sizes and my snacking during the day.

3) TAKE TIME FOR MYSELF

This month has already started off crazy with all of the insanity at work, and then you saw above my list of wedding things set for this month. As we get closer to the wedding I know things are only going to get more stressful, and I am the type of person that can often hold in all my stress until I burst. So I am going to work on taking more time for myself so that I can relax and deal with the stress before it takes me over! This may be through reading books, taking bubble baths, or even just more yoga/meditation – but I need some more me time if I’m going to be nice to people… haha.

4) TRY NEW FOODS

I’ll admit it – I’m not always super adventurous in the kitchen. Chris and I were just talking today about how much we both LOVE to cook, yet when I think about it, I almost always use normal ingredients. Now that it’s summer and that means that there are a TON of fruits and veggies out in the stores and at the farmers market, I want to challenge myself to try some new things and make some new dishes. Cooking is also kind of cathartic to me, so this will also help with goal #3!

 

So there you have it, my dear blog friends – my goals for June! I trust you all to keep me accountable to these, since now that they are out on the internet for all the world to see, they MUST be true! Because everything you read on the internet is real, right?

But really, having you all around to read them really does help me stick with them better. I can’t disappoint!

Thank you for putting up with a completely wordy and pictureless post!

So tell me, what are some of your goals for June??

7 Responses to “Why, Hello June!”

  1. Lisa @ Jogging on Coffee June 4, 2012 at 7:58 am #

    I just started training for my second half marathon so I have to get better at stretching after workouts to avoid injury!
    I nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award 🙂 The details are on my blog.

    • MyFreckledLife June 4, 2012 at 8:02 am #

      I need to do that too!! I used to be so diligent about stretching, but it’s definitely fallen by the wayside lately. I’m hoping maybe adding in some more yoga will also help remind me to stretch more often!

      And thank you so much!! I will definitely check it out!

  2. Chelsea Eats Treats June 4, 2012 at 8:32 am #

    I totally agree on the portion sizes!! I bought this silly thing online a few months ago that you put on your plate to measure out portion sizes but it’s been shamefully hiding in my cabinet for a while. Time to bring that thing back out!!

    • MyFreckledLife June 4, 2012 at 8:43 am #

      How cool – I’ve never even heard of something like! You’ll have to use it and let me know how it works!

  3. Jessica June 4, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

    I am really trying to get my morning workouts in too! For me consistency seems to be the problem on my weight loss journey… but I find that I am much more motivated to eat healthy if I work out in the morning, and less likely to skip a workout!

    • MyFreckledLife June 4, 2012 at 8:17 pm #

      That’s a really good point – I think that starting out the day with a workout really sets you up for success during the day. I just need to motivate myself to get out of bed!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Turning into a pineapple « My Freckled Life - June 4, 2012

    […] Now I’m going to spend the rest of my evening relaxing. Because, you know, I’m working on my June goal of taking more time for myself! […]

Leave a Reply

