Bowling Champion!

5 Jun

It’s kind of hard to believe that it’s only Tuesday – it feels like it should at LEAST be Thursday by now! Sheesh, what a week it has already been!

Today started out with a bang, though. I actually managed to wake up early to work out! I give all the credit to Chris who called me while driving to work to wake me up this morning, so I really had no excuse. So after a few moans and groans, I managed to roll out of bed and change into workout clothes.

I ran a quick 2 miles with Laney, and it felt AWESOME. I wasn’t sure how my legs were going to feel after the 4 miles last night, but they actually felt really great. And the weather was nice and chilly this morning – perfect for running!

I even had time to read a few blogs while my hair was drying this morning. It was awesome! No running around like a crazy person trying to get to work on time like most mornings. haha.

Work was a little insane today (as it has been the last two weeks – ACK!), but I was able to actually break at a normal time today for lunch!

IMAG0160

Enter the gigantoid (yes, totally a word) salad! It was made with spinach/arugula mix, tomatoes, yellow bell pepper, mushrooms, baked chicken, goat cheese, and the last of my cranberry balsamic vinaigrette. AMAZING!

After work I headed in to Fredericksburg for dinner with Chris’ family at our favorite restaurant – Bonefish! For a chain, they really do have a lot of delicious options, especially for seafood. Chris and I ended up splitting an order of Bang Bang shrimp and an entrée of prosciutto wrapped monkfish in a marsala sauce. It was delicious, but sadly I did not get any pictures. I’m so bad at remembering to take them in restaurants!

I promise I’ll work on this people!

After dinner was our current tradition: $2 Tuesday Bowling!

 IMAG0161

IMAG0162

Usually Chris beats me because he has the awesome curve-ball-like bowl style going on. Plus he has an awesome VT ball that he got for Christmas a few years ago, which OBVIOUSLY gives him luck.

IMAG0169

IMAG0170

But today, I was whopping him! I finished the first game with a 93 and a second in the 120s (I think). Which may not be great for most people, but for me it’s pretty legit. Usually I’m in the 70s. I clearly did not get the bowling gene from my grandmother, who went to Reno a few years ago for the Senior National Bowling Championships representing Texas. Yea, she’s legit. She puts my bowling to shame!

From there we made a quick pit stop at Michaels to pick up some supplies for a wedding project I’m working on (details to come soon, I promise). From there I made the long drive home to Culpeper.

Now I’m totally pooped and ready to pass out so I can get up early again tomorrow! It’s weird how much working out in the morning really energizes you. Maybe all these crazy people are right about morning workouts! haha

Are you good at bowling?

Do you have any “sports genes” in your family? Did you inherit them yourself?

4 Responses to “Bowling Champion!”

  1. Chelsea Eats Treats June 6, 2012 at 8:22 am #

    I am super uncoordinated and suck at bowling. It’s always fun when I go though and everyone teases me that I should use the bumpers 😉 haha

    • MyFreckledLife June 6, 2012 at 8:37 am #

      Usually that’s me too! But somehow the pins kept leaping in front of my ball and falling over. Chris said I must have a magnetic ball, because it was seriously almost comical how a really crappy throw would knock over 9 pins.

  2. Deborah Dunstan June 6, 2012 at 1:54 pm #

    You obviously got your running gene from me, because I have done distance races and you haven’t 😛

    Actually I just got new shoes and now I can run farther, Apparently you need shoes more than one a year when you run this much, Oops.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fancy Bowling | My Freckled Life - April 18, 2013

    […] Splitsville, which is a fancy bowling alley/movie theater! The last time that Chris and I went was last June, which is totally […]

Leave a Reply

