Claiming the mirror

7 Jun

I have to admit that this morning did not get off to the best start. For some reason I could not fall asleep last night at all, and I tossed and turned for several hours. Then I had the most horrendous and awful nightmare about witnessing Chris die a slow and painful death. Seriously. I basically woke up in tears. It was awful.

Needless-to-say, I decided to sleep in an extra hour this morning instead of getting up to run. I don’t regret it at all.

Work actually went by extremely quickly today, which was nice. I was able to be super productive and basically barreled through my day.

Once I got home from the gym, I threw together dinner while I was showering and talking on the phone with our church’s wedding coordinator. The wedding planning never stops, not even for dinner!

IMG_0795

Pork tenderloin seasoned with Trader Joe’s everyday seasoning, roasted sweet potatoes with rosemary and garlic, and a small spinach, goat cheese and tomato salad with balsamic.

Gym Etiquette

So I have a story for all you gym goers, and I’ve love to hear your opinion on it!

After work I headed to the gym for my usual BodyPump class. For some reason today was particularly full, but I went to my usual spot in the front (I was always the front row of desks kind of kid in school too!) next to my gym buddy Tori. This works out well for me because I like watching my form in the mirror, and Tori and I will share weights as needed.

Since it was so packed today, we were crammed in a little like sardines, so you just kind of had to make it work. There was a woman to the right of me, but she actually seemed to have plenty of space, so I didn’t think much of it.

About 3/4 of the way through the workout when we were changing weights, she all of a sudden came up to me and said (in a slightly rude tone, mind you) “you know, I got here early so that I could get a spot where I could see myself in the mirror, and you’ve totally pushed me out of the way so I can’t see myself. Next time can you make sure I have more space?”

(source)

I’m not going to lie, I was completely taken aback by this. First of all, if it really was an issue, why didn’t she say anything when I set my stuff up? Second of all, she actually had a ton of space compared to most people in the class (myself included), so I really wasn’t sure how much more space she needed. And finally, even when I adjusted and moved over to give her more “mirror space”, she never moved to take it. She stood on the opposite side of her mat. If she had just traded placed with her mat, she’d have plenty of space for her bar and to see the mirror.

I don’t know, this just really irked me for the rest of class. I am really sensitive to what people think/say about me, but I was just so shocked by this lady.

Am I missing some sort of gym etiquette thing here? Can you really “claim” mirror space like it’s a concert – the people who get their first get the best seats? Usually people set up sporadically all over the floor based on where they like to be, and I’ve never seen it be an issue before. And especially in full classes, people are usually very understanding about the lack of space – you just make do.

Is there some gym etiquette that I’m missing? Has this ever happened to anyone?

6 Responses to “Claiming the mirror”

  1. Chelsea Eats Treats June 8, 2012 at 8:06 am #

    OMG I am so sorry about your nightmare 😦 That sounds awful. And I think this lady was just being a B. If she really wanted mirror space she could have said something when you were setting up like you said (which still would have been weird) or- I don’t know- sucked it up like everyone else because it was already packed! Don’t let her get to you!

    • MyFreckledLife June 8, 2012 at 8:48 am #

      Yea, it was just so crazy! The weirdest part was just that she decided to mention it like 3/4 of the way through the workout. She obviously saw me set up! It was just bizarre… and rude!

  2. Lisa @ Jogging on Coffee June 8, 2012 at 2:03 pm #

    Sounds like that women has issues 😦 I know I have my comfort spot at the back of the class but it’s not like I’d say anything if someone got to it first!

  3. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance June 8, 2012 at 2:32 pm #

    Girl, don’t worry about that lady one bit! Some people just choose to get upset over the minor things in life. Don’t sweat it– I’m sure you weren’t overtaking more space than was necessary. She probably just wanted something to complain about!

  4. nexu7 June 8, 2012 at 5:22 pm #

    I don’t understand some people at the gym, it really boggles my mind. Like when you are clearly in the middle of using a piece of equipment for your circuit routine and the lady in the gym watched you use it but then proceeds to take said equipment anyways without asking! Drives me nuts!
    I’ve never had someone approach me like that before, unbelievably rude if you ask me. Those are the types of people you just shrug your shoulders and move on about, don’t let it irk you. To me you’re in the gym working out for you, if someone is going to cry about something so petty that is their problem and leave it for them to be upset about. Don’t let it ruin your day. I learned a long time ago to not let what other people say about you/to you effect my life. If you know you weren’t invading her gym space, then you weren’t, simple as that. She’s just probably one of those control freak sort of people that was upset because the class was a little cramped this time around.
    Luckily I come off as intimidating so most people in the gym don’t approach me (and no it has something to do with my strength, I just happen to look pretty bitchy and unapproachable to the average person lol)
    I hope your gym days for the next little bit aren’t as confrontational :s

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chicken Sausage and Squash Pasta « My Freckled Life - June 11, 2012

    […] kind of a no-go for today. I finally got a real appetite back around dinner time, and paired some leftovers from last week (pork tenderloin and roasted sweet potato) with some roasted farmers market green […]

Leave a Reply

