Weekend from my Weekend

10 Jun

I know I’ve said it before, but sometimes I feel like I need a weekend from my weekend!

This weekend has definitely been one of those cases. It has been PACKED full of wedding planning, food, and very little sleep. Do I HAVE to go back to work tomorrow???

Friday

Friday night started with Chris coming into Culpeper for dinner. Usually when he comes to town we like to cook, but we were both just feeling exhausted and decided that getting dinner just sounded like a much better idea. But we decided to try a new place to us, Thai Culpeper, which has gotten rave reviews by some of my local friends.

IMG_0802

IMG_0800

We started with a dumpling platter, which included 4 different kinds of dumplings. My favorite, hands down, was the wasabi dumplings. Amazing, and perfectly spicy! We also split some traditional green curry chicken and some chicken and cashews in brown stuff. We were both very impressed with the  meal overall!

Then I spent the rest of the evening watching the Visa Championships Gymnasics live webcast. Yea… I’m an exciting date.

Saturday

We were up early Saturday morning for a hot and sweaty run in the park. This summer is going to be no joke – it’s only June and it’s already getting into the mid-90s!

IMG_0803

We ran a nice 3 miles at the local park. I actually felt really good for the whole thing, even in the heat. I definitely feel like I’m starting to find my running groove! Although I did end up with major lobster face!

IMG_0808

IMG_0810

From there we headed to the farmers market. While there we had 2 different vendors ask if we were brother and sister… womp womp. I guess we better get used to that for the rest of our lives. haha.

IMG_0812

I ended up getting 2 packets of blackberries (the only benefit to getting to the market right before it closes – half price deals!), peach jam, 3 peaches, and a nice bunch of leeks.

Speaking of, anyone have any good leek recipes? I’ve made several in the past, but I LOVE leeks, so I’m definitely looking for some good new recipes.

The rest of Saturday afternoon was spent in Northern VA doing wedding errands. First, we went to go look and 2 different hotels to book for wedding guests, as well as a conference room for the rehearsal dinner. Then we took Chris’ mom to show her around our wedding venue and to test out the distance between our potential hotels, the venue, and the church. Then we headed to Men’s Wearhouse to try on some suits and I THINK we’ve finally made a decision! Hooray! Pretty successful!

After all of that wedding stuff, we headed home to Chris’ house for dinner with his family. One thing I LOVE about the summer is all the grilling!

IMAG0182

Grilled chicken with goat cheese, basil and sun-dried tomatoes, roasted red potatoes with rosemary, and grilled veggies. Tastes like summer!

Sunday

We actually had every intention of getting up early this morning, but neither of us slept very well so we ended up completely sleeping through my alarm until like 10:00am. Whoops! We had lots more wedding plans today, so we were running around like crazy people this morning to get ready.

First we headed to a local bridal show in Culpeper. Even though we’ve booked most of our big wedding things, I think bridal shows are a great place to get ideas. Especially for the things we’re still looking for, like wedding bands, invitations and cake.

From there we headed to Manassas Battlefield for our engagement photoshoot with Stephanie Leigh! I actually won an engagement session with Stephanie at a bridal show I went to way back in January, so it is really exciting to finally get to take some pictures. Although I will admit that I was a little terrified! Let’s be real here… I’m such an awkward individual. And that usually comes across in photos. So I wasn’t really sure what to expect!

IMG_0817

But it was actually really great! Our location was gorgeous, and Stephanie was really fun to work with. We definitely hit it off right away and were all joking around, which made the hour fly by!

We should get a few pictures back soon (and I will definitely post them for you guys to see), but hopefully I don’t look TOO awkward!

From there we headed to Centreville, VA to Sweetwater Tavern for dinner with one of Chris’ good friends, Caitlin, before she head’s off to Georgia to get her PhD.

IMG_0820

I got the Monterey chicken salad, which is the same thing I got last time I went for girl’s day. It was just as delicious the second time around.

IMG_0821

Chris got the jambalaya pasta, which was also delicious (I may have stolen a bite). He also made fun of me for taking pictures of his food too. Hey, at least I remembered to take pictures at all!

 

Phew – so is anyone still actually reading?  Haha. Now you see why I feel like I need a weekend to recover from my weekend! It was crazy!

Now I’m going to go pass out…

So tell me: What did you do this weekend?

5 Responses to “Weekend from my Weekend”

  1. nexu7 June 11, 2012 at 6:37 am #

    I have a love/hate relationship with those sorts of weekends. It’s nice to have time like that to do what needs to get done, but not being able to have some real “down time” before having to start another week of work is really hard. Looks like you had a great weekend though with what seems like a healthy balance of things that need to get done and chilling with friends :).
    When is your wedding?

    • MyFreckledLife June 11, 2012 at 9:04 am #

      I agree – It was definitely a great weekend, but now I need to recover! And our wedding is November 3! EEK!

      • nexu7 June 11, 2012 at 8:18 pm #

        I know how you feel, my wedding is October 27th :S. The past couple weekends have been all about wedding checklist to-dos! Today we booked the Officiant and went to the jewelers to get our rings made…I am now without my engagement ring for a week 0_o.
        I hope the week goes fast for you and you get another fun filled weekend next weekend. Maybe with a little more down time so you need no recovery come Monday 🙂

  2. Chelsea Eats Treats June 11, 2012 at 11:25 am #

    I’ve been to the Sweetwater Tavern in Fairfax! It’s sooo good. And my weekend was super busy too! They go way too fast. Also, have you picked out your wedding dress yet??

    • MyFreckledLife June 11, 2012 at 11:26 am #

      It was amazing! And yes – it’s sitting in my closet currently. AH!!!

Leave a Reply

