Chicken Sausage and Squash Pasta

11 Jun

So… I’m pretty sure Chris and I both have food poisoning. Yea, lovely.

Our guess is that it came from something that we sampled at the bridal show, because it was the only time we ate the same thing. Luckily it doesn’t seem to be TOO terrible for either of us, but definitely enough to be a bit miserable.

Not how I wanted to start off the week.

So needless-to-say, my eats and workouts were kind of a no-go for today. I finally got a real appetite back around dinner time, and paired some leftovers from last week (pork tenderloin and roasted sweet potato) with some roasted farmers market green beans.

IMG_0824

So instead of boring you with my completely uninteresting day, I thought I’d share with you the recipe for the chicken sausage and squash pasta that I made last week!

Chicken Sausage and Squash Pasta

IMG_0794

*Definitely does not HAVE to be tri-squash. It was just what I had from the farmer’s market

Ingredients:

3 squash, cubed (I used 1 zucchini, 1 yellow squash, and 1 butter squash

1/2 diced onion

1/2 package of sliced mushrooms

3 pre-cooked chicken sausage links, cut diagonally into 1/2 inch slices (I used Archer Farms/Target brand Spinach and Garlic)

1/2 package cherry tomatoes, cut in half

1 large handful of spinach

1 tsp minced garlic

2 tsps olive oil

1/2 box whole wheat pasta (I used half shells, half macaroni, because that’s what I had)

 

Directions:

  1.  Heat olive oil in large skillet over medium heat. Once it’s heated, add garlic and let cook for approximately 30 seconds.
  2. Add squash and onions to pan and let cook until cooked nearly through. I covered the pan and let cook for approximately 6-8 minutes, checking every few minutes to mix.
  3. Meanwhile cook pasta according to directions on the box.
  4. Add sliced mushrooms and mix until cooked through.
  5. Add chicken sausage and cook until heated. Then add cherry tomatoes and continue cooking for 2-3 minutes.
  6. Turn heat down to low. Add handful of spinach and mix into vegetables/sausage mix. Cover and leave for 3-5 minutes, checking occasionally for spinach to wilt.
  7. Drain pasta and add in to skillet. Mix completely.
  8. Serve and enjoy!

Overall this dish was extremely easy to make (minus the chopping!) and turned out really delicious! So fresh and summery! Feel free to mix in or take out ingredients per your taste.

IMG_0782IMG_0784

IMG_0788IMG_0789IMG_0787

IMG_0791

IMG_0792

 

So tell me: What good things have happened to you today? I need some cheering up after all of this food poisoning business!

11 Responses to “Chicken Sausage and Squash Pasta”

  1. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake June 11, 2012 at 9:39 pm #

    Oh no! Hope you’re feeling better soon! Food poisoning is the worst!

    That pasta looks great! I’m always look for ways to amp up my pasta dishes!

    • MyFreckledLife June 11, 2012 at 9:42 pm #

      I agree! Although at least it seems to be over quickly!

      And thanks! I love adding random things to pasta too – it’s such a great base! Plus I’m a carboholic! haha

  2. nexu7 June 12, 2012 at 5:04 am #

    Oh my I’m so sorry about you being sick :S. Food poisoning is the worst too, at least you say it’s not too terrible…but I have a feeling what isn’t TOO terrible for food poisoning is still bad especially if it involves vomiting of any kind and nausea. I hope you feel better soon, drink lots of water if your body will let you.
    To answer your question as to what good things happened to me today;
    Well I got some things knocked off my list of wedding to-dos!
    Got to spend the day with my loving boyfriend, even though we had some disagreements, it’s still kinda nice cause at least that’s what makes us real.
    And Seth bought me a trainer watch which I had wanted :).
    All in all a good day!
    Hopefully today (Tuesday) brings you better things, which it should with the negative always comes the positive. Life has to balance out in the end.

    • MyFreckledLife June 13, 2012 at 9:22 pm #

      Yay! Spending time with your significant other is always the best!

  3. Lisa @ Jogging on Coffee June 12, 2012 at 7:40 am #

    Aw, hope you feel better soon! I got to spend some time with a friend from out of town yesterday so it was a better Monday than most 😛

    • MyFreckledLife June 13, 2012 at 9:23 pm #

      Thanks so much! And visiting with friends from out of town is always so fun! Especially on a Monday!

  4. Ellie June 12, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

    oh nooo! I hope you guys get better soon, and hang in there girl! Hope you have a beautiful day regardless of everything. 🙂
    And I love the looks of that pasta! It sounds light and delish.

  5. ittybitsofbalance June 13, 2012 at 8:50 am #

    Glad to see I have a fellow Archer Farms lover on my side 😉 Those chicken sausages get me every time that they go on sale– my favorite way to have ’em is topped on a big bed of garlicky steamed kale 😀

    And I’m sorry to hear about your stomach problems 😦 Hopefully they’ll be out of the way soon!

    • MyFreckledLife June 13, 2012 at 9:24 pm #

      They are seriously SOOO good! I definitely bought 2 different kinds. I have a feeling they might become a staple in my house…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Successes and Failures « My Freckled Life - June 14, 2012

    […] Success: I made a quick and easy dinner using mostly leftovers. […]

Leave a Reply

