WIAW: Sleepyhead Edition

13 Jun

*Sorry for my random absence yesterday! I ended up not getting back home until after 11pm last night, and then had to walk Laney, wind down and get ready for bed. Blogging was not on my priority list.

So I have to be honest with you guys – this whole getting up early to workout thing… not going so well.

Part of it is that I just really have not been sleeping well lately. With all the stress at work, and with wedding planning, and just with other life things, I feel like I just lay in bed for hours while my brain goes through everything. That definitely is not conducive to getting up early. Then add to that the fact that I’m already NOT a morning person… yea. That is a recipe for sleeping in.

I have been brainstorming a few ideas with Chris to try in order to help me actually get out of bed (and sleep better), but I’d love to hear if you guys have any ideas!

What I ate Wednesday

Now it’s time for everyone’s favorite hump-day event: What I Ate Wednesday!

If you’d like more information about this phenomenon, please check out Jenn’s explanation from Peas & Crayons – she explains it much more eloquently than I ever could!

Breakfast – Vanilla chobani with farmers market blackberries, raspberries, and strawberry and flax granola. Paired with my usual morning tea!

IMG_0825

Lunch: Kind of dull today – a peppered turkey and colby jack sandwich on wheat potato bread, with spinach, miracle whip, and mustard. And a super juicy orange.

IMAG0184

Snack: I tried to make sure that this snack would help fuel me through my workout. A natural peanut butter and peach jelly sandwich. On the butt of the bread… I don’t waste food.

IMG_0826

IMG_0827

Dinner: Chicken, Leek and Pepper pasta in a creamy lemon sauce. AMAZING! I roughly based it off a recipe from Cooking Light, and then took some of my own liberties. I literally was licking my fork clean, it was that good. Recipe definitely coming to you soon!

IMG_0838 

Dessert: A small handful of white chocolate chips because I was craving something sweet.

IMG_0843

So there you have it, what I ate Wednesday!

Workout

As I already mentioned, the whole getting up early to workout thing has really been a total failure recently. But I’m definitely going to try to work on it.

I DID actually workout today though!

After I got home from work I took Laney on a quick 2 mile run in the heat. It was so humid out, thanks to all the rain that’s been coming through. When I got back, I scarfed my afternoon snack in order to fuel for the next part of my workout – BodyCombat!

I love BodyCombat because you seriously don’t stop moving for the entire hour. And I can definitely tell that my shoulders have not only improved in strength, but are much more defined as well. It’s kind of awesome! Plus my instructor makes the class so much fun!

So that’s all I have for you today! Now I’m off to watch So You Think You Can Dance (like ever Wednesday… get used to it until this season is over! haha)

So tell me: What did you eat today? Any types for how to get up in the morning for a workout?

2 Responses to “WIAW: Sleepyhead Edition”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Successes and Failures « My Freckled Life - June 14, 2012

    […] My favorite breakfast of the moment (as seen yesterday… and basically every day for the past 2 […]

  2. Totally naked « My Freckled Life - September 5, 2012

    […] boy could I tell that the last time that I was at BodyCombat was on June 13! Holy cow! My shoulders are going to be yelling at me […]

Leave a Reply

