Successes and Failures

14 Jun

Today has been a day full of both successes and failures.

Success: I actually got up to work out this morning! I know, I know – it was only one day. But still. I tried some of the techniques that Chris and I had brainstormed last night, and put the alarm clock farther away from my bed. I was hesitant to do it, because I’m blind as a bat and can’t see without glasses on, but I think I’ve found something that will actually work for me!

I did a quick BodyRock workout (check them out here if you don’t know what BodyRock is all about – they are super quick and really intense!), and then took Laney on a 3/4ish mile run. My neighborhood is seriously the worst for running, because we don’t have any decent paths!

Success: My favorite breakfast of the moment (as seen yesterday… and basically every day for the past 2 weeks).

IMG_0843

Vanilla chobani with farmers market blackberries, raspberries, and granola. With my usual cup of morning tea.

Fail: I seriously spent like 30 minutes in my office all day. The rest of the day was spent driving around from appointment to appointment. I probably spent at least 3 hours in the car today… yuck! I even had to scarf my lunch in about 5 minutes in between appointments. Not exactly the ideal situation.

Fail: After work I was supposed to head to meet with a florist that I’m interested in for the wedding, but I was running 15 minutes late after my last appointment and when I called to see if that was still ok, the lady told me to just reschedule. Bummer. So I had to turn around and head home.

Success: Getting home earlier than planned did allow me to squeeze in another quick workout. Nothing mindblowing, but I did a quick 20 minute Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred workout. It got the job done.

Success: I made a quick and easy dinner using mostly leftovers.

IMG_0846

Pork tenderloin with some dijon mustard, roasted green beans, and some couscous on the side. I LOVE couscous, and I don’t know why I don’t make it more often. So delicious!

Fail: I was working on a project for the wedding based on an idea that I found on Pinterest. It started out with so much potential… but then it just completely crashed and burned.

IMG_0845

IMG_0847

IMG_0848

When I went to go peel the letters off, per the directions, they peeled all the sheet music with them! BUMMER! I had to scrap the whole thing.

So there you have it – my successful/failure of a day.

So tell me: What successes or failures have you had today?

9 Responses to “Successes and Failures”

  1. Lisa @ Jogging on Coffee June 15, 2012 at 6:59 am #

    Good job on getting up early to workout. I am not a morning person so that never happens for me 😛 It’s too bad that project didn’t work out, it looks like it would have been really cute!

    • MyFreckledLife June 15, 2012 at 11:08 am #

      Haha, it’s defintiely a struggle for me! And I know!! I’m so frustrated!! haha

  2. Chelsea Eats Treats June 15, 2012 at 11:07 am #

    Yayyy for working out early!! It’s always so difficult but so worth it in the end. I’m working on a new craft project too!!! I’ll let you know how it turns out. Sometimes crafts are so darn frustrating…

  3. nexu7 June 16, 2012 at 4:30 am #

    Getting up early and working out is not an easy thing! It took me working 2 hours away from home and HAVING to get up early to get to work on time as a way to train me into waking up that early. Now I can’t sleep in past 8am and my body starts to wake me up every hour on the hour starting at 5am onward.
    I have daily failures…and probably daily successes, sadly though I probably end up thinking about the failures more then the successes. But I’m trying to focus more on the positive, so I’m not say anything about the failures this time.
    I succeeded in everything I set out to do today. I had the bank to get to, the post office (which I got to but it was closed), the pharmacy and even squeezed in a little retail therapy. I got home and made an experimental dinner which worked out deliciously and then had a beer with my bf and his friends at the local bar before crawling into bed. I consider that a successful day. I did work before I did all that, but there is nothing special or memorable that comes out of that so it’s not worth mentioning lol

    • MyFreckledLife June 17, 2012 at 10:31 pm #

      Yay for a productive day!! And I WISH my body naturally woke me up early!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Leaping groceries « My Freckled Life - June 19, 2012

    […] present that I’m working on (pics to come later if this projects turns out better than my last craft project…) and some Kodiak Cakes mix, since everyone has been raving about it and I had a $1 off […]

  2. To be green or not to be green… « My Freckled Life - July 10, 2012

    […] I’m off to go re-try a wedding project that ended up as a total failure the first time. Wish me […]

  3. Home Sweet… Culpeper? « My Freckled Life - July 19, 2012

    […] rest of the evening was spent finishing up a craft project for the wedding. You all might remember this failure. Sad, sad […]

Leave a Reply

