Suits, Swings, and Speeches!

17 Jun

Phew! As per usual, this was another SUPER busy weekend! It’s already 11pm on Sunday night and I could seriously use another day to relax! haha.

However, this weekend really was a good mix of productive and relaxing, which is all I could really ask for.

Friday

I headed out after work on Friday with Laney in tow to drive up to Chris’ house (about an hour away). Laney was quite confused by the cows while we were stopped waiting for a train to pass. She wasn’t sure whether to growl or bark or wag her tail.

IMAG0187

But not before stopping at Tropical Smoothie for National Flip Flop Day and free Jetty Punch (Strawberry Banana) smoothies. You say free, and I’m there. Hey, I’m still a college kid at heart!

IMAG0185

We spent most of Friday evening relaxing and catching up on some TV shows. We are HUGE TV buffs (it’s kind of a problem…), and we’ve gotten way behind on some of our shows. Like a whole season behind. So now that he’s out of school, we’re trying desperately to catch back up before shows start up again in the fall. I know, we live a hard life. haha.

Saturday

We spent most of Saturday morning running wedding errands, but it ended up being quite productive (minus the 2 hours we spent sitting in traffic… gotta love Northern VA!). We first headed to Men’s Wearhouse and finally purchased the suits for all the guys for the wedding. I’m really excited about them, even if it made my bank account cry a little. Worth it.

From there we headed to Great Falls, VA to visit with some family friends of Chris’ who are designing a quilt for us for the wedding made out of a bunch of our old VT t-shirts. Because between Chris and I, we probably have at LEAST 100 Tech shirts. At least. It’s pretty sad. I have a whole drawer and a half in my dresser solely devoted to them. So at least this will be a nice way of cleaning out the hoard a little bit, and putting them to something useful. So we spent a few hours with them discussing designs and shirts, and eventually sitting down to lunch.

From there, Chris and I had special plans for the afternoon!

IMAG0160

We went to PARIS!!!

(Yea right… I WISH! Did I fool you??)

We actually drove an hour south and headed to Kings Dominion! For all you non-Virginia folks, KD is our local theme park. Chris and I got season tickets again this year, since it’s so close, and we were excited to head there for the first time this year!

For the next 5 hours we walked around, rode roller coasters (hands up, of course!), tried some of the new rides, and drank our weight in iced tea because it was HOTTTT!

IMAG0161

IMAG0162

IMAG0163

IMAG0164

That sucker is 305 ft tall, and drops you 300 ft at an 85 degree angle. So basically, straight down until you think you’re going to crash into the ground. It reaches 90mph, so that you actually reach g-forces. You almost feel like you’re going to black out for a second, it’s so fast. WE LOVE IT!! We seriously rode it twice in one day – it was totally worth the line.

IMAG0169

There is a new dinosaur ride thing, so there are now dinosaurs EVERYWHERE in the park to promote it. I like how this one is a “sub-adult T-rex”. Does that make it a teen T-rex? And don’t ask me why I decided to hold its hand…

IMAG0166

IMAG0168

After about 3 hours, we decided not to pass ridiculous amounts of money for food in the park (always the downside to places like this!), and instead got a small fries to tide us over until dinner at 10pm. Hey, whatever works!

We stopped by a Subway on the way home and split a footlong chicken breast with the works (for me… although he was brave enough to try A banana pepper. haha). Once we got home, we basically crashed. 5 hours walking around the park in the sun will get to you!

Sunday

Today started off with a bang. I convinced Chris to get up early with me to run, because he’s trying to start getting into running shape for this half marathon too. Our plan was to run a 3 mile loop in his super hilly neighborhood. MAN were those hills killer! My normal running path has almost no hills at all, so it was great/awful to get to run on these today!

After 3 miles my legs were actually feeling really great, so while he turned back home, I headed out on a short loop for another mile that included a killer hill. I made that hill my B*tch! I need to train on hills more often! haha.

The rest of the day was spent hanging out, running a few errands, and spending several hours watching some Eurocup matches, especially Germany v. Denmark. Chris was rooting for Germany (his heritage and where his dad lives) while I was rooting for Denmark (my people!). Sadly, Germany pulled it out at the end. Bummer!

We also both had a huge craving for wings (I have a feeling it was all the sweating we did the last few days… the salt sounded good!). Not the healthiest option, but SO worth it in my opinion. Every once and awhile it’s nice to indulge – it keeps me on track with eating healthy the rest of the time. I don’t know if that just works for me, but allowing myself to eat some indulgence foods every once and awhile reminds me why I like to eat healthy most of the time!

IMAG0188

This evening we also went to church where the pastor did a sermon about the commencement speech that has totally gone viral. I don’t know if you all have seen it yet, but it’s totally worth watching. It’s really interesting, and has seemed to spark some VERY different opinions from people!

 

That was about it for this evening! After dinner with Chris’ mom’s boyfriend for father’s day, Laney and I made the hour long drive home. I have to admit, I’m definitely looking forward to November when Chris and I get married. Not only am I looking forward to all the joys of marriage, but I’m also looking forward to not having to live out of a suitcase every weekend or drag all of Laney’s stuff around! haha.

Well now that it’s late, I probably should head to bed, seeing as I’m going to attempt to get up to work out tomorrow…

So tell me: What fun things did you do this weekend? What do you think of the commencement speech??

4 Responses to “Suits, Swings, and Speeches!”

  1. nexu7 June 18, 2012 at 6:43 am #

    I love this guys speech, it’s hilarious and brutally honest. But I am a fan of sarcasm with a hint of bitterness, it’s entertaining and he is oddly inspiring. His base message is so important too and that is to live the life you want but you have to work for it. It’s about living an honest life, a mindful life and a selfless existence. I wish I had a speech like this at my commencement…if I had a commencement lol.
    It sounds like you had a nice balanced weekend, which is good after the hectic last one! I agree with you on having an indulgent meal every once in a while, cutting yourself off from the things you love will only lead to binge eating them and guilt. There is no reason to punish ourselves for enjoying food, no matter the food. And you’re right it motivates you to keep on your healthy eating path, it’s like that indulgent meal was a pat on the back for all the hard work you put in to treating yourself right.
    Do you find though that after eating one of those indulgent meals a little run down and icky (for lack of a better word)?
    I had our tasting this weekend for the wedding, I went a little nuts on the desert part, we came home and I seriously felt a little drunk and ridiculously sleepy. I fell asleep on the couch for a half hour before making myself get up to do some yoga. Eating clean has left me that when I do indulge I really feel what effect that food has on me. It’s crazy and it makes me not want to do that too often.
    Sorry I always end up writing a book on your blog!!

  2. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake June 19, 2012 at 8:21 pm #

    Just watched the speech for the first time & I LOVE it! As a high school teacher, I will attest to the fact that some (not all) kids could really stand to be taken down a peg… there is SO much more entitlement than I ever remember, & I’m not THAT old!

    • MyFreckledLife June 19, 2012 at 9:03 pm #

      Exactly! I completely agree! I grew up in a very wealthy part of Virginia (although my HS’s area was not at all wealthy), and I know a lot of people who could have used that speech. Especially because those are the ones who get to college or the real world and expect people to fall at their feet! Sadly that doesnt actually happen in real life!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Peace Out 2012! « My Freckled Life - January 1, 2013

    […] To an amusement park. […]

Leave a Reply

