Leaping groceries

19 Jun

Ever feel like there needs to be at least like 6 more hours in the day? That’s how I’m starting to feel! I’m getting to the point of having to prioritize activities at night, just so I don’t have to sacrifice sleep!

Last night was one of those nights. After work I headed straight home to take Laney on the world’s fastest walk around the neighborhood before heading an hour north to Haymarket to meet with an invitation lady for the wedding.

The appointment actually went extremely well. She and her husband are also Tech grads (they are actually officers of the alumni association for their county), AND she was a gymnast too, so we had LOTS to chat about. I actually ended up staying for more than 3 hours, because we kept getting distracted from talking about invitations! However we did get some of that figured out, and I’m hoping to get some quote back from her this week to see what we’re looking at.

I didn’t end up leaving her house until 9:30pm… and I hadn’t eaten since noon. I was beyond hangry (hungry + angry). I was physically ill. My stomach was cramping, I was breaking out in cold sweats… it was bad. I stopped by a wawa at about 10:10 on my way home because I just physically could not make it home without something to eat! I scarfed a mini turkey sandwich, drove the rest of the way home, and made another mini turkey sandwich.

By this point, it was after 11, my stomach was killing me, so I just kind of gave up on life and went to bed. Where I proceeded to curl in the fetal position because I thought I was going to be sick. It was lovely.

Please tell me someone else has weird physical reactions when they get super hungry, so I don’t sound like a crazy person!

Today was much better though! I woke up hungry (surprise, surprise), because my eating schedule was just so off.

IMG_0849

My usual bowl of vanilla chobani, raspberries, and almost the end of my granola. Which I’m kind of happy about, because this Target granola was definitely not my favorite. Plus a cup of tea on the side.

Today was kind of a whiny day at work for everyone thanks to the MEGA stress levels of already being short staffed and another coworker announcing she is leaving. Plus at this point everyone is basically keeping their eyes peeled for new opportunities (myself included)… so yea, there was much whining. Which then turned into “we need to go to lunch and whine”. So we did. And ate bad Mexican food.

Anyone who follows me on twitter may have seen this afterwards…

Fullscreen capture 6192012 94706 PM

Yea, let’s just say it took me a good hour after lunch (and a cup of coffee to equal out the Mexican food baby) to be productive again. Whoops.

After work I headed to the gym for BodyPump. Thanks to my crazy work and wedding planning schedule, the last time I went to body pump was like 2 weeks ago! And OUCH did I feel it today! It’s really amazing what 2 weeks off from serious strength training will do – I was especially feeling it on the squats and triceps tracks. I almost wimped out and lowered my weights!

All gross and sweaty, I swung by target to pick up TWO things: something crafty for Chris’ sister’s birthday present that I’m working on (pics to come later if this projects turns out better than my last craft project…) and some Kodiak Cakes mix, since everyone has been raving about it and I had a $1 off coupon.

Yea, I should have known better. Groceries were literally leaping off the shelves into my basket. I don’t even know how that happened. That sneaky little Target brings groceries to life!

So $45 poorer, I came home with this:

IMG_0850

A bag of wild-caught frozen Alaskan salmon (because I’m trying to use sustainable seafood as best I can), a bag of frozen bluberries and one of frozen raspberries, my kodiak cakes, a different kind of Target granola (hopefully I have better luck with this one), some whole wheat english muffins, some Annie’s raspberry lite vinaigrette, low sodium lightly salted almonds for snacks at work, and some diced tomatoes with green chilies. Random? I agree.

Because of my giant Mexican lunch and subsequent food baby, I was really not all that hungry, even after my workout and walking Laney. What I really wanted was veggies.

IMG_0854

IMG_0853

Enter the random dinner – leftover couscous, an english muffin with natural peanut butter and raspberry jam (solely because I realized I had no protein going on), and a gigantic salad. Which doesn’t seem that gigantic, but it really was. Made with organic baby spinach, cherry tomatoes, red bell pepper, goat cheese and raspberry vinaigrette.

The rest of my evening has been spent doing a massive cleaning on my apartment, because it seriously needed it. It was disgusting. Too many weekends have been packed with stuff that I have suitcases half full of stuff in my room, Laney’s toys EVERYWHERE, and a nice layer of dust on everything. It’s kind of embarrassing. So I spent some quality time with my vaccuum and swiffer, and it’s looking a lot better, thank goodness!

Now I’m off to start on this art project… cross your fingers for me!

So tell me: If there were more hours in the day, what would you use them for?

7 Responses to “Leaping groceries”

  1. nexu7 June 19, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

    Ya I’ve come to the point in my life as well were I can NOT miss a meal, I don’t get physically ill, I get incredibly cranky. I must be fed at my usual intervals or watch out everyone around me, I become that nasty bitch that snaps at everyone. I’ve learned my lessons though and I always keep some sort of snack option in my purse for emergencies. Might not be a bad idea for you as well, like trail mix, handful of almonds or a granola bar.
    If you’re in a cleaning mood, do you want to come up to Canada and continue cleaning my place? I would keep you fed! lol jk I wish I had the motivation after a long stressful day to come home and clean. My place is in dire straights and in desperate need of real renters who will keep her clean on a regular basis.
    Sadly if I had more hours in a day I would probably just waste them, but I would like to say clean and or sleep.

  2. Lisa @ Jogging on Coffee June 20, 2012 at 7:07 am #

    I’d like to say I’d use those extra hours to be all productive and stuff but realistically I would probably just sleep :P!!

  3. Chelsea @ Chelsea Eats Treats June 20, 2012 at 8:30 am #

    I totally feel ya on that one. Last night I got home from work late, made dinner, worked on a craft project that I have been procrastinating on, and cleaned the bathroom. It was seriously getting all soap scummy and gross and was in desperate need of a scrub down. Then it was time for bed! Ugh!

  4. Minerva July 2, 2012 at 2:00 pm #

    I see kodiak cakes everywhere but I haven’t been motivated to try them yet. What makes them so special?

    • MyFreckledLife July 2, 2012 at 2:03 pm #

      They really are amazing! The ingredient list is really good – they are made with 100% whole grain wheat and oat flours. They are also super hearty and filling, and they are definitely thicker than regular pancakes. I don’t know that I would have originally bought them without the coupon, but now I’m really glad I did!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Oh, hello summer! « My Freckled Life - June 21, 2012

    […] time this week. I was a little nervous today, to be honest, because I was still feeling it from Tuesday! I did end up taking my tricep weight down a tiny bit, but otherwise – I pushed through. Even […]

Leave a Reply

