Oh, hello summer!

21 Jun

Phew – is it Friday yet??? It’s been one CRAZY week! I’m definitely looking forward to the weekend. Chris and I will be headed back to Blacksburg to hang out with some friends, celebrate some birthdays, and actually spend a weekend RELAXING!

It’s going to be wonderful.

Breakfast and lunch were pretty boring, unfortunately. Because of my crazy schedule, breakfast was eaten in front of my computer at work, and consisted of my usual vanilla chobani, blueberries, raspberries and granola. I swear, I never get tired of this combo!

Lunch was the same exact sandwich as yesterday – peppered turkey and colby jack on whole wheat potato bread, with spinach, mustard and miracle whip. I know – miracle whip is weird. But I love it. Don’t judge me.

After work I headed to BodyPump for the second time this week. I was a little nervous today, to be honest, because I was still feeling it from Tuesday! I did end up taking my tricep weight down a tiny bit, but otherwise – I pushed through. Even though I’m pretty sure I made a lot of really unattractive faces…

From there I headed to the grocery store (it’s way too conveniently located next to the gym… I cant help but shop, even though I’m hungry!) and came home with just a few things. I need to get out of this “small shopping trip every few days” habit, and get back into shopping every 1-2 weeks. These little trips are killing my budget!

IMG_0866

A few nanners, mint chocolate chip ice cream (hormones told me to…not my fault), vanilla unsweetened almond milk (the REAL reason I went to the store), 2 nectarines, low sodium soy sauce and sweet chili thai sauce (both on clearance), and a pineapple. Because I haven’t had pineapple in a few weeks… and that is a problem.

After putting everything away, Laney and I headed out on a very hot and sweaty 2 mile run. By the end, Laney was dragging along. She’s definitely not a fan of this heat. But then we turned the corner onto my road – my apartment is at the END of the long road – and all of a sudden she just started sprinting. She clearly knew we were almost home! So I had a nice sprinting last quarter mile or so.

IMG_0870

So sweaty and gross! Clearly it’s the first real day of summer – and she came in with a BANG!

I was STARVING, so I threw together a really quick asian shrimp stir-fry that actually ended up being awesome!

IMG_0873

IMG_0875

IMG_0877

I started by sauteing some mixed stir-fry veggies in some soyaki sauce from trader joes (if you have a TJs near you, get this immediately. It’s AWESOME, and full of delicious ingredients like ginger, garlic and sesame). Then I added in some defroster shrimpies. Yes, I call them shrimpies. I let it cook until it was all warmed through, and then added in some fresh pineapple chunks and let it simmer for another minute.

IMG_0879

IMG_0880

Served over some jasmine rice. So simple, yet so delicious.

Now I know I promised you all my art project, but it’s not QUITE finished yet. I have a few last details and accents to add to it to make it perfect. I might still get to it by the end of tonight, but my fingers started to hurt! haha.

But I will give you a little sneak peak… And to preface this, it’s a birthday gift to Chris’ sister who recently joined a sorority. In case you can’t guess.

IMG_0882

So tell me: What are your favorite simple and delicious meals?

8 Responses to “Oh, hello summer!”

  1. nexu7 June 22, 2012 at 4:35 am #

    That is such an awesome gift for your soon to be sister-in-law! I keep eying this pottery place that is down the road from me, maybe I’ll stop in a make something?
    My favorite simple and delicious meal I like to call an egg bake, though it isn’t baked at all, it’s just scrambled eggs in the microwave. I add in though a TON of veggies, microwave and then top with nutritional yeast and ketchup. It’s the quickest meal when I can’t think of anything else to make and am on a time crunch. I sometimes side it with some raw veggies or a piece of toast!
    Have a great weekend 🙂

    • Chelsea @ Chelsea Eats Treats June 22, 2012 at 8:11 am #

      I have the exact same shopping issue recently. Idk what happened to my biweekly tips but lately I have been picking up a few things here and there and never really get everything I need and wind up forgetting things like mustard and soy sauce. Awkward.

      Also the mug looks soooo pretty!! I love the nautilus shell, white rose, and the pearls!!!! You clearly did your research!! (haha can you tell I’m a KD??) Tell Chris’ sister congrats and you can tell her AOT for me!

      • MyFreckledLife June 24, 2012 at 9:29 pm #

        ME TOO! At least I’m not the only one!

        And thanks!!! I wish I could take all the credit. I based it on the Lily Pulitzer KD pattern. haha. And I will!

    • MyFreckledLife June 24, 2012 at 9:28 pm #

      Thanks!! I used to love going to those places as a kid!!

      And that sounds super easy and filling!

  2. Lisa @ Jogging on Coffee June 22, 2012 at 9:36 am #

    Love the mug! I increased my weights on the squat and lunge tracks at pump Wednesday and brilliant me decided to speed work yesterday so I can barely walk today :S lol Have a great weekend!

  3. Minerva June 22, 2012 at 5:28 pm #

    Your stir fry looks delicious! I have been on a mac n’ cheese n’ ____ kick this week. Nothing inspiring, just whatever I could add to make it more interesting each night. lol

    Mint chocolate chip FTW!

    • MyFreckledLife June 24, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

      Yum – you can’t beat Mac n’ cheese combos! And of course, it’s the best!!

Leave a Reply

