Overwhelmed

26 Jun

Warning: Deep post ahead!

But first, the fun stuff!

I FINALLY was able to get up early this morning. This whole morning workout thing has been a serious struggle lately. But I managed it this morning and I am really happy I did! Laney and I ran a speedy 2 miles while it was still nice and cool outside. It’s supposed to get up to 101 this weekend, so I’ll enjoy the cool mornings while I can.

Breakfast was some banana kodiak cakes with syrup. I have to admit, I kind of fail as a pancake maker. Clearly I need more practice. A few pancakes may have been harmed burned in the making of this breakfast…

IMG_0886

After work I headed to the gym for BodyPump class. The regular instructor is out on vacation so we had a new-to-me instructor who pulled out some OLD tracks. It was so nice to really switch it up. And the style/moves of some of the old tracks are very different than the new ones (especially the tricep and lunge tracks!), so I definitely was feeling it. But the class flew by!

From there I headed to the grocery store because I seriously did not have a single veggie left in my fridge. It was sad. I ate PB&J for lunch.

IMG_0887

Kind of a random spread today. In sort of order: Bananas, 2 flavors greek yogurt, block of sharp cheddar, laughing cow queso fresco & chipotle (for a recipe coming up), 4 kinds of whole wheat pasta, cherries, orange bell pepper, green beans, reduced fat cheddar cheese, Triscuits thin chips, spring mix, cherry tomatoes, an onion, a sweet potato, whole wheat bread and whole wheat tortillas. Phew! We’ll check in on my grocery budget later this week… I think this may have put me over!

Once I got home, Laney and I went for another 2 mile run because I had a frustrating day and running sounded good. This run was much hotter and Laney was definitely dragging. But she then came home and actually passed out for like an hour, so I call that a win.

IMG_0891

Dinner was broiled salmon marinated in some TJs soyaki sauce (with a slice of pineapple on the side), leftover couscous, and some roasted green beans. Simple and delicious!

Overwhelmed

Ok, now on to the deep stuff. Feel free to skip if you’re not in a thoughtful mood.

I’m not going to lie to you guys. Lately, I’ve just been getting really overwhelmed with life. And it’s been putting a real damper on my motivation and my spirit.

Work has just been really stressful in the past month or so. I know that I am extremely lucky to even HAVE a job in this economy (and there are some people who graduated from my masters program almost a year ago who still have not found jobs), so I really don’t have a right to complain. But we are understaffed by 2 positions currently, and another coworker is about to leave in August.  You can practically FEEL the tension when you walk in to the office, because everyone is on the verge of a breakdown at any second. It’s not really conducive to a happy working environment at the moment, and at the end of the day I come home stressed.

And I tend to be one of those people who can’t compartmentalize stress. So that work stress has started carrying over and causing panic. How am I ever going to get all of this stuff done for the wedding? There are still 100 things I need to do in 4 months! Are we going to be ready? How in the world am I going to be bikini ready in 4 months for our honeymoon when I’m struggling to find time for the gym? It is all kind of overwhelming.

Truth? I’ve kind of wallowed in this stress for the last few days. Hormones may have contributed a little bit to that, but I’ve kind of just curled into a ball in fear instead of trying to find a way to manage it all. Even Chris has been trying to convince me to take a mental health day from work (“but I cant, I’ve got too many kids to seeeeeeee”), just to take some stress away.

But I’m trying to get a better handle on it. Make some lists. Get things organized. Get back on track. And most importantly – work on thinking positively. Because just like I can’t compartmentalize stress, positivity seems to work it’s way through everything too. So I need to focus on that.

I know that this was kind of random, but I just felt like I needed to be honest about things. I try to keep things positive on this little span of internet, but I could feel it starting to seep in a little, so I thought it better to be up front about it.

So my goals for the rest of this week are:

1. Make a list of the wedding stuff that needs to get done still and break it down based upon priority. Then try to work on one thing a day.

2. Sit down and look at my workout plan to figure out how I can make it more effective and time efficient.

3. STAY POSITIVE!

So tell me: Do you ever feel overwhelmed with life? If so, what do you do to get through it?

5 Responses to “Overwhelmed”

  1. nexu7 June 26, 2012 at 10:14 pm #

    I know how you feel, I’ve come into feels of being overwhelmed by life constantly. It waxes and wains though, some weeks I’m fine, other weeks I just want to hide from it all till it all goes away. I’m tellin’ ya if only it were as simple as hiding under the covers!
    Now I’m no expert on positivity, in fact I’m working on how to become more positive in my life, but I do know that taking one situation and compounding that stress with stressing over other things doesn’t help. I know you have a lot going on, truly I feel we really are in similar situations (I’m getting married soon, 3 people have left my work and my job is currently on the line because of my “attitude”) so I know how you are feeling. How I deal with these sorts of things is, I tell my fiancee as soon as I see him, I get it out and then I don’t talk about it for the rest of the night. I get it out, then I move on, he helps to distract me when I am not at work. And really what is worse then leaving a stressful place but then taking that stress home with you to stress some more? Being at home should be your escape, don’t let your head dwell on it. The wedding stuff? As stressful as it is, these are happy times, you are working on something that leads up to what is suppose to be the “happiest day of your life”. Make it the happiest by not letting that list of what you have to do become something that you HAVE to do. You know what I mean?
    At the end of the day you choose to be happy or stressed, so choose to be happy! Also what I find helps, yoga. Really! It helps to focus your thoughts, it focus’s on breathing and gets you truly in touch with yourself and your center. I would recommend it for anyone, at least to give it try.
    Sorry for the book answer, I hope I’ve helped you in some way :S. Keep your chin up, life is a balance, it can’t stay this way forever, the pendulum will swing back :).

  2. Lisa @ Jogging on Coffee June 27, 2012 at 7:36 am #

    It does like your job situation is really stressful! Are they going to hire replacements soon? I know I felt overwhelmed when I was doing my Masters and working full-time. For me, exercise kept me sane but you’re right, scheduling that can be a pain too. Hang in there!!

  3. Chelsea @ Chelsea Eats Treats June 27, 2012 at 9:00 am #

    I’m right there with ya, sister. Work lately has been crazy for me too and we just lost a coworker to another team a few weeks ago and are losing another one in July. The one leaving in July is literally going to transfer every single thing she works on to me and I’m already drowning in work. It’s scary and stressful.

    One thing that really keeps me going is my support system; I’m constantly reaching out to family and friends for their love and advice. Sometimes you can’t do everything yourself and I bet the people who love you would gladly go out of their way to make things easier for you (for example, my mom offered to pay to have pea pod delivered so I didn’t have to go grocery shopping and Fabio cooked me dinner a couple of times). It definitely helps!

  4. Jessica June 27, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

    I definitely get overwhelmed when I am working and going to school, (And constantly struggling to lose weight/diet/exercise). I think I do a lot of the same things you do, once I start getting overwhelmed, the panic starts creeping onto every aspect of my life. I am a HUGE list person, once I know everything that has to be done, even being able to cross one thing off makes me feel good. Other than that, know you are not alone, it happens to the best of us. Keep your head up!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WIAW: Country Edition « My Freckled Life - June 27, 2012

    […] get into today’s eats, I just wanted to thank you all for your amazing and uplifting comments on yesterday’s post about being overwhelmed. It’s so great to hear and feel like I’m not alone in my insane stress […]

Leave a Reply

