Weekend of food and lightning!

30 Jun

This weekend has just been insane so far, and it’s only Saturday! I have so much that I could say, but I’ll try to be nice and spare you all pages and pages of my ramblings! So be prepared for lots of pictures! Especially pictures of food… I seem to be getting really good at remembering to take pictures of my meals! haha.

I’m sorry I was totally MIA on Thursday night! Immediately after work I headed back up to Stafford (for the third time this week – I could do this drive in my sleep!) to celebrate Chris’ sister’s 19th birthday! But first I picked up some Starbucks iced coffee on the way… because caffeine was definitely necessary.

IMAG0219

Kaitlyn picked Hibachi for her birthday dinner, so we headed to Kobe in Stafford with the whole gang. As usual, we started out with ginger salads.

IMAG0221

Followed by some seasame hibachi chicken, veggies and fried rice. I basically took 3/4 of everything home because I swear they give you enough food to feed a whole family!

IMAG0226

The birthday girl even got to do some hibachi chef tricks and “flip” an egg. Which was a little frightening, I must admit! I was worried we were all going to get egg in our hair! But she did a pretty good job for no training. Only minor egg splashes!

IMAG0225

The rest of the evening was spent opening presents and eating Chris’ mom’s homemade german cake with vanilla froyo. Yum!

IMAG0228

By the time I got home, it was already after 11:30pm, and blogging was just not happening. Sorry guys, but sleep was way more important! Especially because I had to leave Laney with Chris overnight and my apartment was so lonely!

Friday

After a long day of work Friday (the phrase “TGIF”  was never so true), I headed up to Stafford AGAIN. For those counting, that’s trip to Stafford #4 this week! Chris and I met up for dinner at a new restaurant, Marlin and Rays.

They started us off with these AMAZING cheddar and jalepeno cornbread biscuits. These little guys had a huge jalepeno punch! We also got an all-you-can-eat salad with honey mustard dressing on the side.

IMAG0230

IMAG0231

For my entrée, I got blackened mahi-mahi with mango salsa with a side of green beans. The mahi-mahi was cooked PERFECTLY – it was so flaky! Delicious!

IMAG0233

The company wasn’t bad either.

IMAG0232

From there we ran a few errands around town before heading back home for a "relaxing evening” watching TV. Or that was the plan. At about 10:30, the lights in his house started flickering, before going out completely. When we looked outside, the wind was blowing so hard we were afraid some trees were going to fall on the house! The sky looked like it was constantly lightning. We also lost all cell phone service! It was scary!

Obviously no post was going to happen (since I couldn’t get online or even on my phone), so we decided to call it an early night!

Saturday

Despite the crazy night, we had to be up super early this morning to get ready for a photoshoot! Chris has a good friend from high school who is starting up a photography business, and she asked us to be models for the day to do a mock engagement session to include in her portfolio. Of course we said yes – it was free photos for us!

Driving through Chris’ neighborhood, it was clear that the storm had done a lot of damage. There were trees down everywhere (including some on houses and cars), no traffic lights, and we still had no cell phone signal. We just looked it up, and they are saying that there are still over a million people without power.

Unfortunately I have no idea whether I have power at my apartment in Culpeper.

Anyway, even with no power and in 100+ degree whether, we walked around Fredericksburg and the local area taking pictures for nearly 2 hours! I promise, I’ll show you guys some of the pictures once we get them back!

From there we headed to grab lunch, but had to drive around for awhile to even find a place that had power! We eventually found a restaurants, grabbed a quick lunch, and headed back up to Stafford to take a look at some cars (Chris is in the market for a new car, so we’re comparing all sorts of options right now). But not without a stop to Rita’s first… the weather demanded it.

IMAG0234

 

Banana and non-fat vanilla custard gelati. Tasted just like a banana crème pie. AWESOME.

Now I’m off to spend the rest of the afternoon in the air conditioning relaxing with Chris and watching some Olympic trials. I’m kind of obsessed with the Olympics, so I am super excited that everything is starting!

I hope you all have a great Saturday!

So tell me: What are your plans for this weekend??

3 Responses to “Weekend of food and lightning!”

  1. Cait @ Beyond Bananas June 30, 2012 at 7:37 pm #

    That Mahi Mahi looks incredible! I love mango salsa, too!

  2. Chelsea Eats Treats July 2, 2012 at 8:51 am #

    I hope you have power!!! I still don’t- it’s been out since Friday and they are saying it could be a week. UGH. And it’s so incredibly hot and my food is going bad 😦 Stupid storm

    • MyFreckledLife July 2, 2012 at 8:53 am #

      Luckily I DID get power back yesterday morning, and MOST of my food still seems to be ok. I’m kind of avoiding opening my fridge too much at the moment… I hope you get power back soon though!! Do you at least have water?? We had some family friends over to Chris’ house yesterday to shower and eat dinner, because they have no power and no water up in Great Falls! Stay safe (and cool!)

Leave a Reply

