My my, it’s July!

2 Jul

Ok, not my best title effort… forgive me?

I don’t know how it’s already July already! I swear it was Christmas last week. I’m really not sure where the time has gone, but I am starting to freak out a little! The wedding is only 4 months away!! The way this year has been going, I feel like I’m going to blink and it’s going to be November. Which probably explains all the wedding nightmares that I’ve been having…

ANYWAY, now that it’s July, I suppose we should take a look back at how my June goals worked out. I’ll be honest. June was a bad month for me. I was under a LOT of stress at work, and it tended to spill over into everything else.

So let’s review, shall we?

1) MAKE MORNING WORKOUTS A HABIT

TOTAL FAIL. This rarely happened, at all. So much of a fail that I’m making it in to my first July goal. I need to figure out how to make this work for me!! Mostly I just need to figure out how to make myself get out of bed!

2) PAY MORE ATTENTION TO PORTION SIZES

I will say I got better about this at home. But I definitely need to improve when I go out to eat… which I did a lot this month. Restaurant portions are already larger than they should be, so I need to figure out a way to get out of the “clean plate club” mentality and stop when I’m full.

3) TAKE TIME FOR MYSELF

Definite fail. I’m pretty sure I took LESS time for myself this month. Gotta figure out a way to make this happen!

4) TRY NEW FOODS

This one actually did happen somewhat. I tried cooking with different kinds of squash when I made my Chicken sausage and Squash pasta. I also cooked with a new stir-fry sauce when I made this Asian Stir-fry. I even used leeks in this Chicken, Leek and Pepper pasta. So yea, at least I accomplished one of my goals!

Phew! Not a great month goal wise. But it’s a new month, so let’s come up with some new goals!

1) MAKE MORNING WORKOUTS A HABIT/AMP UP MY WORKOUT ROUTINE

We are down to the last 4 months. 4 months until I not only have to walk down the aisle and have 150 people stare at me… but 4 months until I have to wear a bikini. For the first time ever. YIKES! In fact, I just had 2 bikinis come in the mail (thank you VS semi-annual sale!), so at least now I have something tangible to strive towards. So I’m going to try to amp up my workouts, especially now that life has gotten crazier. And that means getting better at morning workouts!

2) FIND NEW WAYS TO DE-STRESS

Stress has been a huge problem for me lately, and I have a feeling it’s just going to amp up more as work gets crazier and the wedding gets closer. So I need to find some new ways to de-stress. Reading, yoga, running, napping… I need to find what is going to work for me. All my old college stress techniques aren’t working anymore! Darn this real world thing!

3) COOK MORE

June was a month of eating out a restaurants, ordering take out, and lots of PB&Js (which don’t really count as cooking in my opinion). I am going to strive this month to cook more meals, try new things, and drastically reduce my restaurant bills.

That’s it for this month. Given last month’s failures, I want to focus on just a few things and see if I can make some big improvements in these areas!

Now that we got that out of the way,  how about the fun stuff? Food!

IMAG0235

Since I wasn’t sure about what in my fridge was still good this morning (thanks to the massive storm this weekend), I decided not to risk it. So Subway it was! 6in turkey on wheat with most of the veggies and a little bit of the Chipotle sauce. My favorite!

IMAG0236

Afternoon snack included a cup of coffee, some 3-cheese triscuits, and some sharp cheddar. Hit the spot!

After work I headed to the gym for CXWorks, which I haven’t been to in a few weeks thanks to crazy work schedules/wedding meetings. Phew – It was definitely tough today! I could tell I had taken a few weeks off from some serious core work. Ouch!

Once I got home I took Laney for a 1 mile run (my plan was 2 miles, but she was NOT having it with the heat, so I cut her run short), and then dropped her off back home before heading out for another hot and gross 2 miles. Which resulted in some serious lobster face. I am NOT a fan of running in this heat!

IMG_0909

Don’t let the smile fool you. I wanted to collapse on the floor. I immediately jumped into a cold shower after this picture!

Dinner was a quick combo: super pasta and a salad!

IMG_0913

Pasta was made by cooking up some italian chicken sausage, onions, and spinach in a saute pan.

IMG_0910

Then adding in some regular pasta sauce, and whole wheat rotini!

IMG_0911

Simple, yet effective! So yummy!

Now I’m off to attempt to catch up on a few things from my Tivo… let’s see how well this goes! I’m WAY BEHIND!

PS – NO ONE TELL ME WHO WON WOMEN’S GYMNASTICS!! I haven’t watched it yet!!! haha.

So tell me: What are your goals for this month?

Leave a Reply

