Happy Birthday America!

4 Jul

Or Amuuurica if you’re from the country!

Today has been quite a busy today, and it’s only 9pm! The party is just getting started! Which is why I figured that I might as well write this while I had a few minutes to sit down!

The day started bright and early at 6am. Yuck. To be honest, my day didn’t REALLY start until about 6:30, which is when I actually got out of bed. But in theory, my alarms started at 6. haha.

But I was getting up early for some big plans today! But first I had to start with a filling, but light breakfast: A piece of whole wheat toast with peanut butter and a banana. Quick and easy. I didn’t want too much in my stomach, because I was headed out to the 12th annual Culpeper Freedom 5k!

IMAG0242

The weather seemed to be nice and cool at 6am, but by the time the race started at 8, the sun had come out and it was HOT HOT HOT!! The course also happened to be made up almost entirely of hills. Seriously. Every time I got to the top of one I’d think “phew, thank goodness that is done!” Only to turn the corner and see another hill. I just made it my goal to run the whole thing, hills and all, without stopping. And I did!

IMAG0246

Luckily there were a bunch of other people from my gym there too, which made it much more fun. Chris and Laney even came out to cheer me on! (He can’t run right now due to a recent case of plantar faciitis, bummer!)

IMAG0247

From there I headed to Starbucks (because caffeine was much needed!), followed by home to an ice cold shower. There is nothing better after a hot run!

Chris and I (and Laney) then headed to meet up with his family for a big 4th of July shindig!

IMG_0928

These were just the appetizers… haha. There was no shortage of food around here!

It was also a lot of fun because we got to celebrate with some of Chris’ family friends who are Danish (including one of THEIR friends from Denmark who has never seen fireworks before).

I contributed 3 dishes for appetizers:

“Bang bang shrimp”, using this recipe from Skinnytaste.

IMG_0929

Skinny Spinach and Artichoke dip from Iowa Girl Eats.

IMG_0931

And Strawberry and Goat Cheese bruschetta from Annie’s Eats.

IMG_0930

From there we went to BBQ, corn on the cob, fruit salad, grilled veggies, and a ton of other food I can’t even remember. Followed up by cake, cupcakes, chocolate covered strawberries, pretzels and marshmallows. And homemade strawberry ice cream. Yup, we know how to eat!

Now I’m off to more festivities! I hope you all are enjoying your 4th as well!!

Happy Birthday America!!

So tell me: What are you doing for 4th of July?

One Response to “Happy Birthday America!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Peace Out 2012! « My Freckled Life - January 1, 2013

    […] Including my PR at a local Culpeper winery and a very hilly 4th of July race. […]

Leave a Reply

