Magic Weekend

8 Jul

Sorry that I’ve been completely MIA for a few days… I blame these guys:

(source)

You know – I was just hanging out with Channing a few times this week. Twice to be exact. No biggie, we’re practically BFFs now.

Yes, I saw Magic Mike twice. Don’t judge me. It wasn’t COMPLETELY by choice.

Thursday night I went out to dinner with Chris’ family at Bonefish, where Chris and I split some calamari (delicious) and the grouper imperial.

IMAG0250

From there me, Chris’ mom, his sister, his step-sister, and his sister-in-law (can you follow all of that?) went out for a “girls night” to see Magic Mike. That was movie #1.

Friday night after work, I headed out to Luray for another girls night with some coworker. It involved some really terrible Mexican food (the restaurant was named Mindy’s. Last time I checked, Mindy wasn’t exactly a name of hispanic origin. That should have been my first clue.) Then we went to go see Magic Mike. Movie #2.

Can you tell that this movie is clearly quite popular for a girl’s night outing?

I have to admit, the plot was pretty terrible, and the acting was about 75% sub-par. However, if you could get past all of the terrible acting and random parts that had nothing to do with the rest of the movie… the eye candy was pretty awesome. Just saying.

(source)

ANYWAY – that was why I was so MIA at the end of the week…both of these excursions had me back home past midnight. And I’m sorry, but homegirl needs her sleep or she is not a nice person.

Saturday

Saturday was pretty much packed from the moment we woke up in the morning. I made a super quick pitstop by the farmers market for some veggies (I was so  bummed I couldn’t stay longer and look around, there was SO MUCH good stuff this week!!) before Chris and I headed out to Winchester for back to back appointments with wedding vendors.

First up was DJ. We have had a lot of recommendations for a particular DJ company, but we really wanted to meet with the actual potential DJ that would be doing our wedding before we made a decision. We met up at a Starbucks and chatted with this guy for about an hour, and Chris and I were both totally sold. He’s young, he is super friendly, has great taste in a wide variety of music, and totally understands my hate of the Chicken Dance and my love for Call me Maybe. SOLD!

Immediately after we met up with our cake lady. I actually won $300 towards a wedding cake back in January, so we were meeting up with the lady to discuss options. Then she dropped a bomb on us – she’s moving to Florida in A WEEK! She was super nice about it, and after talking through some options, she actually offered to come up from Florida and make our cake anyway! SO NICE! So we tried a whole bunch of flavors (free cake, yes please!) and made a few selections.

All in all – pretty successful trip.

From there we headed up to Maryland to meet up with some of Chris’ extended family who have recently become a part of his life. It’s kind of a crazy and amazing story that I will have to share with you all some time, because it totally is something that they could make a movie out of. But anyway – we had a nice evening with his extended family before making the 2 hour trek home to poor Laney.

Sunday

IMG_0932

Sunday morning started off late, as Chris and I were so exhausted from the festivities of Saturday that we slept through all of our alarms (which he had set to wake up and go running) and didn’t wake up until like 10:30. Fail. We only had time for a super quick breakfast of scrambled eggs and whole wheat toast and jam before we had to head off to our appointment with a potential florist.

After the meeting (which went really well, even though I know NOTHING about flowers – we’re still comparing them to our original florist option) we headed home to spend a few hours relaxing and enjoying the air conditioning. We decided it was way too hot to get anything accomplished. haha.

Sometimes it is nice to just hang out for a few hours doing absolutely nothing. Other than catching up on episodes of Glee. You know, the important things.

We then headed up to church in Stafford before enjoying a nice meal with his family. Luckily by the time we got home the quick summer storm had passed by us, and we were able to eat on the patio. The rain even cooled things off a little!

IMAG0251

I devoured my corn, roasted farmers market squash and zucchini, and grilled chicken with some tzatiki on top. So delicious. We even finished off the meal with some homemade vanilla ice cream. Not even remotely healthy for you, but so worth it!

Phew! So there is my weekend. Insanely busy, but full of magic and successful wedding preparations. Overall, I’d definitely call it a win.

So tell me: What did you do this weekend? Also – if you saw Magic Mike, what did you think?

8 Responses to “Magic Weekend”

  1. Lisa @ Jogging on Coffee July 9, 2012 at 7:20 am #

    I haven’t seen Magic Mike yet. I think I’ll wait to rent it so I can fast forward through any scenes Channing isn’t in 😉

  2. virginiabloggers July 9, 2012 at 9:24 am #

    What a delicious weekend 😉

  3. Chelsea Eats Treats July 9, 2012 at 9:38 am #

    Phew! What a busy and productive weekend! I can’t imagine having to make all those decisions. I’m so indecisive!

    • MyFreckledLife July 9, 2012 at 9:42 am #

      Me too!! Wedding planning is really complicated when you can’t make decisions on anything!! So stressful!

  4. Minerva July 9, 2012 at 10:36 pm #

    You make a pretty convincing argument for Magic Mike…I may have to steal an afternoon with my sister and check them it out. 😉

Leave a Reply

