To be green or not to be green…

10 Jul

First of all, I want to thank everyone for their kind comments after yesterday’s post about wedding stress. It made me feel a lot better to know that I’m not the only one who gets stressed out by wedding planning! You guys are the best.

I have to admit that today did not get off to the best start. Apparently all that wedding stress carried over into my sleep, and I spent the entire night tossing and turning through nightmares. When I woke up, my bed looked like I got in a fight with my sheets. So needless-to-say, I decided to skip my morning workout and get an extra hour of sleep. In fact, I even went in to work late. I’m not a very pleasant person when I’m sleep deprived.

After work I headed to the gym for some BodyPump. The nice thing about having a blog is that I can actually keep track of my workouts – and my blog tells me that the last time I went to BodyPump was exactly 2 weeks ago. Which explains why my arms wanted to fall off.

It was definitely a rough class and the weights that had been getting a little easy for me were definitely making my arms and legs shake today. But it was worth it. Every time I go I remember why I like it (ok, DURING I want to cry, but afterwards I remember why I like it).

From there I headed to the grocery store. I always find it so difficult to shop when you’re about to go out of town (I’m headed to a work conference for a few days next week). I HATE wasting food, but at the same time, I don’t want to live off of PB&J for the next 4 days. Decisions, decisions….

IMG_0935

I ended up with a package of pre-portioned chicken breasts (they were on sale)and one package of chicken tenderloins, frozen raspberries, vanilla chobani, eggs, tuna, salmon, natural peanut butter, frozen blueberries, and a small pre-package salad. Normally I like my organic spring mix, but I knew there was NO way I would finish it by this weekend unless I ate salad for 3 meals a day. So this mini salad will have to do.

PS – can you spot Laney? She always looks at me funny when I put out all my food and don’t give anything to her. I’m pretty sure she thinks I’m weird.

IMG_0935-001

While I had my groceries out, I threw together a super quick meal that ended up being really delicious!

IMG_0936

First I broiled some farmers market squash/zucchini in the oven with some olive oil and garlic salt. While this was cooking, I grilled some chicken tenderloins seasoned with garlic salt and pepper on my George Forman (oh man, I can’t wait to have a real, big kid grill someday!) When they were finished, I topped them with goat cheese, some sundried tomatoes, and some fresh basil, and then spritzed some lemon juice on top. This was all paired with some ghetto garlic bread (toasted whole wheat bread with butter and garlic salt).

IMG_0937

The chicken was so quick and delicious! It had the right amount of tang from the goat cheese and the sun dried tomatoes. I LOVE goat cheese, so I will definitely be making this again. Possibly tomorrow.

ANYWAY – one question I wanted to talk to you all about today. While I was shopping, I also picked up a few non-food related items, including cleaning wipes and laundry detergent. While I was standing in the detergent aisle, I literally spent like 10 full minutes debating what kind to get and if the “free and clear” ones were better, or whether the “all natural” ones were the best.

Now, I used to SO not be on the “green” train. And while I certainly wouldn’t call myself a greenie now, I will say that the more I learn about the benefit of using things or eating foods that are all natural, the more I see the point. I will say that I’ve switched over to using parabin-free shampoo/conditioner and a few things like that, but I really found myself debating over the laundry detergent.

How much do these things really matter? How much are they worth the extra price tag? Are some of these “all natural” things just becoming advertising scams to get me to spend more money, or are they really going to be better for my health in the long term?

I would love to get your opinion on this!

Now I’m off to go re-try a wedding project that ended up as a total failure the first time. Wish me luck!

IMG_0939

So tell me: What is your opinion on “green” products, especially things like laundry detergent and cleaning products? Real benefit or advertising scam?

8 Responses to “To be green or not to be green…”

  1. nexu7 July 11, 2012 at 4:35 am #

    As with “all natural” or “organic” labelled food, you have to be careful to read the fine print and look for a specific stamp on the label to indicate that it has been approved by some standard as a green product. I’m not sure what the labeling looks like for house hold cleaners and such like that. Not to mention those labels about be different here in Canada lol. I know when it comes to food it has to have a USDA certified organic stamp for it to be truly organic. As for the label “natural” that is a completely abused word when it comes to marketing and generally means nothing about the product. I would do a little google research into different green products, or even see if there are recipes for cleaners you can make yourself. I know that vinegar is suppose to be one of the best surface cleaners, I just don’t know a recipe off the top of my head right now, but there are a ton out there. When it comes to being green or trying to live a more holistic lifestyle, the big companies have caught onto that fad, some are being genuine about it, others are monopolizing on the trend. Just be careful you are not spending your money on something that isn’t green, especially when it’s a couple dollars more then the regular cleaner.
    I use a few green cleaners myself and have a vinegar based one as well, but for like my shower cleaner/toilet cleaner I still stick to bleach based ones. I haven’t found a green cleaner yet that can clean the weird mold like build up that forms in my shower and toilet after only a week :S. Also in the job I do, I’m exposed to so many harsh cleaners that at this point if I don’t form some sort of cancer in the near future I’ll be pleasantly surprised lol.

    • MyFreckledLife July 11, 2012 at 10:34 pm #

      I will definitely have to look in to some of the vinegar based ones! Thanks for the tip!

  2. Lisa @ Jogging on Coffee July 11, 2012 at 7:52 am #

    I have really sensitive skin so my doctor recommended I use green products. I’ve switched my laundry detergent, but I haven’t noticed much difference there. I want to use the rest of the cleaning products I already have before switching but I do have to take a shower after I clean or else I get a rash so that probably says something…!

    • MyFreckledLife July 11, 2012 at 10:35 pm #

      Hahaha that is true – that probably does say something!

  3. Chelsea @ Chelsea Eats Treats July 11, 2012 at 8:35 am #

    I always struggle with this too- do I care more about being green or the price tag?? I usually wind up with a little of both. For example, my all-purpose-cleaner for the counter tops is organic and made of parsley so it smells great, my bathroom cleaners are all natural because i don’t like the bleachy smell, but I use plain old regular tide. It depends on the product I guess!

    • MyFreckledLife July 11, 2012 at 10:35 pm #

      Yea, that is my debate – is it worth spending the extra money!?! What brand is the all-purpose-cleaner you use?

  4. Amy July 13, 2012 at 7:32 am #

    We’ve hopped on the “green” train a bit! Very valid question, though…food for thought. Oh, now we want food!

    Amy
    Chobani

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Restaurant Remake: “Special Burrito” « My Freckled Life - July 11, 2012

    […] I really wanted to thank everyone for their thoughts and opinions on “green” products! This is definitely something that I think I’m going to have to do some more research on. I will […]

Leave a Reply

