Restaurant Remake: “Special Burrito”

11 Jul

So I really wanted to thank everyone for their thoughts and opinions on “green” products! This is definitely something that I think I’m going to have to do some more research on. I will certainly let you all know what I find out and we can have another discussion!

Today is Wednesday, which usually means my favorite What I Ate Wednesday Post!

However, I managed to completely spazz on taking pictures of most of my meals today. I know – fail. My bad. You all still love my anyway, right?

I DID manage to get a picture of my breakfast, which actually wasn’t eaten until nearly 10:30am thanks to a super early morning appointment for work.

IMAG0256

After a few weeks of oatmeal, I’ve finally gotten sick of it and decided to switch back to my OTHER favorite breakfast – a yogurt bowl! This one consisted of vanilla chobani, frozen blueberries and raspberries, and some granola. With a giant mug of tea, which was definitely vital.

Work was a little bit insane today (as it seems to be every day for the last month!), so I was happy to be able to leave a bit early before my brain exploded. At 4 I headed out on the hour drive to Stafford (yup, the second time this week – my poor little car is not so happy with me right now…) for a meeting with our financial counselor.

I actually won this financial counselor plan at a bridal show, and I have to admit – it’s probably the best thing I’ve won at any show. It has been so great and informative to sit down and talk with someone knowledgeable about all the things that no one bothers to explain to a 24 year old – like roth IRAs and life insurance options and the benefits of certain loans over others. The more we meet with this lady and discuss options, the more confident I am that Chris and I are setting ourselves up for a successful financial future. It is definitely something I would recommend for those who don’t know anything about long term financial planning (like me – numbers scare me).

ANYWAY – after our 2 hour financial meeting, we met up with Chris’ step-sister for dinner at Pancho Villa. Because you know me, I don’t ever pass up Mexican food.

IMAG0257 (1)

After downing  sharing some chips and salsa, I decided on a veggie platter with rice, a bean burrito, and a veggie chili relleno. SO MUCH FOOD! I definitely wasn’t able to finish it all.

Speaking of Pancho Villa, I have a recipe to share with you all!

Now, my office likes Mexican food almost as much as I do, so it’s pretty typical for us to choose Panchos when we go out for an office lunch. And when we do, I almost ALWAYS get the exact same thing off the lunch menu – the “special” burrito, which is basically a chicken burrito covered in queso sauce with some lettuce, tomato, and sour cream on top. Not exactly the most diet friendly option, but definitely delicious.

So I decided to try and make my own healthier “special” burrito at home.

Healthy “Special” Chicken Burrito

Serves 4

Ingredients:

2 chicken breasts

chicken stock

1 can diced tomatoes with green chilis

1/2 yellow onion, diced

whole wheat tortillas

6 Laughing Cow Queso Fresco and Chipotle wedges

1/4 cup water

Greek yogurt

Olive Oil

 

Directions

1. In crock pot, cover chicken breasts with chicken stock. Add in can of diced tomatoes with green chilis. Cook on low for 6-8 hours. Once finished, drain and shred chicken breasts.

2. Saute diced onions in 1 tsp olive oil over medium heat until cooked (usually about 3 minutes). Mix onions with shredded chicken breast. Meanwhile pre-heat oven to broil.

3. Spoon chicken mixture into whole wheat tortilla. Fold in both corners and roll. Place seam down into a greased pan. Complete with all tortillas (I used 4, but you could probably make 5 if you didn’t fill them as full).

4. Place 6 laughing cow wedges into a bowl and add water. Heat in microwave in 10-15 second intervals, stirring after each round. Continue until mixture is smooth.

5. Pour mixture over burritos. Place burritos in oven for 2 minutes, just until cheese is melted.

6. Top with a dollop of greek yogurt (and any other condiments of your choice – like salsa, guacamole or lettuce).

IMG_0915

IMG_0917

IMG_0919

IMG_0920

IMG_0923

Overall, the dish came out extremely well. There are certainly some improvements that could be done to the cheese sauce to get it closer to the original, but in general I thought it was a great re-creation of my favorite dish! I paired it with a small salad covered in salsa. Yum!

Enjoy!

4 Responses to “Restaurant Remake: “Special Burrito””

  1. Chelsea @ Chelsea Eats Treats July 12, 2012 at 8:14 am #

    Looks delicious! I love the idea to mix laughing cow cheese with water and microwave to make a sauce. I bet you could use that cheese sauce for a whole bunch of recipes (mac n cheese maybe??) hmmm….

  2. healthygirlandthecity December 18, 2012 at 10:55 am #

    i love using the laughing cow cheese idea!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WIAW: Simple and Delicious Edition « My Freckled Life - August 22, 2012

    […] I got my favorite lunch special – the “special burrito”. You know, the one I tried to remake at home a few months ago. It’s basically a chicken burrito with queso sauce. Not the healthiest […]

Leave a Reply

