You know what?

12 Jul

I have to admit, the last few days I’ve been a little on the grumpy and stressed out side. But after a mild breakdown in the Pancho Villa parking lot last night (I know, I’m so cool…), and a super late night of determined job hunting and wedding research, I woke up determined to make today a good day.

And you know what? It was.

Despite all the stresses at work, I just dug my heels in and kept reminding myself that today was going to be a good, productive day. Even though it didn’t end until after 6. haha. But I still got a ton of stuff done and made a massive dent in my crazy work to do list.

I did take a slight break for lunch – which was a salad topped with orange bell pepper, leftover chicken, goat cheese and italian dressing. I have to admit, it was kind of bland and boring. But you know what, not all meals are going to be exciting and awesome. It got the job done and powered me through the rest of my day.

IMAG0259

Since my appointments ran late, I ended up missing my usual Thursday BodyPump class (haha, I say “my usual” minus the fact that I haven’t been to it in like 3 weeks… whoops). So I decided to brave the other sections of the gym. You know, the weight room and the machine part of the gym. You know, the part that I tend to run away from because I like the safety and comfort of my classes. I’m a wimp.

But you know what? I braved it today and it was awesome. I started with a cardio interval that I kind of made up on the spot, but which went by super quick thanks to Confessions of a Shopaholic playing in the background. Isla Fisher cracks me up.

ANYWAY, my cardio interval looked like this:

Fullscreen capture 7122012 95403 PM

Basically, I started with a 5 minute warm up, then alternated 3 minutes at 6.0 speed, 2 minutes at 6.5, 1 minute at 7.0 and then 1 minute walking. I went through this whole thing 4 times, and covered approximately 3.75 miles. And was a hot and sweaty mess. You know what? Worth it!

Then I braved the weight room. Ok, let’s be real here. I braved the girly “women only” weight room. Yea… I’m a wimp. I completed this workout from Julie at PBFingers.

OMG, I thought I was going to die. Those 180-degree jump squats KILL ME! The only thing I changed about the workout was instead of doing a side shoulder raise with the lunges, I traded out a bicep curl while lunging. My shoulders are still a little sore from BodyPump on Tuesday, and you know what? My biceps need some extra attention right now. I tend to wimp out on bicep exercises.

From there I came home and took Laney on a mile walk before coming up with the world’s most random dinner that turned out to be delicious.

I cooked chicken in garlic and olive oil, before adding in some buffalo sauce. I then poured in some cooked whole wheat egg noodles. While on low heat, I added several small chunks of goat cheese, a small handful of mixed shredded cheese and some S&P. I let this all melt together.

IMG_0942

Basically, I made Buffalo chicken mac and cheese. And you know what? IT WAS AWESOME! Paired with some roasted squash/zucchini from Monday. Totally hit the spot.

Now I’m off to catch up on yesterday’s So You Think You Can Dance. Yes I realize that I always seem to watch shows a day behind. You know what? That’s why they invented TiVo! haha.

So tell me: Are you a weights room or a class kind of person? What kind of circuit workouts or strength moves are your favorites?

4 Responses to “You know what?”

  1. Lisa @ Jogging on Coffee July 13, 2012 at 7:07 am #

    I prefer doing Pump just because I’m not super motivated to do weights on my own. When I do, I do them at home since I find I need to at least follow a video to stick with it. The odd time I’ll do the weight machines at the gym just to change it up a bit, but only when I’m at the women’s only locations of my gym – I’m with you on that one ;)!

  2. Jorie July 13, 2012 at 11:11 am #

    Thanks for passing along that cardio interval workout. Looks great; I’m gonna have to try it!

  3. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake July 13, 2012 at 8:22 pm #

    Omg I JUST posted a buffalo chicken mac ‘n’ cheese recipe! haha Great minds think alike!

  4. essaykaywrites July 14, 2012 at 8:18 pm #

    Body Pump is my favorite by far. I find the music and group to be quite motivating. I do more reps in the class than I ever did in the weight room.

Leave a Reply

