Quality time with the newsboys

15 Jul

I could actually probably call this weekend “The time I ate so much pizza I practically became one”… but I’ll get to that in a minute.

Aren’t you amazed, I ACTUALLY spent a weekend 95% at home!! It’s a miracle!

This past week was so stressful (including an oh-so-charming meltdown in a Mexican restaurant parking lot), then when Chris asked what he could do to help, I responded that I just needed an entire day of doing nothing but getting my life organized. For a type-A kind of girl like me, feeling like things are out of control and completely scattered makes me all kinds of stressed, and that’s what I’ve been feeling with the wedding planning lately. I have SO many ideas and SO many projects in my head, but I was all over the place with them and had no set list of everything. Just a giant pinterest board in major need of cleaning out. haha. (#firstworldproblems?)

So that’s all I asked for this weekend – a relaxing, yet productive weekend at home. And that’s just what I got.

Friday night one of my bridesmaid’s Jackie (of The Baking Band Geek) came over for a much needed girls night. One that involved Pizza (Pizza #1 for me…) and Anne of Green Gables the movie. Don’t judge us. And of course, talking about wedding stuff until like 1am.

We were up fairly early in the morning to head “downtown”. Of course I had to brag a little on my tiny town and show Jackie our awesome farmers market! 🙂 Which is about the only thing downtown, of course.

I did pick up a bunch of stuff for my Foodie Penpal, but I can’t show you my loot until she gets it! Don’t want to ruin the surprise!! Sadly I wasn’t able to get anything for myself even though there was SO MUCH awesome produce out, because I was about to head out of town!

From there we wandered around some local Culpeper places, like our coffee shop and this AWESOME little cheese and wine shop that’s hidden in the back of another food shop. Jackie and I ended up talking with the owner and one of the employees… and then spent the next hour trying like 1000 different cheeses. It was awesome. And then Jackie bought a whole half wedge of baby swiss. $20 worth of cheese. This is why I love my friends.

Then we headed back home for pizza for lunch (pizza #2). I paired a slice with a salad last time to ATTEMPT to get some veggies in my diet…

IMAG0261

Then we spent the rest of the afternoon watching this gem:

IMAG0262

If you have not seen the Newsies, go out and rent it IMMEDIATELY. You will not be disappointed. Young, singing and dancing Christian Bale. Win.

Jackie then had to say goodbye, and passed Chris in the parking lot, who was heading in to hang out. And by hang out, I mean he then spent the next 5 hours sitting on the couch, doing nothing but entertaining the dog and playing on his kindle while I got 1000 wedding things in order. Did I mention that I’m head-over-heels in love with this guy? Because I am.

It was quite productive and I felt SO much better once I created several google docs, to do lists, and cleaned up my pinterest boards. I actually now have a list of all 30+ DIY projects I’m planning. Now I just need to get started on them…

Chris was so awesome he even brought me thai food for dinner.

IMAG0263

Panang curry, chicken and broccoli, and spicy green curry. Delicious!

After dinner I took another hour to get some wedding research done and then I put my computer away and introduced Chris to this gem:

IMAG0262

Yup. I watched Newsies twice in a 24 hour period. Don’t judge me until you watch it. It’s coming to Broadway people… it’s legit.

Sunday we woke up and kind of lazed around the house for awhile. I managed to get a few more wedding things done too, which was terrific. I love weekends like that!

Around 1pm I had to say goodbye to Chris and Laney for the weekend so I could head to Virginia Beach for 3 days!

Sadly it’s not for vacation. I wish. I’ll be spending the next few days at a work conference on early childhood.

IMG_0947

IMG_0946

This is the view from my hotel room… But we’ll see how much of the beach I actually get to see considering we’re in sessions from 7am to 5pm every day! In a conference room with huge windows that allow us to LOOK at the beach. That’s just mean…

One of my coworkers and I did go out for dinner once we got here though. And you know what we got? pizza. Of course. A spinach, bacon, tomato and feta pizza, to be exact.

IMAG0266

Note to self… try and eat less pizza and more veggies this week…

Not long after digesting this pizza, my coworker and I decided to head to the fitness center in the hotel (aka this SUPER sketchy room in the back of the parking garage… a la horror movie). Despite the fact that it was friggin’ hot in there and sketchy people were walking past, I still managed to get in a 45 minute circuit workout that left me sweat-yyyy.

Now I’m off to bed, since I have to be up for a 7am breakfast with a bunch of professional people. Lame. I’m not sure what my posting schedule will be like for the next few days while I’m here, but I’ll do my best to get a post to you guys at least once!

So the moral of this weekend is GO WATCH NEWSIES! Here, I’ll even give you a sneak peak:

 

So tell me: Have you ever seen the Newsies? Do you find it as amazing as I do?

4 Responses to “Quality time with the newsboys”

  1. nexu7 July 16, 2012 at 6:51 am #

    I definitely love Newsies! An old friend of mine from high school was obsessed with it and introduced me to it. I haven’t seen it in ages, but now you’ve got me itching to watch it again!
    I’m so glad you got a weekend to stay at home and focus on wedding planning, I know how overwhelming it can become thinking of all the things that still need to be done. I freak out about my wedding at least once a week…or so it feels like. So much pressure for one day eh? It will all be worth it in the end and think that is what we have to focus on, the big day being here and not having to worry anymore :).
    My weekend was full of Disney movies! You ever get that kick to just watch those kids movies you once loved so much as a kid? It takes me right back, I automatically get a smile on my face and the world is right again! I watched Monsters Inc. and Lilo and Stitch :). I hope you have a good time at the conference…maybe even are able to get in a little beach time for yourself.

  2. Minerva July 16, 2012 at 6:58 pm #

    Anne of Green Gables should be considered a rite of passage for every young lady. I love that movie 😀

    He let you get things accomplished and presented you with Thai food. It is quite apparent why you are marrying him. 😉

  3. Allison July 16, 2012 at 8:21 pm #

    Newsies was my FAVORITE movie growing up. I still bust it out on sick days. Singing boys always makes you feel better! It’s on broadway in NYC right now.. Wish I could go,

  4. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake July 17, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

    A weekend full of pizza sounds ideal to me. 🙂

    I definitely have those times when I need a day or two to regroup & reorganize!

Leave a Reply

