Home Sweet… Culpeper?

19 Jul

I am FINALLY home from the conference at the beach.

I’m sorry that I wasn’t able to post more, but to be honest – there wasn’t much to post about. We spent 10 hours a day in sessions with giant windows that looked out on the beach. The one evening we actually had free, it was thunderstorming and we weren’t even allowed on the beach. Literally, the only time that I got to see the beach was when I snuck out during lunch and got to soak up 30 minutes of sun. Seriously, 3 days at the beach for 30 minutes. Torture.

I will say that I learned a LOT of stuff at the conference, and I’m excited to go back and actually get to implement some things that I learned in to my job. Plus it reminded me of just how much I miss school! Nerd alert.

But now I’m back, and I’m kind of in recovery mode.

Lunch was a sad, SAD PB&J, because that’s about all that I had in my fridge. It was so sad, in fact, that I took a picture and I’m not even going to put it in here because it was so depressing looking.

BUT after work (and after BodyPump at the gym – release 82, OUCH!) I did manage to do some serious damage at the grocery store. Like, SERIOUS wallet damage.

IMG_0949

Dairy: 3 flavors greek yogurt, plus a package of small greek yogurts with granola, feta cheese, sharp cheddar slices, unsweetened vanilla almond milk, and natural creamer.

Fruit: Pineapple, cherries, 2 peaches, bananas

Veggies: Bell pepper, organic cherry tomatoes, spring mix

Other: Chicken stock, Keurig Butter Toffee coffee, sweet potato, ground lean turkey

Plus a whole bunch of household items that I figure you all probably don’t care about. Like shampoo and paper towels.

I used a few of these ingredients to make a quick dinner.

IMG_0952

Turkey burger (with cheddar cheese and a dollop of BBQ sauce), half a sweet potato with butter and cinnamon, and a giant salad with spring mix, cherry tomatoes, bell pepper and feta cheese. Simple and delicious.

I have to say, it was really nice to eat normal, healthy food again. While it was nice that they paid for a lot of our meals at the conference, they definitely cared more about budget than providing healthy options. Every morning our lone choice for breakfast was between 3 different kinds of sugary pastries. Which of course left everyone’s stomach growling and their sugar crashing within an hour. So for snack? Cookies and sodas. No water. Seriously? Even for lunch we got a sad turkey sandwich on white bread with a large candy bar.

It really made me sad to see that they couldn’t even spring for a piece of fruit or water bottles. I’m not expecting a huge breakfast buffet here, but SOMETHING beyond sugary pastries. I guess that is what our society has kind of come to – cheap, easy options instead of healthy options.

Now that I’m back, I’m ready to get back on the healthy eating, gym-going train. Full steam ahead. Oh jeez, I’m lame.

The rest of the evening was spent finishing up a craft project for the wedding. You all might remember this failure. Sad, sad face.

But I’m happy to say that this time around was a huge success!

IMG_0954

For those of you who don’t know – my wedding colors are maroon and orange (hello, I’m a Virginia Tech addict and I have a problem), and one of the accents for our wedding is sheet music because Chris and I met in band.

IMG_0955

I actually love the fact that the paint bled through the letters just a TINY bit on the sides, so the lines aren’t perfect and makes it a little more rustic looking. Super cute!

I’m really happy with the way it came out, and I’m excited to use it as a small detail piece of decoration for the wedding! For anyone interested, I got the original idea here (off of Pinterest, of course!)

So tell me: Have you seen events like this, where there are NO healthy options available? If so, what do you do?

6 Responses to “Home Sweet… Culpeper?”

  1. Chelsea Eats Treats July 20, 2012 at 8:31 am #

    Yay I’m glad you’re back!! Sorry there weren’t any healthy options 😦 That happens to me at work sometimes but usually it’s just for a quick lunch and I am able to resist the gross looking pizza and wait until I’m back at my desk to eat something. It’s definitely a lot harder at a big conference though 😦

    • MyFreckledLife July 22, 2012 at 11:11 pm #

      Yea, I was really just shocked and just how awful the options were! And considering our time frame, going out for healthier choices wasn’t really an option!

  2. Minerva July 20, 2012 at 8:14 pm #

    I’m actually in a hotel in Richmond for the weekend that claimed to have a complimentary hot breakfast…glad I packed my protein oats because their idea of a hot breakfast is toast and bagels! That was not gonna cut it!

    Btw, your craft project is adorable!

    • MyFreckledLife July 22, 2012 at 11:12 pm #

      Yea, hotels seem to have such interesting definitions of “breakfast”. And thanks!!

  3. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake July 21, 2012 at 9:13 am #

    Your craft turned out great!

    BodyPump 82… ouch is right! I think it’s definitely the toughest release yet, but I kind of like it too! haha

    • MyFreckledLife July 22, 2012 at 11:12 pm #

      Thanks! And I agree – those squat jumps in the lunge track nearly did me in! Killer! I do like it though – it’s very different!

Leave a Reply

