Wake up, muscles!

24 Jul

Phew, so this Best Body Bootcamp is no joke! I’m finding muscles that I never even knew I had!

But more on that in a minute.

I’m sure you’re all totally on edge waiting to hear about my craft project from yesterday. Don’t lie, I know you’re dying to know! Ok, maybe that’s just me pretending like you all really care.

But since this is my blog, I’m going to tell you anyway!

IMG_1013

Initial decorations!

I started by modpodging (yes, that’s totally a word) and hot glue-gunning (also a word) burlap onto different size canvases. I then used a charcoal pencil to draw out the letters. I used Engravers MT as a font base to copy, in case you’re curious.

IMG_1011

IMG_1012

I then used a black sharpie marker to fill it all in! Overall, the project was actually super easy. The longest part was waiting for the modpodge and hot glue to dry!

So yay! One more project down!

Today

Today was a super busy, but super productive day at work. With all the stress and insanity that’s been going on with my job lately thanks to being severely understaffed, it’s nice to have days that remind me WHY I am doing what I am doing. And give me the confidence to get through everything, even when it seems totally overwhelming.

I had a late appointment, so I didn’t end up getting to the gym until nearly 6:30. That was kind of a bummer – I felt like I was in a rush the whole time!

I ended up doing day 2 of the Best Body Bootcamp, and holy moly leg muscles! I feel like I started using all kinds of muscles that I didn’t even know I had!

One of the new to me moves was the one leg sit and stand. Ouch! It totally doesn’t look that hard, but you should definitely try it out. It is way harder than it looks!

 

I have a feeling that my poor tushie is going to be feeling it tomorrow!

Once I got home I took Laney for a 2 mile run, as the plan called for some steady state cardio today. I managed to get outside for the small break in the rainstorms we’ve been having, but I spent the whole run watching the sky just waiting for it to start pouring on me!

Dinner

I was really craving Mexican when I got home (does this surprise anyone??), so I decided to throw together some easy Mexican chicken.

IMG_1018

I baked a small chicken breast covered in salsa in the oven, and then put on some reduced fat cheese for the last few minutes. I paired it with a large salad (spring mix, tomatoes, red pepper, salsa, sour cream, and some natural corn tortilla chips). Quick and delicious!

Now I’m off to work on some more wedding stuff. I swear, I’m going to need a new hobby when all this is over – I’m not going to know what to do with all my free time!

So tell me: What moves wake up your muscles?

10 Responses to “Wake up, muscles!”

  1. nexu7 July 25, 2012 at 4:41 am #

    Your craft projected turned out awesome this time around! I love the look of those, what are you using them for in the wedding? I’m a sucker for rustic looks, so those are right up my ally!
    The best moves for your butt is basically any form of squat, my favorite (though I truly don’t have a favorite because working out for me is a very love-hate sort of thing) is weighted squats on a Bosu ball. Being unbalanced forces you to use a lot more muscles when squatting low to stay balanced. Your core is engaged, you legs, butt and back, not to mention your arms since you’re holding weights. I’m up to holding a 50lb hand weight for these squats, keep your booty popped out while you squat into a chair position, legs hip width apart, staying balanced on the heels of your foot to really engage your glutes. I do 3 rounds, 15 reps before moving on to something else.
    One legged dead lifts are pretty awesome as well, again something that forces you to keep your balance works many mico-muscles or main muscle groups that you would not thing you could work out with such a move.
    I’m glad that this bootcamp is inspiring you and getting you pumped up at the gym, sometimes that’s all you need to get your motivation up :).

    • MyFreckledLife July 25, 2012 at 10:24 pm #

      I think I’m just going to use them as decoration at the cocktail hour. I haven’t quite decided where yet though! And I love rustic looks too!

      I also have a love-hate relationship with squats. haha

  2. Tina Reale (@tinareale) July 25, 2012 at 6:37 am #

    I am so not crafty and wish I was. I have desires to have the crafty things, but little desire to MAKE the crafty things. 😉

    Those sit n stands STILL get me good!

    • MyFreckledLife July 25, 2012 at 10:25 pm #

      Darn pinterest makes crafting look so easy! haha. And I agree – they are killer! I may have been cursing you a little bit while I was doing them! ;-P

  3. Chelsea Eats Treats July 25, 2012 at 8:51 am #

    Love the craft!! It turned out great 🙂

  4. Anne@LoveMintChocolateChip July 25, 2012 at 1:41 pm #

    the legs killed me too :)))))

    • MyFreckledLife July 25, 2012 at 10:25 pm #

      I’m still feeling it today!! Those sit and stands got me good!

  5. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake July 25, 2012 at 3:52 pm #

    The initials turned out great; I definitely want to do something like that for our house!

    • MyFreckledLife July 25, 2012 at 10:26 pm #

      Thanks! And they were actually super easy – you should definitely try it! The gluing was seriously the hardest part.

Leave a Reply

