WIAW: Normal Edition

25 Jul

So it has actually been a few weeks since I last did a WIAW! In fact, thanks to this handy dandy blog – I actually just found out that it’s been a WHOLE MONTH since my last WIAW! The horror!!

I have to admit, I actually kind of missed it! It’s such a great way to really take a look at what I’m eating throughout the day and present it to the world – bad food selections (*cough* half a donut *cough*) and all. It makes the blog world seem more real.

I remember when I first started reading blogs and had really just started delving into the whole “healthy living” world myself, I put a lot of bloggers up on pedestals. “Look, they manage to eat perfect, healthy meals all the time, I’ll never be able to do that”. Or “Oh great, I just cheated and ate some ice cream… I’ll never be like XYZ”. Yea – I’m that person. A total comparer.

But what I love about WIAW is that it really does show you that bloggers are real people who eat real food too. They just strive to keep everything in balance. They are not perfect, they don’t eat tofu everyday, and they even binge on MnMs and wine (sometimes even together). They’re normal too.

That being said, let’s get on to my NORMAL eats for today.

(For anyone NOT familiar with WIAW, please check out Jenn from Peas and Crayons and her explanation. This has all been her genius idea, and she explains it a lot more eloquently than I could).

Breakfast

That has basically been my usual for the past week: greek yogurt (this one was plain with honey) with frozen blueberries and raspberries, topped with BearNaked fit cereal. Delicious and filling. With my usual cup of morning tea.

IMG_1019

Lunch

Lunch was actually eaten in two parts today thanks to my seriously hectic schedule. Part one was eaten around 11am and was just leftover mexican chicken from last night, paired with the world’s tiniest peach. Sadly I did not manage to get a picture of it, as I literally had to scarf it down in 19.27 seconds so I wouldn’t be late to my appointments. Gotta love insane work schedules, right?

The second half was eaten at approximately 1:30pm, and eaten in about 8 minutes. So at least I had time to actually sit down and take a picture first! It was a small salad made up of spring mix, organic cherry tomatoes, red bell pepper, salsa and sour cream.

IMAG0274

Since we’re being real here, there was also about 3/4 of a donut consumed throughout the day. One of my coworkers brought in a GIANT box of Dunkin Donuts and put them next to the copy machine. So every time I walked downstairs to copy something, I had to smell their delicious aroma. I managed to walk past them the first 15 times, but after that, I was a goner. A nibble here, a bite there… But you know what? I’m honest about it. Sometimes you just need a bite of a donut.

Especially when they are chocolate glazed and it’s a certain hormone-induced time of the month. Ahem. I don’t think I need to explain further.

(Did I really just mention female things on the blog? Oh goodness.)

Snack

I left work a bit early to head up to Stafford to meet up with Chris for pre-marital counseling. I had to run home first to take Laney on a super speedy walk, and grabbed a snack at home since I knew dinner would be a little late. It was a small quesadilla made with a whole wheat tortilla and some reduced fat cheese. Clearly I was way more interested in eating it than taking a picture…

IMG_1020

Dinner

After counseling we did a quick workout, and then whipped up some homemade pizza for dinner. It was not the most veggie filled meal (he was running low on greens at his house), but we topped it with bell peppers and a few slices of turkey pepperoni. Paired with some watermelon (x2 of this bowl… it was delicious).

IMAG0275

So there you have it – What I ate today!

And since Jenn has challenged us this month to also incorporate some fitness into our Wednesdays, I’m happy to report that today has been successful day 3 of Best Body Bootcamp!

Chris and I ran a HOT and HILLY 3 miles (and dodged about 25 other runners on the way… it was apparently a good evening for running!). My legs were definitely feeling it after yesterday’s lower body workout and those crazy one legged sit and stands. Ouch! But we made it, even if we did just about die by the end.

Then I completed a 3 round core circuit while Chris made dinner. By the last plank my abs were a-shakin’! Just the way I like it!

So tell me: What did you eat today?

4 Responses to “WIAW: Normal Edition”

  1. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake July 26, 2012 at 8:59 am #

    I love WIAW for the exact same reason — you get to see that not everyone eats perfectly! For example, yesterday I had a cheeseburger & fries for lunch! haha No one can eat healthfully 100% of the time!

    • MyFreckledLife July 26, 2012 at 9:39 pm #

      Exactly! It’s so nice to see that even “healthy” people are real and only human too!

  2. Chelsea Eats Treats July 26, 2012 at 10:26 am #

    Love that you indulged in a donut. On Monday I had a peanut butter brownie that a coworker gave me sitting on my desk ALL DAY (she handed them out in the morning). I made it til 4:30 and then I caved. Honestly, it was worth every delicious calorie-laden bite 🙂

    • MyFreckledLife July 26, 2012 at 9:40 pm #

      Exactly. Sometimes, it’s just worth it. It’s all about moderation. And that peanut butter brownie sounds delicious…

Leave a Reply

